Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General sources by topics
Afrodescendientes en Colombia: Compilacion Bibliografica by
Call Number: LABO.12/2009.229
Publication Date: Popayan: Ed. Universidad del Cauca: 2008
This bibliography includes academic texts addressing Afro-Colombians, or relevant for the study of this population. It includes texts in anthropology, sociology, history, and urban planning, economics, among others. Materials included in this compilation study diverse issues related to black communities in Colombia from a wide range of approaches. Works listed include published and unpublished documents. The latter, such theses, and reports from public programs that are now suspended, have provided valuable contribution to the study of Afro-Colombian communities. Text included in the bibliography refer mainly to communities from Colombia's Pacific region, but also to the Caribbean and Islands, Cauca, Valle del Cauca, Magdalena Medio, Antioquia and Bogota. The volume is arranged by region, and within each region, by theme. It includes indexes by author by subject.
Bibliografia General de Cartagena de Indias: desde el siglo XV hasta 2007. Volumes I, II and III by
Call Number: 986.1 C1403b
Publication Date: Cartagena de Indias : Ediciones Pluma De Mompox, 2007.
This book compiles works by authors native of Cartagena and some from other regions who wrote extensively on issues relevant to the study of Cartagena de Indias. For each author included, this publication lists the author's biographical note, main works, and summaries of each work. It contains materials from different fields of study, covering a period running form the Spanish colonization ("Cronistas de Indias" and "Cartas de Heredia") to 2007. This bibliography includes indexes author, by time period and an alphabetic index. Volumes from this bibliography are arranged alphabetically. Volume I includes materials with titles from A to E; Volume II includes titles F to O and Volume III, materials P to Z. This bibliography was acquired with the contribution of the Library Friends, in memory of Campo Elias Palencia Memorial Fund.
Bibliografia General de la Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta by
Call Number: 016.98611 B471
Publication Date: Santafé de Bogotá, Colombia : Naturskydds föreningen : 1994
This catalog includes 1656 records. The majority of them are held at "Fundacion Pro Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta", and the rest at other libraries and documentation centers throughout Colombia. This publication lists books, unpublished documents, articles, newspaper clippings, maps, research papers, and some audiovisual material. It covers Colombian regions of Magdalena, Cesar and Guajira, through texts from different disciplines. Given that some materials are not easily accessible, this bibliography includes a commentary of the location of each source. This book is arranged alphabetically by author. It includes an indexes by author and by topic
Bibliografia Historica del Caribe Colombiano by
Call Number: 016.986115 So41b
Publication Date: Barranquilla: Ediciones Uninorte, Centro de Estudios Regionales (CERES): 1990.
This bibliography lists books and published articles concerning Colombia's Caribbean region. The book is divided in three parts. The first part lists books and brochures, and suggests a thematic classification of the items listed. The second part includes published articles, and includes an appendix with doctoral theses and books published in the United States, relevant to the study of the Caribbean in Colombia. These two sections are arranged alphabetically by author.
The last part refers specifically to the city of Barranquilla. It lists items alphabetically, grouped by topic.
Bibliografía del Instituto Lingüístico de Verano en Colombia, 1990 by
Call Number: 016.498 R251B
Publication Date: Lomalinda, Meta, República de Colombia : Editorial Alberto Lleras Camargo, c1990.
This bibliography contains all publications and articles produced by the Summer Institute of Linguistics concerning indigenous cultures and languages. Most items included in this publication were published by the Institue of Linguistics itself, or by other specialized journals. The bibliogrpahy includes several works written by indigenous authors or in collaboration with them. The book is arranged alphabetically, by the indigenous lanugage's name. It includes 49 languages. Each section is structured by the following subject-areas: Ethnoeducation, ethnolinguistics, and sacred writings. Each subject area is arranged by author's last name and works by each author are organized chonologically. The book inlcudes indeces by topic and by author.
Bibliografía sobre historia de Bogotá by
Call Number: 016.986148 B635b
Publication Date: Bogotá, D.E. : Cámara de Comercio de Bogotá, Vicepresidencia de Planeación y Desarrollo, Centro de Información Económica y Social de Bogotá, Red Distrital de Información Económica y Social, 1988
This publication contains 251 references held at different libraries in Colombia. It lists publications by historians specialized on the history of Bogota and its outskirts. Materials listed cover a time period from the sixteenth century to the 1980's, emphasizing on the foundation of the city, Gonzalo Jiménez de Quesada whom is considered Bogota's founder, and customs and living conditions during that historical period. The book is arranged alphabetically by author, and includes indexes by topic and by author.
Bogotá en documentos : bibliografía by
Call Number: 016.986148 B634
Publication Date: Bogotá : Foro Nacional por Colombia : 1989.
This bibliography is the result of a research project related to public policy in urban management of Bogota between 1968 and 1987. It includes books, articles, magazines, reports, and minutes. Materials listed in this publication are held at public libraries, documentation centers and archives in Bogota. Topics covered by this book include city management, the sector "Ciudad Bolivar", city finances, city legislation, urban policies, public services, transit and transportation, and housing and urban development. Items listed are arranged by topic. The book includes indexes by topic and by author.
Caciques e Indios by
Call Number: 986.100498 Ar259c
Publication Date: Bogota: Instituto Colombiano de Cultura; Archivo Nacional: 1992
This volume is a catalog from the series "Caciques e Indios", one of the most important Series from Colombia's National Archive (Archivo General de la Nación). It includes testimonies from social and political organization during Spanish colonization, and some reference to the pre-Hispanic period. Materials included in this publication cover years 1543 - 1818. The catalog is arranged by the Archive's file numbering. It includes indexes by subject, by creator's name, and chronological index.
Catálogo bibliográfico de Antioquia by
Call Number: 015.8612 IB4C
Publication Date: Medellín: Instituto de Integración Cultural, 1977.
This bibliography includes three volumes listing relevant bibliography for the study of the region of Antioquia in Colombia. It contains mainly published books, and official reports, available at different libraries in Medellin and contiguous municipalities. Works selected for this bibliography cover a wide range of historical periods and subject-areas. Items listed include the call number of libraries where they are held, and a brief summary of the work's contents. Materials arranged by subject. The book includes an index by author's last name.
Costa Pacifica y Comunidades Negras by
Call Number: 016.30589608 ES69C
Publication Date: Bogota: Instituto Colombiano de Antropologia: 1993
This publication was developed in collaboration with Afro-Colombian community leaders. It includes 2125 entries, held at Colombian Institute of Anthropology (ICAN) and other libraries across the country. The materials listed refer mainly to the Pacific region in Colombia. The book is arranged alphabetically by author. It includes indexes by author, and by topic.
Diez años de investigación amazónica : catálogo bibliográfico del Proyecto DAINCO-CASAM, 1978-1990 by
Call Number: 016.9811 D568
Publication Date: Bogotá, Colombia : DAINCO: 1991
This publication contains 683 entries of works compiled by several state projects between the 1970s and late 1980s, which sought to support and deepen knowledge about Colombia's Amazonian region. A great part of works listed in this catalog have not been published, but are available at documentation centers from Bogota, San Jose del Guaviara and Araracura. Official governmental documents were not included. This catalog is arranged by numerical sequence and topographic numbering, and includes indices by author's last name, and by subject.
Documentos sobre lenguas aborígenes de Colombia del archivo de Paul Rivet by
Call Number: 498.09861 D659
Publication Date: Santa Fe de Bogotá, D.C: Ediciones Uniandes: 1996-1999.
This book was published by the Colombian Center of Studies on Indigenous Languages. The guide lists primary sources, and published and unpublished research works, relevant to the study of indigenous languages, mainly from the field of linguistics. Most of the primary sources listed pertain to the Paul Rivet papers, French scholar on the Americas, held at the Musée de l'Homme at Paris. The book contains transcriptions of the original documents from Rivet's archive concerning his study and classification of indigenous languages. It also includes a commented presentation to each group of materials, and each language studied by Rivet, as well as additional secondary sources relevant for each case.
Escritores de Antioquia by
Call Number: 016.869709 ES19
Publication Date: Medellín: Ediciones Autores Antioqueños, 1986.
This bibliography includes published works by authors originally from Colombian regions of Antioquia and Caldas. Materials listed address the late nineteenth century through the mid 1980s, concerning varied subject areas. The book is arranged by author's last name. Each entry lists the author's date and place of birth, their profession and field, and their published works. This guide includes indexes by authors' pseudonyms and place of birth (municipality).
Indígenas y negros en Colombia: bibliografía monográfica by
Call Number: Q. 016.98600498 H433
Publication Date: Bogotá, D.C.: Libros de Colombia, 2003.
This bibliography compiles published works relevant for the study of black and indigenous communities in Colombia throughout its history, and from varied academic disciplines. Books listed in this bibliography have been gathered by the editorial "Libros de Colombia" over 35 years and includes monographs and periodicals published between the late nineteenth century and the early 2000's. Materials are arranged by discipline in eleven sections. At each section, materials are arranged alphabetically by author's last name. Includes an index by author's last name.
Bibliografía sobre la violencia en Colombia : referencias históricas, geográficas, antropológicas, económicas, jurídicas, literarias y religiosas by
Call Number: 303.609861 H433b
Publication Date: Bogotá, D.C.: Libros de Colombia, 2002.
This publication lists materials compiled by the editorial "Libros de Colombia" concerning Colombia's political violence. Material in this bibliography include published books, governmental official documents and reports, presidential speeches, periodicals and dissertations. The work constitutes of two volumes and is divided in two parts. The first part is an overview of Colombia's history and general inforamtion. The second part, contains the bibliography about the country's political violence. The bibliography is organized by subject area, including history and politics; geography, hydrology, explorer's documents; anthropology, ethnology, psychology; economy, statistics, development and public finance; business and natural resources; law and ethics; Catholic Church and religions; art and literature; and periodicals. The publication also includes an index by author's last name.
Para un estudio sobre la violencia en Colombia : bibliografía by
Call Number: 016.30360986 C179P
Publication Date: Bogotá, Colombia : Centro de Investigación y Educación Popular, .
This bibliography is one of the first compiling published resources about political violence in Colombia. It lists works held at university and public libraries at Bogota, Colombia. In addition, this book also includes works listed at bibliographies developed by researchers on Colombian political history. In total, the book lists 1807 records, most of them are books and monographs. The book is divided in 10 thematic sections. Each section is arranged by sub-sections also by topic, and materials listed are organized alphabetically by author's last name.
Working bibliography and resource guide on U.S. Andean regional security policy, the war on drugs, human rights, rule of law, and military justice, 1989-2004. Vol. 1, Colombia by
Call Number: 327.09861010 L944w
Publication Date: San Diego, Calif. : Center for Latin American Studies at San Diego State University, 2005
This working bibliography was developed by the Center for Latin American Studies at San Diego University as a resource for students and researchers interested in the study of United States' security policies on the Andean Region. It includes primary documents, published research, research papers, and internet sites, concerning regional security, human rights, rule of law and judicial reform. The bibliography is divided in six sections: Regional security, Plan Colombia, war on drugs, human rights in Colombia, Judicial reform and Rule of Law, and Military Justice and Rule of Law. Each section is organized by material type: Internet resources; congressional testimony; other official U.S. documents; articles, chapters and reports; and books and monographs. Each sub-section is organized alphabetically .
Note: Recent bibliographies on economics were not found. We encourage our patrons to consult sections on economics on the general bibliographies cited on this page. Also, a variety of monographs concerning economics in Colombia are available at the library catalog. Find some titles here.
Assistant Professor and Librarian of Latin American and Caribbean Studies
International and Area Studies Library
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies