Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Find Journal Articles
South Asian Indexes & Databases
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
"Contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present."
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan This link opens in a new window
These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947
South Asian Periodicals Index
The South Asian Periodicals Index provides bibliographic citations to the extensive periodical literature published in and about South Asia. An ever growing resource, the South Asian Periodicals Index strives to be inclusive in terms of subject matter, geographic heritage and linguistic origin.
Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Search CRL's catalog for South Asian serials and newspapers. You can browse for newspapers by country and city of issue.
International Union List of South Asian Newspapers & Gazettes
The International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazettes has been compiled by Irene Joshi formerly of the University of Washington Libaries South Asia Section. This union list contains information on 3,000 newspapers and gazettes published in South Asia and abroad, including publications serving diaspora communities world-wide.
South Asian Newspapers
South Asian Newspapers is a collection module of the World Newspaper Archive, created in partnership with Readex, a division of NewsBank. Currently available to CRL members, the collection will provide more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922.