LibGuides: Sustainable Business & Subsistence Markets: Country Profiles

ISI Emerging Markets

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
Emerging Markets aggregates and produces unique content including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from more than 13,000 local and global publications.

EIU Country Intelligence

EIU Viewpoint: Country Analysis Advanced This link opens in a new window
The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides quarterly analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Included in each country report is a detailed review and analysis of political and economic events, a compilation of the latest economic indicators as well as a 12-24 month political outlook and economic projection.

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Furnishes statistics, papers, and selected special reports on the member countries of OECD; covers various aspects of economies including education, economy, infrastructure, and trade.

iLibrary database help tutorial

Passport

To locate statistics, look under Search (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.

For example, to search for industry statistics, go to 'Search Statistics' section; select 'industries'; choose a industry you are interested in; click go .

For database help, click here.

Political Risk Yearbook

Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window
The Political Risk Yearbook monitors the risks to international business over the next five years. Published annually in January, every report is updated each year to include the latest report for each country.
*Note that your data may appear in a pop-up window and that you will need to enable pop-ups for your session.

Free Resources

BBC News Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook
Unclassified since 1971, the Central Intelligence Agency's annual World Factbook provides a reliable resource for information on independent states, dependencies, areas of special sovereignty, uninhabitable regions, and oceans.
Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Country Profiles
FAO country profiles highlight information as one of the priority areas in fighting hunger and achieving food security.
the guardian World Government Data
The Guardian's government data portal is a gateway to publicly-available national, regional, and local statistics records for the UK, USA, Australia, Canada, & New Zealand.
globalEdge -Global Insights
Provided by Michigan State University's Broad College of Business, globalEdge is a freemium global business knowledge resource that provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
U.S. State Department Background Notes
State Department Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus."
World Bank Countries & Regions Profiles
Provides direct links to the World Bank data catalog for each country along with access to the latest publications, news items, and development topics published by, or related to, World Bank operations.

Africa & the Middle East

African Development Bank Group (AfDB)
AfDB’s mission is to help reduce poverty, improve living conditions for Africans and mobilize resources for the continent’s economic and social development.
African Union
Afrobarometer
Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa.
All Africa (news)
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 2000 news and information items daily from over 130 African news organizations and its own reporters to an African and global public.
Arab Barometer
The Arab Democracy Barometer was established in 2005 by scholars in the Arab world and the United States. The current wave of surveys seeks to measure and track over time citizen attitudes, values, and behavior patterns relating to pluralism, freedoms, tolerance and equal opportunity; social and inter-personal trust; social, religious and political identities; conceptions of governance and an understanding of democracy; and civic engagement and political participation.
Centre for the Study of African Economies (CSAE) at Oxford University
CSAE carries out economic research with a particular focus on Africa. Its aim is to improve economic and social conditions in the poorest societies.
Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA)
ESCWA to raise the level of economic activity in member countries and strengthen cooperation among them. It was also intended to meet the need of the countries in Western Asia for the services of a regional economic commission to promote the development efforts in the region.
UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
ECA was established in 1958 as one of the UN's five regional commissions. ECA's mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member States, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development.

Asia

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
ASEAN encourages cooperation in the economic, social, cultural, technical, educational and other fields, and in the promotion of regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter.
UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
ESCAP is the regional development arm of the United Nations for the Asia-Pacific region. ESCAP is the most comprehensive of the five regional United Nations social and economic commissions. It is also the largest United Nations body serving the Asia-Pacific region with over 600 staff.

Europe

Commonwealth of Independent States
(Covers former Soviet bloc countries)
Council of Europe
The Council of Europe seeks to develop throughout Europe, common and democratic principles based on the European Convention on Human Rights and other reference texts on the protection of individuals.
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)
UNECE is one of five regional economic and social development commissions of the United Nations. UNECE's major aim is to promote pan-European economic integration, promote greater economic integration and cooperation among its member countries and sustainable development and economic prosperity.

Latin America

Association of Carribbean States (ACS)
The ACS provides a forum for political dialogue that allows members to identify areas of common interest and concern including the preservation and conservation of the Caribbean Sea, trade and economic external relations, natural disasters, and transportation.

Centro de estudios latinamericos (CESLA)
CESLA is a centre dedicated to the analysis of Latin American economies functioning under the umbrella of the Klein Institute of the Autonomous University of Madrid.
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
ECLAC is one of five regional commissions of the United Nations founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America, coordinating actions directed towards this end, reinforcing economic ties among countries and with other nations of the world, and promoting\ the region's social development.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Infolatam
(Spanish, English, Portuguese)
Inter-American Development Bank
The IDB is the main source of multilateral financing and expertise for sustainable economic, social and institutional development in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) at Vanderbilt University
The AmericasBarometer, one of the activities of LAPOP, is the only survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas (North, Central, South and the Caribbean). It is an effort by LAPOP to measure democratic values and behaviors in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults
Latinobarómetro
(Spanish, English, Portuguese)

Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants.
Organization of American States
The OAS uses a four-pronged approach to effectively implement its essential purposes. The Organization’s four main pillars––democracy, human rights, security, and development––support each other and are intertwined through political dialogue, inclusiveness, cooperation, and legal and follow-up instruments that provide the OAS with the tools to maximize its work in the Hemisphere.
The Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (MOxLAD)
(English, Spanish, Portuguese)

MOxLAD represents a partnership between the Universidad de la Republica, Montevideo, and Oxford University. The object of the partnership is to extend and renovate the data base previously known as OxLAD, and develop associated activities. The data base contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the twentieth century and beyond. Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic collection of available statistical information in a single on-line source.

Country Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of India by Stanley A. Wolpert
Call Number: DS405 .E556 2006
ISBN: 0684313499
Publication Date: 2005-11-28
UIUC Online Collection

Summary
Wolpert (emeritus, history, U. of California, Los Angeles), who has published extensively on the history of India, has done an admirable job of selecting entries for this 4v reference that reflect the vast and diverse history, politics, people, religions, and culture of India.
Encyclopedia of Modern China by David Pong
ISBN: 9780684315669
Publication Date: 2009-07-31
UIUC Online Collection

Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by Philip Mattar
Call Number: DS43 .E53 2004
ISBN: 0028657691
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Undergraduate Reference

Summary
This new edition presents some 3,000 entries covering topics in fields such as politics, history, economics, religion, sociology, and literature. Approximately one- third of the entries are biographies, including 200 new biographies of women. Sensitive topics such as terrorism, the Palestinian al-Nakba, and anti-Semitism in the Arab world are discussed openly and plainly.