Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff Achievments
Library Building Project
ILS Coordination Team
Make a Gift
Libraries & Hours
Online Reference Collection
Digital Library Collections
Setup & Use My Account
Returns & Recalls
Fines & Fees
Ask a Librarian
Savvy Researcher Workshops
Research Data Service
Distance Learners & Instructors
Other Campus Libraries
Access & Connectivity
Virtual & Augmented Reality
COVID-19 Updates and Resources
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Site Navigation Menu
Decorative Arts: Furniture
Search this Guide
Decorative Arts: Furniture: Asian Furniture
This guide is intended to assist researchers in finding information on decorative furnishings from the Medieval era through the present day.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Guides
North American Furniture
Latin American Furniture
Collections Spanning Centuries
UIUC Museum Holdings
Asian Furniture (arranged in descending order by publication date)
Call Number: 749.0951 Z613c:E2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-03
Architecture & Art
A brief introduction to the history of Chinese furniture.
Ming Furniture in the Light of Chinese Architecture
Call Number: Q. 749.0951 H192m
Publication Date: 2005-01-19
A study of Ming furniture in regards to its functionality and style. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Wooden Wonders : Tibetan furniture in secular and religious life
David Kamansky; Pacific Asia Museum Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Q. 749.09515 W854
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
This catalog of an exhibition at the Pacific Asia Museum, Nov. 13, 2004-Feb. 13, 2005, includes essays, bibliographical references, and an index.
Luxury Goods from India: the art of the Indian cabinetmaker
Amin Jaffer; David Esterly; Victoria and Albert Museum Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Q. 684.160954 J18l
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
A study of Indian cabinetmaking, based on the collection of the Victoria & Albert Museum. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Austere Luminosity of Chinese Classical Furniture
Call Number: Q. 749.2951 H192a
Publication Date: 2001-10-30
A study of furniture from the Ming and Qing dynasties (mid-14th through early-20th century). Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Beyond the Screen: Chinese furniture of the 16th and 17th centuries
Call Number: Q. 749.2951 B455b
Publication Date: 2000-08-02
Catalog of an exhibition opened at the Museum of Fine Arts on May 17, 1996. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Connoisseurship of Chinese Furniture : Ming and early Qing dynasties
Call Number: Q. 749.2951 SH69M:E
Publication Date: 1990-09-01
A two-volume introduction to Chinese furniture from the mid-14th through early-20th century. Includes a glossary and an index.
Traditional Japanese Furniture : a definitive guide
Kazuko Koizumi; Alfred T. Birnbaum (Translator)
Call Number: Q. 749.2952 K829W:E; NK2671 .K6413 1986
Publication Date: 1986-07-15
Architecture & Art; Undergraduate Library
A history of Japanese furniture. Includes an index.
Korean Furniture: excellence in woodworking and design
Edward R. Wright; Mansil Pai
Call Number: Q. 749.29519 W931K
Publication Date: 1985-10-01
A survey of Korean furniture. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Ancient Indian furniture
K. Krishna Murthy
Call Number: 749.234 K898A
Publication Date: 1982
A history of Indian furniture from the 2nd century B.C. to the 6th-7th centuries A.D.
Latin American Furniture
Mar 25, 2020 3:33 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
Art & Architecture