Refine your search
One of the major advantages of using a database like ABSEES is that you can refine your search results to reflect precisely what you want. So if you are just looking for book reviews for a particular title you can limit to reviews. As you can see there are a number of parameters that can be set. Here I was searching for materials on national identity in the Russian Federation and wanted only articles.
ABSEES
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies This link opens in a new windowThe American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies is a database of citations to articles published in North America and primarily in English since 1990. Many of the more recent citations have links to full text. This source was originally published as a bibliography and, for many years it was the only source to scholarly articles on the region. It remains one of the most important indexes for our field. The bibliography has been published since the 1950s.
The question you be asking is why bother with this if you can get results via Google Scholar or even Easy Search. ABSEES will be searching scholarly journals on the Slavic field where Easy Search will definitely search scholarly journals but not necessarily the specialized journals devoted to Slavic studies. So it rather depends on what you are seeking. If you want a view of Russian national identity in the context of American politcal science - use Easy Search. If however, you want that topic in the context of Slavic scholarly research you might want to start with ABSEES.
Subject Guide
International and Area Studies Library
Room 317
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801