Introduction
This page collects selected performance and practice materials available at MPAL! For suggestions to help you do some searching on your own for related material, refer to the call number and subject heading recommendations at the bottom of the page. As always, if you have any trouble finding material in the Library or navigating the catalog, don't hesitate to ask at the service desk!
Flute Bibliographies & Repertoire Guides
Below are a few examples of the flute bibliographies and repertoire guides available in MPAL.
Flute Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog by Call Number: ML128.F7 B63This resource is an annotated catalog that, unlike previous handbooks within the flute repertoire, is devoted entirely to the works of women, making it ideal for the flutist wishing to perform music composed by women.
Flute Music of the 18th Century: An Annotated Bibliography by Call Number: ML128.F7 V371985This resource is an annotated bibliography of instrumental works for the flute from the 18th century. The book is separated into two indexes, with one listing the works alphabetically by composer and the other grouping the works together based on their instrumental combinations.
Flute Repertoire Catalogue: 10,000 Titles by Call Number: ML128.F7 V37This resource is a repertoire guide for instrumental works for the flute along with works that include vocal parts, studies, methods and instruction books, various types of literature, and publisher listings. There are two sections listing instrumental works for the flute, with one arranged alphabetically by composer and the other by the instrumental combination.
A Handbook of Literature for the Flute: Compilation of Graded Method Materials, Solos, and Ensemble Music for Flutes by Call Number: ML128.F7 P341978This resource is the revised 3rd edition of an annotated list of solos, graded method materials, reference reading, flute ensembles, and music for alto flute, piccolo and bass flute. This resource has over 3500 entries, representing more than 1700 composers and authors for the flute.
Repertoire Catalogue: Piccolo, Alto Flute, Bass Flute by Call Number: ML128.F7 M86This resource is a bibliography of works for piccolo, alto flute, or bass flute, whether solo or in various instrumental combinations, including around 900 works for flute choir or flute orchestra.
Flute Instruction and Study Materials
The following are some examples of materials on flute instruction and study that can be found in MPAL and online.
The Simple Flute by Call Number: MT340 D43S5This resource is an English translation of the French work Une Simple Flute by distinguished flutist and teacher Michel Debost that acts as an introduction to playing the flute. This alphabetically arranged compendium of advice and insight covers essential topics such as breathing, articulation, and tone, but also explores "jawboning," "finger phrasing," "the little devils," and other aspects of flute playing.
The Virtuoso Flute-Player by Call Number: MT342 T76A92This resource is the English translation of Tutor for Playing the Flute (1791) by Johann George Tromlitz. The most explicit of the eighteenth-century tutors for flute-playing, it now serves as a record of instrumental practice as well as a useful guide to the performance of German classical music.
The Flute Audition Book: Complete Original Orchestral Flute Parts by Call Number: MT346 F58This resource is a compilation of complete original first flute parts for standard repertoire works by such composers as Hindemith, Kodály, Orff, Rodrigo, and Stravinsky.
Jazz Conception: 21 Solo Etudes for Jazz Phrasing, Interpretation, and Improvisation: Flute by Call Number: MT345 .S65J3This resource is a compilation of etudes based on jazz standards and blues meant to teach flute players about the language of jazz. There is an accompanying CD to this resource that includes two tracks for each etude, one with the soloist playing with the rhythm section and the other without the soloist.
Méthode Complète de Flûte by Call Number: MT342 T341958This resource is a flute method book covering various aspects of flute performance, including general technique, ornaments, tonguing, and style. The book includes daily exercises as well as progressive studies and more difficult passages for practice.
- FluteInfo.comFluteInfo.com is a website for flutists of all abilities, providing free online resources such as articles, practice scales, sheet music, fingering charts, sight reading exercises, and theory charts for all players to use.