Country Analysis
- Political conditions
- Economic conditions
- Some forecasts
- May include risk factors and regulatory environment
The following library databases are great for finding information on country profiles:
PEST Databases
PEST Databases
The chart below displays databases with PEST (political, economic, socio-culture, and technological) information that BIS subscribes to annually. PEST is one rubric for country analysis and scanning the environment. This quick start chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication.
If you're having trouble accessing a database or getting an error code, try opening the link in an incognito or private window. For further assistance, contact bis@library.illinois.edu.
| Database | Political | Economic | Socio-cultural | Technological | Type of Info Supplied | Regularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Source Ultimate | ✔Structure ✔Stability ✔Political Conditions ✔History |
✔GDP ✔Spending and Taxation ✔Trade and Exchange Rate ✔Foreign Investment |
✔Human Development Index ✔Demographics ✔Etiquette |
✔Reports ✔News ✔Scholarly Analysis |
Annually with occassional updates | |
| EIU | ✔Structure ✔Stability ✔Internatonal Relations ✔Corruption |
✔GDP ✔Growth ✔Inflation ✔Exchange rates ✔Forecast |
✔Population ✔Demographics ✔Culture |
✔Telecommunication ✔Technological Readiness |
✔Time Series Data ✔Reports ✔News ✔Forecasts |
Monthly with daily news |
| Statista | ✔Political Environment ▪Corruption ▪Governance ▪Stability |
✔Economic Conditions ✔Trade & Investment ✔GDP |
✔Consumer Behavior ✔Population ✔Human Development Index ▪Standard of Living ▪Education ▪Life Expectancy ▪Income |
✔Digital Infrastructure ▪Internet Penetration ▪Cell Phone Users ✔FinTech ✔Telecommunication |
✔Country Reports ✔Charts ✔Data |
Annually |
EIU Viewpoint
To search for a country, click Geography at the top of the page. Type in the name of the country you're looking for.
The results will show a profile of the country. You can navigate using the tabs or click One-click report to see a briefing sheet including political and economic outlook, market opportunities, and more.
Emerging Markets Information Service
- Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
Click the tab on the right of the page to open the menu. Then click Markets.
Scroll down to search an industry profile or country by name.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Country Reports
Reports and statistics about a country's economic conditions, developments and issues. Provides articles, news announcements, and analyses published by IMF staff.
OECD iLibrary
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowFurnishes statistics, papers, and selected special reports on the member countries of OECD; covers various aspects of economies including education, economy, infrastructure, and trade.
Baker McKenzie Global Transactions Forecast
- Baker McKenzie Global Transactions ForecastThis annual review offer investors and corporations alike an overview of the latest global deals landscape, including predictions for M&A and IPO activity, and a closer look at the macroeconomic and financial drivers that underpin projections of transactional appetite globally and regionally.
Subject Guide
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail enginlib@library.illinois.edu.