Introduction
This page collects selected performance and practice materials available at MPAL! For suggestions to help you do some searching on your own for related material, refer to the call number and subject heading recommendations at the bottom of the page. As always, if you have any trouble finding material in the Library or navigating the catalog, don't hesitate to ask at the service desk!
Materials Available at MPAL and Online
Below are a few examples of the bassoon bibliographies and repertoire guides available in MPAL or by request through the online catalog.
-
Music for unaccompanied solo bassoon : an annotated bibliography
by
Call Number: ML128.B26 B332Publication Date: 1990Contains entries for over 150 pieces composed specifically for the bassoon as well as several transcriptions, and pieces for unspecified instruments that are well suited to the bassoon. For each work there is a formal bibliographic entry, information surrounding the genesis of the work and any audio recordings of it, analytical information, and general comments. -
-
Bassoon bibliography = Bibliographie du basson = Fagott Bibliographie
by
Call Number: ML128.B26 K63Publication Date: 1994 -
The Paris Conservatoire and the contest solos for bassoon
by
Call Number: ML128.B26 F6Publication Date: 1988
The following are some examples of materials on bassoon instruction and study that can be found in MPAL and online.
-
The Bassoon, How It Works
by
Call Number: ML950 .P35 2024This book provides students and music teachers with a comprehensive overview of the bassoon from its origin to its use and important facts not covered in traditional method books. It can be used concurrently with any method book, expanding the learning experience beyond "learning how to play" to include all topics relevant to the bassoon. -
Contemporary Techniques for the Bassoon: Multiphonics
by
Call Number: MT402 .S26C6 2014Publication Date: 2014This resource includes: - a summary of the distinction between monovalent and polyvalent fingerings - notation suggestions - pitch content for each of the 271 reliable multiphonic fingerings - embouchure suggestions - a table of multiphonic fingerings categorized by prominent pitch - a list of selected compositions that include bassoon multiphonics. -
Essentials of bassoon technique (German system)
by
Call Number: 788.807 C786EPublication Date: 1968 -
-
-
Bassoon reed making including bassoon repair, maintenance, and adjustment, and an approach to bassoon playing
by
Call Number: 788.8 P81BPublication Date: 1969
-
Music and the BassoonDeveloped by the University of Texas at Austin, Music and the Bassoon is the first comprehensive bassoon method available online, free of charge. The site includes 360 arrangements of traditional melodies and classics, as well as original compositions and scales, organized into 50 pedagogically sequenced units for beginning through advanced bassoonists.