Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Multi-Subject Indexes and Databases
Provides full-text access to newspapers, magazines and journal articles relating to Native Americans, African Americans, Latina/os and other racial, ethnic and religious groups.
Chicano Database indexes journals, newspapers, books and book chapters. The database provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Contains citations to articles in more than 400 scholarly journals published in Latin America or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.
Academic Search Ultimate
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database indexing books, reports, conference proceedings, journals and others. Includes full-text access.
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
Full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Updated weekly. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Librarian Contact Information
Please direct comments, or requests to Lisa Romero, Liaison to Latina/o Studies.
Lisa Romero can be reached at, L-Romero@illinois.edu.