Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching by Subject Heading
Browsing by subject heading is a quick, easy way to start research on a new topic. Use the Classic Catalog Quick Search and choose the "Subject Headings" option. Subject searches use Library of Congress subject headings and are thus always in English. For related subject terms, scroll through the list of results.
Suggested Subject Headings:
Tip-- to find subject headings, do a keyword search in the Catalog Quick Search using terms relating to your topic. Find a result that fits your research and the consult the consult the subject headings supplied in the catalog record.
UIUC VuFind Catalog
This catalog requires you to register with a log-in and password. Along with searching all of the holdings at the University of Illinois, it allows you to search the holdings at all I-Share libraries.
UIUC Classic Catalog
The advantage of the Classic Catalog is that you can search by subject headings, which is useful when beginning research on a new topic. (see side box)
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Worldcat is an online union catalog of over 1 billion records representing books, journals, dissertations, audio-visual materials and manuscripts in repositories worldwide.Therefore if you have the title for a book that UIUC doesn't own, check WorldCat to see if some other library does and then request the item through Interlibrary Loan.
South Asia Specific Catalogs
South Asia Union Catalogue
The South Asia Union Catalogue is an historical bibliography describing books and periodicals published in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, colonial Burma, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka from 1556 through the present and a union catalogue of holdings.
Digital South Asia Library
Reference sources, books, images, maps, and more. The Digital South Asia Library is a project of the Center for Research Libraries and the University of Chicago. Additional catalogs can be found under "Bibliographies."
Online Union Catalogue of books, theses and journals available in major university libraries in India.
Urdu Research Centre Catalog
The Urdu Research Library Consortium has made accessible the private Urdu collection of Mr. Abdus Samad Khan. Mr. Samad Khan's library is widely considered one of the world's finest for early Urdu periodicals and printed books. Holdings are well rounded across all areas of Urdu publishing. Most imprints date from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries and are unavailable at any U.S. library. There are over 26,000 monograph titles in the URLC collection.
Roja Muttiah Research Library Catalog
The Roja Muttiah Research Library (in Chennai, India) is one of the most comprehensive Tamil collections in the world. Library's notable strengths are its holdings in classical and modern literature, literary criticism, medicine, cinema and the related culture of printed works (such as song books), folklore, material by and about women, religion and philosophy, and numerous publications of historical value. The collection is comprised of more than 100,000 volumes of books, journals, and newspapers. In addition there are rich holdings of oleolithographs from Ravi Varma's workshop, nearly 30,000 journal abstracts and indexes, an enormous collection of clippings, drama notices, wedding invitations, business and family correspondence, and palm leaf manuscripts. Most of the publications date from the later half of the nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.
The Pakistan National Bibliography
A Subject Catalogue of the new Pakistani books deposited under the provisions of Copyright Law or acquired through purchase, etc. by the National Library of Pakistan, Islamabad.