Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
South Asian Languages at UIUC
Hindi, Sanskrit, and Persian are regularly offered at the University of Illinois through the Department of Linguistics. Therefore, this guide will focus on online resources for these three languages. For more information about the course offerings in these languages click here to visit the Department of Linguistics website.
Print reference materials for these languages may be found in the International and Area Studies Library in Room 321 Main Library. Other materials are available in the Main Stacks and may be searched for in the UIUC online catalog.
If you have any questions or want assistance finding other South Asian language learning materials, please contact Mara Thacker, South Asian Studies & Global Popular Culture Librarian.
Digital Dictionaries of South Asia
Digital Dictionaries of South Asia
For each of the twenty-six modern literary languages of South Asia, a panel of language experts identified key dictionaries currently in print and selected at least one multilingual dictionary for each language. For the more frequently taught languages, a monolingual dictionary also has been chosen. After identifying the best available resources, the chosen dictionaries have been converted to digital formats, available on this website.
Hindi Online Language Learning Resources
A Door Into Hindi
"A Door Into Hindi" is a free, interactive, multimedia Elementary Hindi learning website. It consists of 24 video-based lessons with accompanying scrolling texts, grammar notes, glossaries, cultural notes, “video-professors,” and other learning resources.
Hindi Language Resources
This website is a collection of links to other resources for learning Hindi including links to Hindi news sites, Devanagari fonts/editors, word lists, academic programs and more.
हिन्दी शब्दकोश LEXILOGOS - Hindi Dictionary
This dictionary provides online translation from English to Hindi and Hindi to English.
Shabdkosh | शब्दकोश
Online English Hindi dictionary and translation.
Hindi/Urdu Languages and Literature
Part of the website of Prof. Frances Pritchett at Columbia University, which includes some useful resources on Hindi/Urdu languages and literature.
Quillpad is an online service for typing in 10 South Asian languages including Hindi.. Users spell out words of local languages phonetically in Roman letters, and Quillpad’s predictive engine converts them into local-language script.
Persian Language Learning Resources
A comprehensive, online guide to Persian grammar.
Persian (Fārsī/فارسی) (Omniglot)
Provides a useful introduction to the Persian language and alphabet and provides links to other language learning resources.
Persian Online Dictionary
Persian Online Dictionary is a leading English to Persian, Persian to English and English to English online dictionary.
Sanskrit Language Learning Resources
This website provides information relating to Sanskrit and also a set of basic lessons to learn the language through self study.
The Sanskrit Library
The Sanskrit Library is a digital library dedicated to facilitating education and research in Sanskrit by providing access to digitized primary texts in Sanskrit and computerized research and study tools to analyze and maximize the utility of digitized Sanskrit text.
Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries
This web page provides access to some of the Sanskrit lexicons prepared by the Institute of Indology and Tamil Studies, Cologne University.