General Histories (arranged in descending order by publication date)
Furniture Design by Call Number: Q.749 P845fISBN: 9780471727965Publication Date: 2007-08-03Architecture & Art
This guide to furniture design for various uses includes case studies from different time periods and places (Chapter 4) and a historical overview of furniture styles (Chapter 10). With a glossary, a bibliography, and an index.
History of Interior Design and Furniture : from ancient Egypt to nineteenth-century Europe by Call Number: Q. 747.2 B583h2006ISBN: 0471464333Publication Date: 2005-11-25Oak St.
A history of furniture and interior design from a variety of time periods and places. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
History of Furniture: ancient to 19th C. by Call Number: 749.09 H926hISBN: 186108319XPublication Date: 2005-03-28Architecture & Art
A general history of furniture design. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Extraordinary Furniture by Call Number: Q. 749 L648EISBN: 9780810932579Publication Date: 1996-09-01Main Stacks
An illustrated survey of various important pieces from various time periods and places. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Chairs Through the Ages by Call Number: Q.749.32 P76c 1982ISBN: 0486243486Publication Date: 1982-10-01Main Stacks
A collection of illustrations of chairs taken from prints. Includes an index.- Antique furniture : baroque, rococo, neoclassical byCall Number: Q.749.2037 St71aISBN: 0856134260Publication Date: 1982Main Stacks
A well-illustrated survey of European and American furniture from the 17th to the mid-19th century, with emphasis on the work of major designers. Includes a glossary, a summary of styles, and a bibliography. - The story of western furniture byCall Number: 749.2Oa8sISBN: 0906060093Publication Date: 1981Oak St.
A history of Western furniture from ancient Egyptian times to 1980. Illustrated with drawing of museum pieces and representation of furniture in contemporary artworks. With a select bibliography. - Furniture : a concise history byCall Number: 749.2L963fPublication Date: 1979Architecture & Art
A survey of Western furniture from antiquity to the 1970s. Includes a chapter on the meanings of different types of furniture, a bibliography, and an index. - The complete guide to furniture styles byCall Number: 749 B633c1969Publication Date: 1969Main Stacks and Oak St.
A survey of international furniture from ancient times to the 20th century, wit particular emphasis of English furniture. Includes a bibliography of English-language books. - A social history of furniture design from B.C. 1300 to A.D. 1960 byCall Number: 749.2G51sPublication Date: 1966Oak St.
A history of Western furniture from ancient times to the mid-20th century, which studies how furniture reflects social change. Illustrated with representations of museum pieces and illustrations from contemporary works of art. Includes a brief bibliography of English-language books. - World furniture; an illustrated history byCall Number: Q.749.2 H33wPublication Date: 1965Main Stacks
A history of international furniture from antiquity to the 1960s, written by several British experts. Includes plates of museum pieces and views of period interiors. With a glossary, an appendix on primitve furniture, and a bibliography.
