UIUC Online Collection

Summary
"This book focuses on the development of innovative techniques and tools that answer urgent questions in the global trend of sustainable economic development, providing researchers and business managers with a valuable resource for the development of green business and application of low carbon practices"

ACES

Summary
"Stuart L. Hart presents new strategies for identifying sustainable products, technologies, and business models that will drive urgently needed growth and help solve social and environmental problems at the same time."

Order On-Request

Summary
"Authors Laszlo and Zhexembayeva explain and predict how companies can better leverage global challenges for enduring profit and sustained growth. They introduce the marquis concept of embedded sustainability: the incorporation of environmental, health, and social value into the product life cycle with no trade-off in price or quality--no social or green premium. "

UIUC Online Collection

Summary
"Making a compelling business case for why companies must provide greener, more sustainable products, Greener Products: The Making and Marketing of Sustainable Brands shares best practices for the design and marketing of greener products. The book examines ecosystem and regulatory pressures as well as market pressures from customers—consumers, business customers, and government purchasers—who have created a demand on manufacturers to bring more sustainable brands to market."

Main Stacks

Summary
"Green to Gold shows how companies generate lasting value, cutting costs, reducing risk, increasing revenues, and creating strong brands, by building environmental thinking into their business strategies."

ACES

Summary
"The first book of its kind devoted completely to industrial ecology/green engineering, this introduction uses industrial ecology principles and cases to ground the discussion of sustainable engineering–and offers practical and reasonable approaches to design decisions."

Undergrad

Summary
"The word 'industry' has become practically synonymous with pollution, human rights abuse and corporate greed. In Industrial Evolution, Lyle Estill reclaims the term, together with its original connotations of hard work, diligence and productivity, and shows how community scale enterprise can foster a vibrant, sustainable local economy."

ACES

Summary
"On its first publication 10 years ago, Natural capitalism rocked the world of business with its innovative new approach - an approach that fused ecological integrity with business acumen, using the radical concept of natural capitalism. This 10th anniversary edition features a new introduction by Amory B. Lovins and Paul Hawken, which updates the story to include the successes of the last decade. It clearly sets out the path that we must now take to ensure the future prosperity of our civilization and our planet"

Main Stacks

"In Strategy for Sustainability, Adam Werbach shows us how sustainability moves beyond compliance-oriented green initiatives to become a key strategy for achieving both competitive advantage and meaningful change. By integrating a systems perspective into business practice and priorities, Werbach lays out a compelling new model for building core business strategy."-Gene Kahn, VP, Global Sustainability Officer, General Mills, Inc.

Main Stacks

Summary
"In this deeply considered book, Ehrenfeld challenges conventional understandings of 'solving' environmental problems and offers a radically new set of strategies to attain sustainability. The book is founded upon this new definition: sustainability is the possibility that humans and other life will flourish on Earth forever."

Main Stacks

Summary
"This book provides comprehensive and practical analysis of what sustainable business development (SBD) is and how companies can use it to make a significant difference. Case studies of companies in the US, Europe, the Pacific Rim and South America demonstrate that achieving innovation and integration depends on a comprehensive understanding of all of the forces which drive change and responding to them with fresh ways of strategic thinking."

Prairie Research Institute

Summary
"This easy-to-use manual has been written by top business consultants specifically to help managers, business owners, organizational leaders and aspiring environmental managers/sustainability coordinators to improve their organization's environmental, social and economic performance."

ACES

Summary
"The authors desmystify 'sustainability', untangle the plethora of sustainability frameworks, tools and practices, and make it easy for the average person in any organization to move towards sustainability."

ACES

Summary
"In this book, the author introduces us to the innovative business leaders who are at the forefront of the green economy. He profiles the enterprises that are developing cutting-edge, clean-tech products and innovations for export to a expanding global market."

UIUC Online Collection

Summary
"From innovation to shareholder development, this groundbreaking book offers guidelines for becoming a responsible corporation Strategic Corporate Responsibility shows how to implement a systemic and integrative approach for bringing Corporate Responsibility (CR) into the organization as a whole, embedding CR thinking into the entire business. "

ACES

Summary
"This anthology is intended to serve as a ice-breaker between social scientists and industrial ecologists whose background is likely to be in science or engineering. Among the topics are ecology in the social sciences, the social embeddedness of industrial symbiosis linkages in Puerto Rico industrial regions, sustainable supply chain managements, and exploring the dynamics of industrial ecosystems."

Prairie Research Institute

Summary
"Corporations are under increasing pressure from customers, investors, employees, legislators, banks, and insurance companies to embrace social and environmental responsibility. But Wall Street demands quarterly results, a stringent return on investment, and a short payback period. Up until now, there’s been very little evidence expressed in business language showing the benefits of the 'triple bottom line' relevant to the short- and long-term priorities of senior executives. So how can these seemingly incompatible goals be accomplished at the same time?"

Available via I-Share request

Summary
"The Triple Bottom Line is the groundbreaking book that charts the rise of sustainability within the business world and shows how and why financial success increasingly goes hand in hand with social and environmental achievement. Andrew Savitz chronicles both the real problems that companies face and the innovative solutions that can come from sustainability. His is a hard-line approach to bottom-line fundamentals that is re-making companies around the globe."

Main Stacks

"A playbook for companies that want to succeed in a world where integrity and transparency trump slick slogans. This is a gem that should be required reading-not just for so-called green marketers, but for any marketer who wants to succeed in today's economy, and tomorrow's." - Joel Makower, Executive Editor-GreenBiz.com

ACES

Summary
"This book provides a geo-economic analysis of marketing and sustainable development. In particular, it traces the growth of marketing/markets and ecological complex as well as patterns of urban, rural and agricultural marketing. Analysing the impact of marketing activity on the environment, the book also looks into the problems of marketing and finally put forth a strategy for development which is ecologically sustainable."

ACES

Summary
"Sustainability Marketing: A Global Perspective provides a new sustainability-oriented vision of marketing for the twenty-first century. It has a consumer marketing focus with an emphasis on integrating sustainability principles into both marketing theory and the practical decision making of marketing managers."

ACES

Summary
"To help readers make a lasting impression in their marketing efforts, Martin & Schouten provides the concepts behind valuable–and lucrative–sustainable marketing strategies."

Main Stacks Govt. Documents

Summary
"The text includes a summary of existing research on consumers' attitudes towards green products; an analysis of various marketing strategies and campaigns from pioneers companies and mainstream groups in sectors like clothing, cosmetics, food retail, automotive, etc.; as well as key tips to communicate effectively and a practical toolbox for practitioners."

Main Stacks

Summary
"The Green Marketing Manifesto provides a roadmap on how to organize green marketing effectively and sustainably. It offers a fresh start for green marketing, one that provides a practical and ingenious approach. The book offers many examples from companies and brands who are making headway in this difficult arena, such as Marks & Spencer, Sky, Virgin, Toyota, Tesco, O2 to give an indication of the potential of this route."

ACES

Summary
"Jacquelyn Ottman applies over 20 years of green marketing lessons, demonstrating how sustainable brands tackle the challenges of this expanding global opportunity, and how and why the best succeed."

Multiple Locations

Summary
"Products might be designed so that, after their useful life, they provide nourishment for something new-either as "biological nutrients" that safely re-enter the environment or as "technical nutrients" that circulate within closed-loop industrial cycles, without being "downcycled" into low-grade uses (as most "recyclables" now are)."

ACES

Summary
"Drawing on the experiences of dozens of major corporations, Design for Environment, 2nd Edition, offers a business rationale for developing sustainable products and processes, as well as a comprehensive toolkit for practicing DFE in the context of product life-cycle management."

ACES

Summary
"Packaging is ephemeral. Its purpose is to be wasted once we've removed the product it contains. While we are encouraged to reduce, recycle and re-use, Designing for Re-Use proposes that domestic re-use is the Cinderella of this trinity, because it is under-researched and little understood."

Architecture & Art Closed Stacks

Summary
"This book looks at one of the strongest trends in fashion, towards the production of desirable and well-designed apparel and accessories with a conscience. Eco Fashion shows the range of sustainable and ethical products available around the globe and explains the stories behind them, as well as showing how and where they make a difference."

Architecture & Art

Summary
"In a comprehensive survey of this highly pertinent subject, Sandy Black examines the way the fashion industry is changing to accommodate the environmental concerns of the twenty first century. She exposes the naked truth behind the clothes we wear, exploring alternate practices and assessing their feasibility."

Architecture & Art

Architecture & Art

Summary
"A primer that equips the contemporary architect to deal with the profession's most important challenge: designing buildings for sustainability. It sets out the environmental, professional and governmental context underlying sustainable principles, as well as outlining the science, measures and design solutions that designers need to adopt."

Engineering

Summary
"Sustainability and Design Ethics provides a systematic value analysis that makes a reasoned argument the rethinking of current design methods and the values and ethics which guide them."

Main Stacks

ACES

Summary
"This book explores the specific techniques and methods that graphic designers are employing worldwide to make their business a more earth-friendly one. It also features over 200 examples of these earth-friendly designs. Mainly focusing on printed materials, but also showcasing examples of trade show environments, re-purposed designs and the new 'anti-packaging' trend."

Architecture & Art

Summary
"The Designer's Atlas of Sustainability explores the basic principles, concepts, and practice of sustainable design in a visually sophisticated and engaging style. The book tackles not only the ecological aspects of sustainable design-designers' choice of materials and manufacturing processes have a tremendous impact on the natural world-but also the economic and cultural elements involved."

Architecture & Art Closed Stacks

Summary
"The practical reference guide on the integration of sustainable, high performance design covers major sustainability issues on an introductory level. Newly updated, this edition emphasizes the project process, cost implications, case studies, and lessons learned from HOK's wide range of project experiences."