Skip to Main Content

University Library

LibGuides

ARTD 570 Design Research Methodology

This guide supplements the library session for ArtD 570 done on Februray 7, 2019. It provides links to databases and handouts used for this class, and other information.

Literature Databases

The University Library subscribes to many literature databases that comprehensively cover multidisciplinary and focused subject areas. 

 

These databases are available for use in our libraries by anyone, and off campus IP computers and laptops to faculty, students and staff with netid login and password. 

Tip: When working on a non-campus computer, faculty, students, and staff can use the campus' Virtual Private Networking (VPN) . While logged in to it, your computer or laptop is recognized as if you are on campus, with quick and easy access to our literature databases and other electronic resources.  Go to https://techservices.illinois.edu/services/virtual-private-networking-vpn  for information and download with netid and password.

 

The next section has links to the databases used in this session.

It is followed by a link to the A-Z List of all of our University Library literature databases.

Literature databases used for this exercise

(in order of presentation)

Web of Science
Web of Science (WoS) offers access to a variety of abstract and citation databases that support scientific and scholarly research. The Web of Science Core Collection includes Science Citation
Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. The Specialist Collection offers access to subject-specific databases such as Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS Citation Index, CAB Abstracts, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. The Regional Collection includes the Korean Journal Database, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index (Latin American lit). The Data Collection has Data Citation Index and Patient Collection has Derwent innovations Index. See http://clarivate.libguides.com/webofscienceplatform for more details.
 
Scopus
Scopus is an abstracts and citations database of peer-reviewed literature. It indexes nearly 23,000 peer-reviewed journals (including open access journals), trade journals, book serials and non-serials, conference proceedings, and patents. Scopus is multidisciplinary covering life and health sciences, agriculture, environment, engineering, technology, social sciences, landscape architecture, urban planning, and more.
 

Art & Architecture Source

Art & Architecture Source surveys over 770 full text journals, 470 peer-reviewed journals, and over 220 full text books. The database has a strong international coverage with periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and has been designed for use by art scholars and artists. Many A&A subject areas, including landscape architecture, photography, art history, commercial & decorative art, and sculpture.. There are 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk.
 
Book Citation Index
The Book Citation Index is designed to enhance the powerful discovery and analysis capabilities of Web of Knowledge by incorporating comprehensive book citation data. Researchers can search for and identify the most relevant and esteemed literature along with peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings already indexed in Web of Knowledge, enabling users to navigate the links in citations across books, journals and proceedings. Books are indexed at the chapter level, resulting in improved searches and deeper insights into the citing behavior between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

 

We have more databases !!

Check out more library multi-disciplinary and subject literature databases available to campus faculty, students, and staff via our A-Z Databases page.   The A-Z Databases webpage allows you to search for them by subjects, database types, vendors/providers, or keyword or title word search.  Try it and see !

 

Databases by Subject
Library multi-disciplinary and subject literature databases available to campus faculty, students, and staff via icard login/password, VPN, or campus IP.