Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographies - History
Archivo histórico de Popayán (época de la Independencia) by
Call Number: 016.9861 AR25A
Publication Date: Popayán: Universidad del Cauca,1944
This is a seven-volume catalog listing 5182 documents produced between 1810 and 1832. Sources cover from Colombia's independence until the constitution of the "Republica de Nueva Granada". The catalog includes a summary of the material's content, relevant individuals included in the document, locations, and dates. The catalog is arranged by subject and materials listed at each section are organized by file number.
Compilación bibliográfica e informativa de datos arqueológicos de la sabana de Bogotá : siglos VIII al XVI by
Call Number: Q. 986.10016 C738
Publication Date: Bogotá, Colombia : Instituto Colombiano de Antropología: 1996-2000.
This publication compiles documents concerning historic archaeology from municipalities contiguous to Bogota, particularly those on the city's south-west. It includes documents about municipalities' geography, culture, bio-anthropology, and general sources, which were interpreted and arranged to develop a context of the process of settlement of the city between the eight and sixteenth centuries. Works listed were published between the early nineteenth and the late twentieth centuries. The selection of documents give priority to publications that underwent fieldwork in the archaeological site mentioned above, or that conducted material or cultural analysis related with the area and time period addresses in the publication. The book includes 129 records. Each record includes a description of the following fields: Summary; site location; plans or maps; coordinates; prospecting, excavation and exploration; chronology; site's characteristics; kind of material; tombs; other findings; laboratory analysis; and observations. This publication is arranged alphabetically by author's last name, and includes indices by author, geographic site, and document type. It also includes a historic context and maps.
Caciques e indios: catálogo e índices by
Call Number: 986.100498 Ar259c
Publication Date: Santafé de Bogotá, D.C., Colombia: Archivo General de la Nación, 1992.
This collection of four catalogs, list special collections held at Colombia's National Archive (Archivo General de la Nación). Collections include, 1) Town councils (Fondo Cabildos), covering the territories of Bogota, Tunja, Cartagena, Popayan and Antioquia. 2) Churches (Fondo Fábrica de Iglesias), 3) Populations (Fondo Poblaciones), 4) Congress (Fondo Congreso). All collections are arranged by archival filing numbers, and include an index by subject. The first three catalogs cover the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. The Congress collection covers the nineteenth century.
Contribución a una bibliografía especializada de la Real Expedición Botánica en el Nuevo Reino de Granada by
Call Number: 016.5810986 SI38C
Publication Date: Bogotá, D.C: Instituto Colombiano de Cultura Hispánica, 1984.
This bibliography was developed to celebrate the 200 years of the Botanical Expedition conducted by botanist Jose Celestino Mutis. The publication lists materials relevant to the study of the Botanical Expedition as a scientific and a cultural process. The book is divided in two parts. The first part is arranged by topic and in chronological order. The second part is arranged alphabetically by author's last name (when the author is unknown, materials are arranged by title). Includes indices by author and by subject.
Indice de documentos para la historia de la antigua gobernación de Popayán: Archivo Histórico Nacional de Colombia by
Call Number: 016.986153 In275
Publication Date: Bogotá: Instituto Colombiano de Cultura Hispánica, 1996.
This guide lists primary sources held at Colombia's National Archive (Archivo General de la Nación), concerning territories from the former Governance of Popayan, Cauca. Materials range from sections Abastos to Real Hacienda, and most of them date from late eighteenth to early nineteenth centuries. This publication is organized by thematic sections arranged alphabetically. Documents listed at each section are arranged chronologically and by archival file number. This publication includes personal and geographical indices.
Indices de documentos para la historia de Antioquia by
Call Number: 016.986126 J28I
Publication Date: Bogotá: Instituto Colombiano de Cultura Hispánica, 1994.
Indexes documents of the Real Audiencia de Santafé and the Virreinato de la Nueva Granada now in the Archivo Histórico Nacional de Colombia.
This guide lists primary sources held at Colombia's National Archive (Archivo General de la Nación), concerning history of the region of Antioquia, from the colonial period trhough Colombia's independence. Documents pertain mainly to collections from Real Audiencia de Santafé and the Virreinato de la Nueva Granada, but other collections from the colonial period were also included.
The volume is organized geographically. Documents listed at each section are arranged chronologically and by archival file number. Includes personal and geographical indices.
Historical Dictionary of Colombia by
Publication Date: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2012.
The volume covers the history of Colombia and includes a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and a bibliography. The dictionary has over 1,000 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Colombia.
Assistant Professor and Librarian of Latin American and Caribbean Studies
International and Area Studies Library
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies