South Asian Studies Librarian
Mara L. Thacker
(she/they)
Contact:
Main Library, Room 335
(217) 300-5717
mthacker@illinois.edu
Subjects:
South Asian Studies, Hinduism, Comics Studies, Games Studies, Global Popular Culture
Subject Guide
South Asian Studies at the Library
The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign is home to one of the largest collections for the study of South Asia. The collection is strongest in the areas of linguistics, literature, geography, history, Indology, philosophy, religious studies, cultures, societies and women studies. The University of Illinois is also home to the largest collection of South Asian comics in a research library.
For more information about the collecting priorities for South Asian Studies, you can view our collection statement here.
This guide serves as a general orientation to the rich array of South Asian Studies resources available to UIUC students, staff and faculty.
Your suggestions for new books or serials for purchase are always welcome. Please send your suggestions to Mara Thacker, South Asian Studies Librarian & Global Popular Culture Librarian.
Other Relevant LibGuides
-
Carnatic MusicThis is a guide to finding background information, books, and recordings on Carnatic music.
-
Cultural Heritage of South AsiaA comprehensive guide to World Heritage Sites in India.
-
DalitsThis is a resource guide about Dalits, the untouchable caste within Hinduism.
-
Hinduism BibliographyThis guide is intended to be a comprehensive guide to library resources, as well as freely available online resources, on the topic of Hinduism.
-
Jain StudiesA guide to beginning research in Jain Studies.
-
Rabindranath TagoreThis guide provides an overview of researching the life and works of Rabindranath Tagore.
-
South Asian Archival ResourcesThis LibGuide is a curation of Archival resources available at UIUC, specifically related to South Asia.
-
South Asian Comic CollectionThis guide accompanies our South Asian comics collection as part of an initiative to develop a national specialized research resource for students, instructors, and scholars interested in these materials.
-
South Asian HistoryThis guide provides resources for the study of South Asian history including primary and secondary resources.