Iconography
- Dictionary of Classical Mythology byCall Number: 292.130321 B413DISBN: 0874363055Publication Date: 1980-12-01Reference [non-circulating]
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints by Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 0585110344Publication Date: 1997-01-01UIUC Online Collection- Barockthemen, eine Auswahl von Verzeichnissen zur Ikonographie des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts byCall Number: 709.032 P62B1974Publication Date: 1974Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
3 vols -- Note: Original edition (1956 in 2 vols.) available in the main stacks
A fundamental reference work for the study and identification of iconographic themes of the 17 th and 18 th centuries. Also includes many examples of Renaissance art. Volume 1 is devoted to Christian iconography; Volume 2 lists secular themes – classical mythology, Greek and Roman history, allegories, legends and folktales, general history, etc.; Volume 3 contains plates, artist, artist's dates, medium, location, and bibliography. In German. - Signs & symbols in Christian art byCall Number: 704.9482 F381SPublication Date: 1961Reference [non-circulating]
Contains alphabetically arranged sections on animals; birds, and insects; flowers, trees and plants; earth and sky; the human body; the Old Testament; St. John the Baptist; the Virgin; Christ; the Trinity; Madonna and Angels; the Saints; radiances, letters, colors and numbers; religious dress, objects and artifacts. Line drawings and illustrations from the Kress Collection. 
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by Call Number: 704.946 H14d2008ISBN: 9780813343938Publication Date: 2007-12-25Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
Dictionary of the principal themes and symbols of Western art. Devoted mainly to Christian and classical subjects, including persons. Does not list works of art.- Iconographie de l'art chrétien byCall Number: 704.94 R23IPublication Date: 1955-59Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
The scope ranges from Early Christian representations to those of the 20 th century, with emphasis on Western medieval art. Since each subject heading is translated in from two to eight other languages, it also constitutes a polyglot dictionary of terms. Examples are chosen from painting, sculpture, tapestries, glass, and enamels. - Iconclass : an iconographic classification system byCall Number: 025.467 W154iPublication Date: 1973-Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
A detailed iconographic classification system organized by Wall and other Dutch art historians. The general divisions are: Supernatural; Nature; Man; Society; Abstracts; History; The Bible; Sagas, legends and tales; Classical mythology 
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by Call Number: Q. 709.003 En19ISBN: 9781579580094Publication Date: 1998-04-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
2 volumes
Numerous contributors present essays on artists' uses and interpretations of some 120 narratives and themes from mythology, religion, and literature in various time periods, cultures, and art forms. Covering such concepts as abandonment, communion, marginality, misfortune, and sacrifice, the essays focus not on personages, but on their actions, the situations in which they find themselves, and the concepts they represent. The authors discuss these themes in terms of their incorporation in major iconographic narratives, their use by less well- known artists, their historical background, and their representation in allegories, gestures, costumes, composition, and other forms of visual expression. The editor includes indexes of ancient, classical, and Judeo- Christian persons, places, and concepts; references to the Bible and other sacred books; artists and works of art; authors and composers; literary texts; and other topics.
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s by Call Number: 700 R272OISBN: 0195049985Publication Date: 1993-05-27Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
