This resource is not intended to be an exhaustive list of resources in the specified areas. On the contrary, it serves as a starting point for research and a guide to important and substantive works in respective areas.
Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
This alphabetical directory of over three thousand Native American and Canadian painters is the first comprehensive biographical listing of Native artists to be published in more than twenty-five years. Built upon the directory established by Jeanne O. Snodgrass-King in 1968, it more than doubles the number of artists listed in that directory. Lester's new directory includes many artists who have significantly progressed in their careers in the intervening years, as well as hundreds more who have appeared on the art scene since 1968. It will be an invaluable tool for collectors, museums, and galleries with an interest in Native American and Canadian painting.
Architecture & Art [non-circulating]
The St. James Guide to Native North American Artists profiles 400 prominent artists of the 20th century. Each entry provides a biographical profile; lists individual and group exhibitions, public galleries and museums with works by the artist in permanent collections; includes a bibliography of books and articles by and about the entrant; and presents an authoritative, critical perspective on the artist's work written by a specialist.
Architecture & Art Reference
Everett, a critic and arts writer in New York, and Zorn (anthropology, U. of Central Florida) present biographical sketches of 70 painters, sculptors, photographers, filmmakers, installation artists, weavers, and other artists in Canada and the US. The series covers artists in North America of ancestry other than European.