Introduction
This page collects selected resources with information on the history, construction, and notable performers of your instrument available at MPAL! For suggestions to help you do some searching on your own for related material, refer to the call number and subject heading recommendations at the bottom of the page. As always, if you have any trouble finding material in the Library or navigating the catalog, don't hesitate to ask at the service desk!
Materials Available at MPAL and Online
-
The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet
by
Call Number: ML945 C25The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet is a practical guide to the world of the clarinet. It offers students and performers a composite survey of the history and repertoire of the instrument from its origins to the present day, as well as practical guidance on teaching and performing. -
A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist
by
Call Number: ML102.C54 E45 2015This book written by scholar and musician Jane Ellsworth covers the clarinet's history (including both modern and historical instruments, common and rare), acoustics, construction, fingering systems and mechanisms, and techniques, as well as its more important performers, makers, and scholars. -
The Living Clarinet
by
Call Number: ML945T87 L5This resource includes a history of the clarinet, profiles of 10 composers, and a compact disc recording containing brief selections from the works of those composers. -
The Versatile Clarinet
by
Call Number: ML948 V47R6A collection of essays written by specialists and performers in the field of music and musicology, The Versatile Clarinet examines the evolution of the clarinet and clarinet playing throughout the instrument's history. The Versatile Clarinet is wide-ranging survey of the types of music that have been played on the instrument, key players, and issues facing clarinetists as they seek to expand the instrument's repertory and recognition.
-
Clarinet Information SiteThis website is a free online resource that provides information on various aspects of the clarinet, including its history, construction, and performance. This resource is meant to be used by clarinet players from all backgrounds, from beginners to experienced professionals.
-
The Clarinet in the Classical Period
by
Call Number: ML945 .R52C5 2003A comprehensive study of the clarinet in use through the classical period, 1760 to 1830, a period of intensive musical experimentation. The book provides a detailed review and analysis of construction, design, materials, and makers of clarinets. -
The Early Clarinet: A Practical Guide
by
Call Number: ML945 L28E2 & OnlineThis practical guide is intended for all clarinettists with a desire to investigate music of earlier periods. It contains practical help on both the aquisition and playing of historical clarinets, while players of modern instruments will find much advice on style, approach and techniques which combine to make up a well-grounded, period interpretation. -
The Clarinet: Some Notes upon its History and Construction
by
Call Number: 788.62 R29C1971This resource is a book analyzing the history and development of the clarinet and its construction before and after 1800. The book includes a bibliography along with lists of music and makers for the clarinet.
-
Benny Goodman and the Swing Era
by
Call Number: ML422.G65 C64 (Oak Street Library)This biography of Benny Goodman's music and times attempts to recreate the colourful music world of the 1920s and 1930s, when Goodman was hailed the King of Swing. The author offers insights into the character and music of a man who helped transform the Depression years into the Swing Era. -
Eric Dolphy: a musical biography and discography
by
Call Number: ML419.D64 S551996 & OnlineIn his tragically short life (1928-1964), Eric Dolphy was a titanic force in the development of the sixties avant-garde (or "new thing") from the hard bop of the late fifties. The searing intensity and sonic exploration of his work on alto sax, clarinets, and flute derived in part from the concurrent innovations of Coltrane, Mingus, Ornette Coleman, Cecil Taylor, and Andrew Hill, among others; previous jazz styles such as New Orleans and bop; various non-Western musics; and modern classical music (e.g., Varese). -
Clarinet Virtuosi of the Past
by
Call Number: 780.92 W528CThis resource is a book on several great performers and inventors of the clarinet, beginning with Mr Charles in Britain and ending with the celebrated English clarinetist Charles Draper.
Note: periodicals are arranged alphabetically in MPAL.
-
The ClarinetPublication Date: 1973 to PresentThe Clarinet is the official quarterly publication of the International Clarinet Association, with each issue including valuable information for everyone from professional players and teachers to amateurs and students of all levels. The journal features reviews of new CDs and sheet music, insights on teaching from leading pedagogues, the latest clarinet research, notes on the jazz scene, reports from around the world, and much more.