Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

UIUC Archives - Middle East and North Africa: Algeria

Middle East and North Africa related content in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Archives

Description

This section includes information about archives related to Algeria.

Jack R. & Harry V. Harlan Papers, 1905-85

Link to Jack R. & Harry V. Harlan Papers, 1905-85

Service Location

Boxes

Room 146 Main Library, Prior Request Preferred

1-18

Room 146 Main Library 19

Papers of Jack R. Harlan (1917-1998), Professor of Agronomy & Plant Genetics (1966-84), member of Crop Evolution Laboratory staff (1967-84) & USDA Near Eastern expeditions (1948, 1960), & Professor of Agronomy, Okla. State Univ. (1950-66), including Harlan's Grasslands of Oklahoma (ca. 1957, unpubl.) & dissertation "A Survey of the Genetic Variability in the Bromus carinatus Complex" (1942); collection lists, field notes & photographs from 1948 expedition to Turkey, Syria, Iraq, & Lebanon, 1960-61 expedition to Iran, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, & Ethiopia, & 1967-72 expeditions to Africa, India, Australia, & the Philippines. The series includes genetics research correspondence about barley, corn, rice, & sorghum, recommendations for employment & awards, identifications of samples, responses to inquiries from anthropologists, correspondence with botanists & agronomists about the origin, evolution & dissemination of sorghum, wheat, barley, maize, & sesame; classification & numbering of collection, conservation of genetic materials, international cooperation, disease resistance, origins of Southwest Asian agriculture & USDA quarantine policies. Correspondents include George Beadle, Otto Frankel (Div. of Plant Industry, Canberra, Australia), J.B. Hawkes (Univ. of Birmingham), C.A. Reed (Univ. of IL-Chicago), Daniel Zohary (Hebrew Univ., Jerusalem) & Leon Croizat (Caracas, Venezuela). The series includes correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, & publications of Harry V. Harlan, USDA Agronomist (1909-44), relating to barley, crop exploration, & production & travel in the Philippines (1906-09); Peru (1913-14); Eastern Europe (1919); Algeria, India, & Ethiopia (1923); Necholai I. Vavilov & research stations in AZ & ID. This series also includes a VHS videotape copy of a film showing the construction of the addition (1977) to the Physics Research Laboratory.

Contents Information

Box 3: 

  • Correspondence, Algeria, February 16-April 24, 1923
    • Barley studies, letters and diary

Box 5:

  • Photographs
    • Algeria, 1923

Box 13: 

  • "A Caravan Journey through Abyssinia," The National Geographic Magazine, June 1925
    • Glass slides--Box A

                         1.   map of Northern Africa--Algeria

                         22. Algerian boy

                         24. 3 Algerian boys

                         25. 3 Algerian girls

                         26. 3 Algerian women

                         27. Algerian woman in elaborate dress

                         28. Algerian woman eating date