Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Research Guide to Peru : Online Resources

Online Resources

Biblioteca Ayacucho Digital: This digital library contains many collections related to Latin America. Collections include "Colección Clásica", "Colección Claves de América", and "Colección La Expresión Americana" among them.

Conde de Montemar Letters, 1761-1799: This website was curated locally and provides digital access to a set of letters from our Conde de Montemar collection. These letters belonged to the family of the Conde de Montemar, Diego José Carrillo de Albornoz y Bravo de Lagunas traveling between Lima and Madrid. The site has digitized box one covering the years 1761-1765. 

 These are just a few of the online resources. For more resources, check the IAS page for the Latin America and Caribbean Collection.

Latin American and the Caribbean - Non UIUC Online Resources

SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials) - Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources: SALALM is an organization of librarians, scholars, researchers, and students interested in developing collections about Latin American and the Caribbean, as well as related library services. SALALM's Latin American and Caribbean site on primary sources provide online access to digitized primary sources relevant for the study of the region. This site is arranged by the sources' format, including “Historical Texts by Country“, “Historical Texts General“, “Statistics“, “Visual Material by Country“, “Visual Material General“, and “Miscellaneous.”


Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) : The LARRP is a consortium of research libraries pertaining to the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). This site provides access to journals' tables of contents, academic literature in social sciences produced in Latin America, a presidential messages database that includes presidential addresses from the early 19th century to the present, monographs, and other resources.


LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center):

LANIC is one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the web. This site lists relevant research resources and websites arranged by topic. Topics include the African Diaspora, Agriculture & Ranching, Arts & Culture, Economy, Business, Education, Environment, General Resources, Government, Law and Politics, Health, History, Human Rights, Social Justice., Immigration & Migration, Indigenous Peoples, Labor, Media & Communication, Religion, Science & Technology, Sports, and others. Note that as of July 2015, this page is no longer being actively updated or maintained, which means that some links may be outdated. Still, the list of organizations and institutions provided by topic and by country can be searched independently on the current website.

Also consider using LANIC's digital collections (found under "Digital Initiatives" at LANIC's home page), which hosts a great range of material from diverse topics and countries, thanks to a rich network of partnerships throughout Latin America and the globe. Just a few of these collections are "Religion in Latin America", "Association for the Study of the Cuban Economy", "Latin American Electronic Data Archive" and "Sustainable Development Reporting Project". This website is currently being updated.

 


Newspapers and Magazine Database form the Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona- America Latina y el Caribe: This site is an online resource developed by the Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona Library system, listing 215 newspapers and magazines from Latin America and the Caribbean, including links to the publications' websites. This site also lists press publications from other geographical areas.

Google News and Google Newspapers:

Google News This source includes a large database that collects various newspapers and magazines from several countries throughout the world and provides links to each newspaper's website. This site is primarily specializes in current news. A country can be selected to obtain a specialized Google news edition on that country.

Google Newspapers provides online access to digitized international newspapers. This site includes a richer collection of historical newspapers, and fewer recent issues of the included newspapers. Holdings are arranged alphabetically by newspaper title.

 

                           

Google Newspapers, Periodico El Tiempo, Colombia, 1960

Online Access to Dissertations about Latin America and the Caribbean

Dissertations are excellent sources for your own bibliography, as doctoral candidates need to summarize the scholarly literature in their field. Browse these resources to find relevant dissertations.

 

US

Proquest's Dissertations and Theses


LAC

LA Referencia - Thesis and Dissertations

Portal de Tesis Latinoamericanas

Tesis europeas sobre América Latina

Tesis digitales—Universidad de las Américas, Puebla, México

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM): TESIUNAM


Brazil

Biblioteca Digital de Teses e Dissertaçõnes

Coordenação de Aperfeiçoamento de Pessoal de Nível Superior (CAPES)
To access information on theses, click on "Banco de Teses."

Banco de Teses e Dissertações (BTD)

Teses—via universiabrasil.net


Spain

Bases de datos de tesis doctorales (TESEO)

Catálogo de tesis doctorales catalanas

Tesis doctorales—via Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes