Introduction
This page collects selected performance and practice materials available at MPAL! For suggestions to help you do some searching on your own for related material, refer to the call number and subject heading recommendations at the bottom of the page. As always, if you have any trouble finding material in the Library or navigating the catalog, don't hesitate to ask at the service desk!
Materials Available at MPAL
Below are a few examples of the oboe bibliographies and repertoire guides available in MPAL or by request through the online catalog.
-
Music for Oboe, 1650-1800
by
Call Number: ML128.O2 H291992This revised edition lists over 10,000 works for the oboe, English horn, oboe da caccia, and all of their variants for the period up to ca. 1800. Each entry includes the title, opus or register number, date, exact instrumentation, location of the original work, existing modern editions, and historical notes of interest. -
Music for Oboe, Oboe d'Amore, and English Horn: a bibliography of materials at the Library of Congress
by
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating ; ML128.O2 G43This resource is a reference book listing the bibliographic catalog of chamber music and instrumental music for the oboe and English horn held by the Music Division of the Library of Congress. This is a non-circulating resource in MPAL that can be found in the reference section of the library. -
The Index of Oboe Music Including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas
by
Call Number: ML128.O2 W44 (Oak Street Library)This resource is a bibliography of oboe music compiled and edited by Wayne Wilkins, with particular emphasis on providing a bibliography of sonatas from the Baroque era for oboe trio. In order to access this resource, a request must be sent in online to the Oak Street Library. -
Oboen-Bibliographie
by
Call Number: ML128.O2 H7 (Oak Street Library)This resource is a bibliography of oboe music in two volumes, of which MPAL has the first volume. In order to access this resource, a request must be sent online to the Oak Street Library.
The following are some examples of materials on oboe instruction and study that can be found in MPAL and online.
-
The Oboe, How It Works
by
Call Number: ML940 .P35 2024This book provides students and music teachers with a comprehensive overview of the oboe from its origin to its use and important facts not covered in traditional method books. It can be used concurrently with any method book, expanding the learning experience beyond "learning how to play" to include all topics relevant to the oboes. -
The Art of Oboe Playing
by
Call Number: 788.707 SP79A (Oak Street Library)The Art of Oboe Playing is actually two books in one -- one part by Robert Sprenkle on playing the oboe, and another part by David Ledet on reed-making. Sprenkle was the renowned teacher of some of the finest oboists, among them Robert Bloom of the Rochester Philharmonic. Ledet has an exceptionally broad professional background, including assistant band director, teacher of oboe and theory, and administrator. -
Oboe Unbound: contemporary techniques
by
Call Number: MT360 V36O2This resource seeks to open up the tradition-bound assumptions of the oboe's capabilities. Not only does it include descriptions of the instrument's standard technique (such as range, reeds, and use of vibrato); but it provides a discussion of the many techniques that have recently been utilized (such as multiphonics, microtones, altered timbres, extended range, and many others) along with numerous musical examples and hundreds of fingerings. -
Méthode Complète de Hautbois
by
Call Number: MT362 .B37C6 1948This resource is a method book consisting of two volumes written in French that provides exercises and etudes meant for oboists to use to develop various performance techniques and abilities, such as articulation and style. -
Teacher's Guide to the Oboe
by
Call Number: 788.707 L528TThis resource is a guide designed for instrumental teachers who are not primarily oboists with the intention of helping them resolve potential difficulties with their oboe students. The guide covers such topics as selecting an oboe, care and maintenance, and various performance techniques.
-
Learn to Play the OboeThis website was founded in 2011 by oboist James Turnbell with the purpose of providing resources for those who are looking to find out more about the oboe and how to learn about playing the instrument. The website has various articles introducing the oboe as well as numerous audio and video recordings. The website also includes a brief history of the oboe, a repertoire and listening guide, guides on finding a teacher and choosing an instrument and reed supplier, and an online discussion forum.