Introduction
This page collects selected performance and practice materials available at MPAL! For suggestions to help you do some searching on your own for related material, refer to the call number and subject heading recommendations at the bottom of the page. As always, if you have any trouble finding material in the Library or navigating the catalog, don't hesitate to ask at the service desk!
Materials Available at MPAL
Below are a few examples of the clarinet bibliographies and repertoire guides available in MPAL or by request through the online catalog.
-
Notes for Clarinetists
by
Call Number: ML128.C58 R53 2017Notes for Clarinetists: A Guide to the Repertoire offers important historical and analytical information about thirty-five of the best-known pieces written for the instrument. Numerous contextual and theoretical insights make it an essential resource for professional, amateur, and student clarinetists. -
Clarinet Solos de Concours, 1897-1980: An Annotated Bibliography
by
Call Number: ML128.C58 G33This resource is an annotated bibliography of the solos de concours commissioned by the French Ministry of Education for the annual competitive examinations of the Conservatoire National Superieur de Musique in Paris from the years 1897 to 1980. The purpose of this bibliography is to acquaint English-speaking clarinetists and wind teachers with this material and to provide information on younger and lesser-known composers. Each entry in the bibliography is arranged chronologically by the year the solo was selected and includes a brief history of the composer of each solo. -
The Index of Clarinet Music
by
Call Number: ML128.C58 W44This resource is an index of different types of clarinet music, starting with different methods and studies for the clarinet and going into music for different instrumental arrangements, from solo music up into music for clarinet with band and orchestra. -
Index of Orchestral and Operatic Excerpts for Clarinet
by
Call Number: ML128.C58 W271990This resource is an index compiled to facilitate finding specific passages from orchestral and operatic works for the clarinet. The works included in this index were chosen due to their relatively ready availability and for containing complete and varied excerpts from the repertoire. -
Klarinetten Bibliographie
by
Call Number: ML128.C58 B74This resource is a bibliography in the German language of music written for the clarinet, including pieces for solo clarinet with and without accompaniment, methods and etudes, and pieces for trio, quartet, quintet, sextet, and septet. -
Repertory of the Clarinet
by
Call Number: ML128.C58 O66This resource is a repertoire guide for clarinet music and literature, including methods, studies, etudes, and pieces for clarinet with different instrumental arrangements, from solo with or without accompaniment to clarinet with string orchestra.
The following are some examples of materials on clarinet instruction and study that can be found in MPAL and online.
-
The Clarinet, How It Works
by
Call Number: ML945 .P35 2024This book provides students and music teachers with a comprehensive overview of the clarinet from its origin to its use and important facts not covered in traditional method books. It can be used concurrently with any method book, expanding the learning experience beyond "learning how to play" to include all topics relevant to the clarinet. -
Benny Goodman for B-Flat Clarinet
by
Call Number: MT382 B36This resource is a collection of thirty instrumental solos as played by Benny Goodman, including chord changes and thorough analysis of Goodman's style. -
Clarinet Secrets: 52 performance strategies for the advanced clarinetist
by
Call Number: MT380 G56C52006Clarinet Secrets is a 52-week course of performance strategies for advanced clarinetists. This revised edition contains updated information on harmonics and other techniques, electronic music and equipment, expanded techniques for playing Klezmer music, and new and updated photos and diagrams. -
New Directions for Clarinet
by
Call Number: ML945R34 N41994The new edition has been completely rewritten, corrected where necessary, and updated. Rehfeldt has added the complete list of William O. Smith's clarinet compositions and recordings to the previous listing of his early multiphonic fingerings. -
Complete Method for the Clarinet
by
Call Number: MT385 B47C6This resource is a method book for the clarinet composed and written by William Barr, the founder and director of the Gymnase de Musique Militaire in France. The book includes descriptions of fingering and scales for the clarinet along with various exercises for developing various aspects of clarinet performance, including scale exercises, studies in phrasing and trills, and articulation exercises.
-
Jazz Conception: 21 Solo Etudes for Jazz Phrasing, Interpretation, and Improvisation: Clarinet
by
Call Number: MT385 .S65J3This resource is a compilation of etudes based on jazz standards and blues meant to teach clarinet players about the language of jazz. There is an accompanying CD to this resource that includes two tracks for each etude, one with the soloist playing with the rhythm section and the other without the soloist.
