Ask a Librarian!
Cultural Heritage in News
Created by
This Lib Guide has been conceptualized, designed, and created by Sonal Mithal Modi, Academic Hourly, International and Area Studies Library.
World Heritage Sites in India
This image is a graphic illustration of World Heritage sites in India, arranged in accordance with their nomination criteria. Click on the image to see a larger and easier to read version in a new window. Clicking on individual heritage sites on the image links back to a page on the LibGuide, which provides information about resources in the library relevant to that particular site.
General Books
Archaeological Sites: conservation and management by Call Number: 930.1 Ar2211ISBN: 9781606061244Publication Date: 2013-02-19Location: Architecture & Art
Cultural Heritage Management: a global perspective by Call Number: 930.1 C899ISBN: 9780813034607Publication Date: 2010-06-13Location: Social Sciences, Health, and Education
Indian world heritage sites in context by Call Number: Q. 915.404 In865ISBN: 9788173055218Location: Architecture & Art
Speaking stones: world cultural heritage sites in India by Call Number: 915.40452 Sp31ISBN: 8187780002Location: Oak Street Facility [request only]World Heritage: monumental sites by
Call Number: Q. 720.9 M796ISBN: 9231039199Publication Date: 2003-01-01Location: Main Stacks
Online Resources
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus® OnlineThe Getty Research Institute has compiled The Getty Vocabularies containing structured terminology for art, architecture, decodecorative arts, archival materials, visual surrogates, conservation, and bibliographic materials.
- Cultural Objects Name Authority® Online (CONA)CONA is an initiative of The Getty Research Institute and aims to compile titles, attributions, depicted subjects, and other metadata about works of art, architecture, and cultural heritage, both extant and historical. Metadata is gathered and linked from museum collections, special collections, archives, libraries, scholarly research, and other sources.
- Maps from the Imperial Gazetteer of India (volumes 1-24)Compiled by the Digital South Asia Library
- The University of Chicago Library Projects on South AsiaContains pre-1947 publications of the Government of India, microfilms of Indian Publications, microforms of nineteenth-century publications in South Asian Languages.
Online Image Database
- American Institute of Indian Studies(AIIS) Photographic ArchiveThe web presentation of the AIIS photographic archive is a joint venture of the AIIS and the Digital South Asia Library program. Contains four databases: architecture, sculpture, painting, numismatics.
- Ames Library of South AsiaThe collection is at the University of Minnesota and includes General Collection (maps, illustrations and photographs dating from the 18th through the 20th century); Journal of Indian Art (seventeen volume publication from 1886 and 1916); Stereoscopic Images of India.
- Beyond the TajA collection of images depicting Indian architecture and culture, primarily photographed by the late professor Robert D. MacDougall. The images are currently owned by Cornell University.
- Digital Library at the Indira Gandhi National Centre for the ArtsContains digital images, multimedia documentation
- Virtual Museum of Images and Sounds (VMIS)Combines the resources of image collection at the AIIS Center for Art and Archaeology (AIIS-CAA), and sound collection at Archives and Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE)
- British Library Online GalleryCollection of Maps, virtual books, online exhibitions
International Charters, Conventions, and Recommendations
Heritage Agencies in India
- Archaeological Survey of India--regional officesContains links to individual websites for each regional office of ASI.