This hefty history of 19th-century European furniture is organized primarily by country or region and secondarily by type of furniture. Includes lists of major 19th-century exhibitions and major international exhibitions as well as a bibliography.
A two-volume catalogue raisonné of French designer Gallé's Art Nouveau ceramics, glass, and furniture. Vol. I consists of texts, Vol. II of the catalog of works. In German, with some texts in French. Includes bibliographical references and index.
A history of 18th- and early 19th-century furniture made in Pennsylvania. Issued in connection with an exhibition held in 2011 at the Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
A combined publication of Peter Thomson and Son's Victorian furniture design and instruction books: "The Cabinet Maker's Sketch Book" (1851), "The Cabinet-Maker's Assistant" (1852-3), and "The Practical Cabinetmaker's Design Book" (c1870). With a foreword, an introduction, a list of subscriber's for "the Cabinet Maker's Assistant," and a picture album of Thomson Styles.
A well-illustrated history of British furniture from 1800 to 1830, intended for the sophisticated collector. With an appendix of biographies of major designers and craftsmen, bilbiographical footnotes, and a comprehensive bibliography.
A scholarly history of Shaker furniture, with detailed biographies of 27 furnituremakers working between the 1830s and 1860s. Specialized bibliography in the notes and a selected bibliography at the end of the volume.
A survey of south German, Austrian, and German-Swiss folk furniture of the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes black-and-white and color plates with descriptive notes as well as a comprehensive, classified bibliography.