Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature and Art in Colombia
Literature, linguistics and arts in Colombia
Bibliographic Guide to Gabriel Garcia Marquez, 1992-2002 by
Call Number: 869.7 G165Vg2
Publication Date: Westport, Conn.: Praeger Pub., 2003.
With this latest installment, Nelly Sfeir v. de Gonzalez has completed her triology of bibliographies on Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Born in Colombia in 1927, Garcia Marquez has become one of the most outstanding and influential novelists of the 20th century. He has received numerous awards, including the 1982 Nobel Prize for Literature. His work has generated an enormous amount of scholarship and his writings are part of the curricula taught in most American colleges and universities. This third volume presents a comprehensive annotated bibliography of books, articles, and non-print materials by and about Garcia Marquez published between 1992 and 2002. The first part consists of primary sources by Garcia Marquez, while, the second part brings together entries for secondary sources, including reviews.
Bibliografía de la novela en Colombia by
Call Number: 015.861 C71p v.11
Publication Date: Bogotá: Instituto Caro y Cuervo, 1976.
This bibliography lists novels written by Colombian authors between 1841 and 1976. It is based on the 1957 bibliography "Evolucion de la novela en Colombia", expanding it and extending its coverage to 1974. Materials listed are arranged alphabetically by author's last name. Each item listed includes a description of each work's edition, a succinct description of the work and critic reviews, a biographical note, existing translations to different languages, and relevant essays discussing each work. The book includes alphabetical and chronological indexes, and by work title.
Bibliografía del teatro colombiano : siglo XIX : índice analítico de publicaciones periódicas by
Call Number: 016.79209861 L218b
Publication Date: Santafé de Bogotá [Colombia]: Instituto Caro y Cuervo, 1998.
This book compiles articles conerning theatre in nineteenth century Colombia. It covers newspapers and periodicals. Articles included refer to theater schedules, audience reception, critical reviews, and varied news related with theater. Most of newspapers used as sources are available at Biblioteca Luis Angel Arango, Biblioteca Nacional de Colombia, and Colombia's National Archive (Archivo General de la Nación). Each item includes complete bibliographical information and a brief summary of the newspaper article's content. Materials listed are arranged chronologically by article's date. The book includes indexes by subject, by author, and by news paper. Acquired with support from the Campo Elias Palencia Memorial Fund.
Teatro Colombiano Contemporáneo by
Call Number: 869.7082 T2223
Publication Date: Madrid : [Sociedad Estatal Quinto Centenario (España)] : 1992.
This book compiles paradicmatic works of Colombian contemporary theatre. It also includes a chronological list of events that most have been the most influential for the development of this artform in the Country. For each author listed, the book presents a short bibliographical note, the author's most influetial plays, and the script of one of them. The book also includes a short historical note about theater in Colombia
Bibliografía anotada del teatro colombiano by
Call Number: 016.79209861 L218bi
Publication Date: Bogotá: Círculo de Lectura Alternativa, c2003.
This bibliography was developed as a reference material rather than a canon of theater works. It includes works that were not necessarily influential in Colombia's theater scene, but are relevant to study different factors concerning the production, circulation and impact of theater in the country. This book compiles unpublished manuscripts, original Colombian plays, and adaptations from other plays. Materials where collected from archives, two previous bibliographic compilations, and serial publications. The book includes 3363 works, covering a time period from the earliest plays ever documented in Colombia (early 1800s) to 1999. Works included come from different genres and creation forms. Each item listed includes a biographical note on the author, the play's title, edition information, information about the play's premiere when applicable, location of the script, and additional comments. This book is arranged alphabetically by author's last name. It includes indexes by pseudonym and by play's title.
Guía de autores chocoanos by
Call Number: 016.8697 R523G
Publication Date: Medellín; Lealon, 1993.
This guide compiles works from the region of Chocó, Colombia, relevant for researchers interested in Afro-Colombian literature and authors. Works listed include a variety of genres including short story, novel, biography, essay, lyrics, and even painting. The book is arranged alphabetically by author.
Diccionario de escritores colombianos by
Call Number: 869.709 D5471985
Publication Date: Bogotá : Plaza & Janes Editores Colombia, 1985.
This book provides a compilation of Colombian authors from different genres and time periods. It is one of the most comprehensive contemporary reference works about Colombian literature.
Bibliografía femenina de Colombia, 1800-2002: guia de monografías by
Call Number: 013.04209861 B471
Publication Date: [Bogotá, D.C.] : Libros de Colombia, 2002.
This title comprises three volumes, including Colombian women authors, arranged alphabetically, throughout the nineteenth and twenty-first centuries (until 2002), and covering multiple disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, and the physical sciences. It also includes an index by author.
Los recursos de la imaginación: Artes Visuales del Caribe Colombiano by
Call Number: LABO.09/2008.344
Publication Date: Barranquilla, Colombia: 2007
This book compiles artistic movements and individual artists, relevant for the study of visual arts in the Colombian Caribbean. The book includes a broad selection, encompassing artists and artistic movements from the pre-Hispanic period to contemporary art movements up to the late 1990s. The first part of the book addresses artistic movements and the second part lists individual artists.
Antologia de la literatura llanera: 100 autores
Call Number: 398.209861 Sa551a
ISBN: Sánchez Tocaría, Otto.
Publication Date: Santafé de Bogotá, D.C.: Horizonte Llanero, 1998.
This book compiles the work of 100 authors from Colombia's eastern plains, a region known as "Llanos Orientales". Authors included in this compilation write prose and poetry, core for the study of this region's cultural tradition. Entries for each author included include a brief biographical review, and lists the author's main works.
Specific monographic works about Colombian arts can be found at the library catalog here:
Assistant Professor and Librarian of Latin American and Caribbean Studies
International and Area Studies Library
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies