Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

ARTD 570 Design Research Methodology

This guide supplements the library session for ArtD 570 done on Februray 7, 2019. It provides links to databases and handouts used for this class, and other information.

Web of Science example

Web of Scienhttp://www.library.illinois.edu/proxy/go.php?url=http://webofknowledge.com/WOSce (WOS) provides access to a suite of databases. For this class we will focus on a component of its Core Collection – Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

 

From Web of Science:

Select a database > Web of Science Core Collection

More settings > deselect everything but Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Enter ‘perfect’ article name – business of urban coolness

 

For this example we will search for the article “The Business of Urban Coolness: Emerging Markets for Street Art” from 2018. 

 

Here is an example of how a title with articles that cite it displays in the search Results list .....

web of science results list times cited example

 

 

.... and here is how the record of the title looks ...

 

web of science record times cited example

 

 

There is a link to the 49 Cited References that are referenced in the article.   Clicking on the ‘49’ link will display a list of records for those titles.

Prominently on the right side you will handily see the Times Cited for these records for references cited by the articles, including zero if there are none. 

Notice reference number 2  has 3,176 Times Cited!!  Must be important !    Although it has “Title: [not available]”, see that under the “By:  “ field is a book title, The Field of Cultural Production: Essays on Art and Literature.  If you click on the navy Discover box > VuFind (Library Catalog) you will see that we have this book in our collection!

It is brand new so there are no Times Cited, but you can see that in WOS, all records have this link so you can easily see if and how many times this title has been cited on both the record in the Results list and the title record.