Biographical Reference Sources
The Ricker collection consists of both very general and extremely specific biographical reference sources. Most sources are located in ARR – Ricker's Reference Room. Browse 703 - 709 or 920.
For more resources...
American
- Who was who in American art, 1564-1975 : 400 years of artists in America byCall Number: Q. 709.73 F186w1999Publication Date: 1999Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
3 vols - Artists of the American West byCall Number: 709.22 D32AISBN: 0804006075Publication Date: 1974-07-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
3 vols - Dictionary of American Sculptors byCall Number: Q. 730.973 D561ISBN: 0938290037Publication Date: 1984-01-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
- Biographies in American ceramic art : 1870-1970 byCall Number: Q. 738.0973 F774bPublication Date: 2010Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
Forster began to create an index for a companion text, Alternative American Ceramics, 1870-1955; The Other American Art Pottery, and then decided to expand the scope of his project. He states in his introduction that he added another 15 years (making an even 100) and extended the scope beyond "enthusiasts, educators, artist potters, technicians, and administrators" to include "significant owners, potters, artists, and other employees engaged in ceramic production as a business or livelihood, and including so-called unaffiliated studio potters'...." The result is this volume in which 2,000 individuals are briefly profiled in alphabetically arranged entries consisting of significant dates and affiliations. - Two Hundred Fifty Years of Afro-American Art byCall Number: 016.7040396073 IG6TISBN: 0835213765Publication Date: 1981-10-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
- Jacobsen's biographical index of American artists byCall Number: Q. 709.73 J1569ISBN: 0960445609Publication Date: 1981-01-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
4 vols
Artists native to the United States or working in the United States from 1606 to 2002
Asian
- An Index Dictionary of Chinese Artist, Collectors and Connoisseurs, with Character Identification by Modified Stroke Count byCall Number: 700.922 SE96IISBN: 0810820919Publication Date: 1988-01-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
Including over 5000 Chinese names and biographies from the Tʻang dynasty through the modern period."
Includes indexes - Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Art byCall Number: 709.52 B52ISBN: 0870114883Publication Date: 1982-02-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
Contemporary
Contemporary Artists by Call Number: Q. 927 C7672002ISBN: 1558624074Publication Date: 2001-10-01Architecture & Art Closed Stacks [non-circulating]
For more than 1000 artists, includes exhibitions, bibliographies, galleries representing them, signed critical essays, and sometimes original artist's statements.
Contemporary Designers by Call Number: Q. 745.20904 C7671997ISBN: 1558621849Publication Date: 1996-11-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
International coverage of designers of interiors and fashion as well as well as commercial designers, photographers, and film art directors.
Latin American artists
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era by Call Number: Q. 704.0368 Sh646lISBN: 0786410574Publication Date: 2003-01-22Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
This is a comprehensive reference book to more than 12,700 painters, sculptors, graphic artists and architects in Latin America (Mexico, Central America, South America) and the Caribbean region active during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Entries include the artists' years, countries and bibliographies. Also included are brief biographical information, stylistic notes, a record of each artist's exhibitions and a list of collections where his or her works can be seen. There are 89 photographs of selected works that supplement the entries. The introduction includes brief informative background essays on the individual countries and their artists.
St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists by Call Number: 704.036800904 St1ISBN: 1558624708Publication Date: 2002-03-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
This guide provides critical analysis of approximately 400 20th-century Hispanic artists from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Central and South America, and American artists of Spanish descent. Detailed entries typically include biographical information; a list of individual exhibitions and a select list of group exhibitions; lists of museums and public galleries holding works by a given artist in their permanent collections; publications by and about the artist; a statement by the artist about his/her work (as available); and more- Latin American Artists of the Twentieth Century byCall Number: Q. 709.80904 L349ISBN: 0810961210Publication Date: 1993-10-01Architecture and Art Library
Published on the occasion of the exhibition "Latin American Artists of the Twentieth Century," organized by Waldo Rasmussen, Director, International Program, The Museum of Modern Art, New York, June 6-September 7, 1993 
Artists from Latin American Cultures by Call Number: 709.2368 C76aISBN: 0313315442Publication Date: 2002-10-30Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
This biographical dictionary profiles 75 artists from the United States and 13 nations of Central and South America and the Caribbean, including painters, sculptors, photographers, muralists, printmakers, installation artists, and performance artists.- Contemporary Latin American Artists byCall Number: Q. 709.8074753 C767ISBN: 0810826445Publication Date: 1993-03-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
Rivera, Botero, Lam, Mata, Tamayo, Torres-Garcia and other internationally known artists have exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art of Latin America in the Organization of American States headquarters in Washington, D.C. The present volume documents some 380 exhibitions of about 1,000 artists held during the period 1965- 1985, and is one of the few records in the English language about Latin American artists who have exhibited in the US. Includes indexes of artists and of exhibitions by country.
Native American
The Biographical Directory of Native American Painters by Call Number: Q. 759.1025 L567BISBN: 0806199369Publication Date: 1995-09-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
This alphabetical directory of over three thousand Native American and Canadian painters is the first comprehensive biographical listing of Native artists to be published in more than twenty-five years. Built upon the directory established by Jeanne O. Snodgrass-King in 1968, it more than doubles the number of artists listed in that directory. Lester's new directory includes many artists who have significantly progressed in their careers in the intervening years, as well as hundreds more who have appeared on the art scene since 1968. It will be an invaluable tool for collectors, museums, and galleries with an interest in Native American and Canadian painting.
Contemporary Native American Artists by Call Number: 704.039707 R295CISBN: 0964150964Publication Date: 1995-01-25Architecture & Art library
Profiles over 1,000 Native American artists who are blazing new trails in the ancient arts.
St. James Guide to Native North American Artists by Call Number: Q. 704.0397 St1ISBN: 9781558622210Publication Date: 1997-09-01Architecture & Art [non-circulating]
The St. James Guide to Native North American Artists profiles 400 prominent artists of the 20th century. Each entry provides a biographical profile; lists individual and group exhibitions, public galleries and museums with works by the artist in permanent collections; includes a bibliography of books and articles by and about the entrant; and presents an authoritative, critical perspective on the artist's work written by a specialist.
Encyclopedia of Native American Artists by Call Number: 709.2397 Ev26eISBN: 9780313337628Publication Date: 2008-09-30Architecture & Art Reference
Everett, a critic and arts writer in New York, and Zorn (anthropology, U. of Central Florida) present biographical sketches of 70 painters, sculptors, photographers, filmmakers, installation artists, weavers, and other artists in Canada and the US. The series covers artists in North America of ancestry other than European.
Photography
Encyclopedia of 19th Century Photography by Call Number: Q. 770.903403 En192ISBN: 9780415972352Publication Date: 2007-08-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
The Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography is the first comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth century. It sets out to be the standard, definitive reference work on the subject for years to come. Coverage includes all the key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop from being a solution in search of a problem when first invented, to the essential communication tool, creative medium, and recorder of everyday life which it had become by the dawn of the twentieth century.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Call Number: Q. 770.90403 En19ISBN: 1579583938Publication Date: 2005-11-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
This three volume Encyclopedia presents the important developments, movements, photographers, photographic institutions, and theoretical aspects of the field along with information about equipment, techniques, and practical applications of photography. To bring this history alive for the reader, the set is illustrated in black and white throughout, and each volume contains a color plate section. A useful glossary of terms is also included. The entries in this A-Z reference work range from 1000 to 5000 words fall into six categories: Person entries: important photographers, critics, curators, collectors, theorists, and other individuals whose contribution to photography and understanding of photography is exemplary
Contemporary Photographers by Call Number: Q. 770.922 C7671995ISBN: 1558621903Publication Date: 1995-08-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
Contemporary Photographers represents world-renowned photographers of our era who have greatly influenced the medium. Biographical and critical information coupled with an inside look at the many different photographic styles allows readers to discover the lives and works of a diverse group of more than 850 international photographers.
Women Artists
Contemporary Women Artists by Call Number: Q. 709.22 C7673ISBN: 1558623728Publication Date: 1999-04-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
This single volume resource provides thorough biographical, bibliographical and critical information on 400 of the world's most prominent and influential 20th-century women artists, including important new artists. Written by a subject expert and edited for consistency, readability and appropriateness for a wide-ranging audience, essays discuss career and critical response to works.
Dictionary of Women Artists by Call Number: Q. 709.22 D561ISBN: 1884964214Publication Date: 1997-07-01Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
2 vols
Contains substantial entries on 600 fine artists born before 1945. The emphasis is historical, focusing on the Western tradition of painting and sculpture, and exploring the problems women encountered in trying to obtain adequate training and professional recognition. Introductory essays examine training opportunities, the changing conditions of work for women since the medieval period, the contribution of women to the applied arts, and training and professionalism in 19th and 20th century Europe, Russia, North America and Australasia. Entries include biographical information, a list of principle exhibitions, selected writings, a bibliography, a representative work, and a description of critical reception, professional and artistic development, individual works and philosophies, and the artist's influences, contemporaries and companions
