Skip to Main Content University Library LibGuides

Sustainable Business & Subsistence Markets

Resources on environmentally and economically sustainable business practices, particularly in developing and subsistence markets.

Search Strategies

Using good search strategies can find more relevant information. Note: Different databases may use slightly different methods. 

These strategies are particularly helpful for searching databases such as Business Source Ultimate. 

Name Description Example
Boolean Operators Use AND, OR, NOT to limit, expand, or exclude search results. 

AND: Limits search results. Only includes results that contain all search terms. 

  • mental health AND college students 
  • bioethics AND law

OR: Expands search results. Includes results that contain at least one of your search terms. Useful with synonyms.

  • climate change OR global warming
  • woodburning OR pyrography

NOT: Removes results with your selected word/phrase.

  • primates NOT orangutans
  • therapy NOT physical
  • football NOT soccer
Quotation Marks Use quotation marks to search an exact phrase. Words are searched in the order they appear.
  • "medical cannabis" 
  • "security theater"
  • "performance enhancing drugs"
Truncation/Stemming Searches variations of the same word. To do this, place an asterisk at the end of the word.
  • teach* will search teach, teacher, teaching, teachable
  • child* will search child, children, childhood, childcare
Wildcard Place a question mark where more than one character could be used. 

  • col?r will search 'color' and 'colour'

  • wom?n will search 'women' and 'woman'

Search Terms

Venn diagrams of the boolean operators: AND is an overlap of the circle, OR is both of the circles and the overlap, and NOT is only one of the circles not including the overlap.

Keyword Searching

Dictionary of Sustainable Management

The Dictionary of Sustainable Management is a wiki-style dictionary of sustainability and business-related terms maintained by the Presidio Graduate School.

Potential Keywords For Your Search:
  • business environmental stewardship
  • business sustainability
  • ecological marketing
  • entrepreneurship
  • environmental economics; environmental responsibility; environmental law
  • fair trade
  • green business
  • greenwashing
  • industrial ecology
  • subsistence, economic development, developing economies, poverty,
  • sustainability; sustainable development; sustainability planning
  • triple bottom line

Google Translate

Google Translate
Google Translate offers several browser-based tools for on-the-go translation of foreign language websites and resources, including the ability to upload documents for translation and language-specific browser plug-ins. Language coverage varies. 

NOTE: translation may not be exact or take cultural inferences into account.