Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The iMBA's Guide to Digital Business Research

Searching for Harvard Business Review

Check out our video on how to find Harvard Business Review in Business Source Ultimate!

Click on the image below to view video.

Articles/News/Documents

Subscription Databases often keep archival information—good for tracking activities over time, maybe the only place to find revenues for private companies, or anything about companies/executives. (See databases below)

Non-subscription (and maybe only resort if you don’t access to commercial databases)

  • Using Google ,Yahoo, Bing
  • News
  • SEC Filings  (8-K’s for US public co)
  • White Papers of companies—some concepts or product development
  • When you can’t find anything in the databases
  • Snippets of industry info from Associations

Search Strategies

In advanced search, enter your company's name in the field of Company/Organization/ Company Entity along with keywords below in the field of Subject Heading/Subject Terms:

  • SWOT
  • Strategy
  • Growth
  • Plans
  • Intends
  • Executive names
  • Innovation
  • Landscape
  • Blueprint
  • Policy
  • Specific product names or services

     

 

ABI/INFORM

Access this resource directly through the UIUC proxy link above or  through the link under Key Databases on the left side of the BIS homepage .

This is a comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, books, reports, dissertations, and working papers. To get database help, click here and then click on various links in the left-hand navigation column such as 'Basic Search' or 'Advanced Search: Database Specific.'

For example, to search for industry statistics and reports: Search for an industry name as a subject or enter/look up NAICS code; choose "statistics/data report" as "document type";  click search.

Business Source Ultimate

To search for a topic, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword, such as strategy or employment, into the Find box and hit the Search button

One of the more popular sources to search in BSU is Harvard Business Review.  Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an article entitled "Eager Sellers & Stony Buyers" which was published in June 2006:

  • Type in the article title in the first search box (Eager Sellers & Stony Buyers) and select TI (title) from the Drop-down menu of database fields next to the search box
  • Below is a Publication Box.  Type Harvard Business Review
  • To the right side is Published Date, Choose Month and Year drop-downs for the year the article was published.  For this article, 
  • Click the Orange Search button on the screen

 

The search result should look like this (see screenshot below).  

 

The first one is the article itself, including a link to the PDF to download.  The second result (and there may be more, but not for this particular article) is a Letter to the Editor.  Sometimes there is a follow-up editorial note as well, also in PDF. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

 

 

Emerging Markets Information Service

Nexis Uni

In order to download articles, make sure to enable pop-ups for advance.lexis.com

To search for company profiles, select the company info box on the home page and select Company Profile from the drop-down to search for a company by name.

 

Newsbank/Access World News

This resource allows you to search newspapers and filter your search results by geographical area. For example, to filter your search results to only sources from China, enter your search terms in the box of the top of the homepage and click "search". On the lefthand side, there is a navigation bar titled "Limit results to:". Click on "Country", and then click on "China". If you select these limits, your search results will only show you sources from newspapers in that country.

Need More Help?

The Business Information Services Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources.  If you have any questions, please e-mail  BIS@library.illinois.edu.