Encyclopedias
You can search the Library Catalog for print and online encyclopedias. To start your search, try searching Hispanic Americans-Encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture by
This three-volume encyclopedia describes and explains the variety and commonalities in Latina/o culture, providing comprehensive coverage of a variety of Latina/o cultural forms--popular culture, folk culture, rites of passages, and many other forms of shared expression.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781440800993Publication Date: 2013-11-26
Celebrating Latino Folklore by
Celebrating Latino Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Cultural Traditions provides a broad and comprehensive collection of descriptive information regarding all the genres of Latino folklore in the United States, covering the traditions of Americans who trace their ancestry to Mexico, Spain, or Latin America.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780313343407Publication Date: 2012-07-16
Latino America by
The overlooked history and the debates over new immigration from Mexico and Central America are illuminated by this first state-by-state history of people termed Latinos or Hispanics.
ISBN: 9780313341168Publication Date: 2008-10-30
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements (OEPoL)' provides a comprehensive source of information on the diverse historical and contemporary experiences of Latinos and Latinas in the United States.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0199744629Publication Date: 2015- The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States by
Provides access to "information about the fastest growing minority population in the United States. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780195188424Publication Date: 2005
Latinos in the American Political System: an Encyclopedia of Latinos As Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders [2 Volumes] by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781440853470Publication Date: 2019-03-14This encyclopedia comprehensively surveys the evolution of Latina/o engagement in US politics as voters, candidates, lawmakers, and public officials. It is an authoritative resource for public library patrons, high school students, and undergraduates in a variety of curricular studies, including political science, civics, American history, and Latino studies.
Encyclopedia of Critical Whiteness Studies in Education by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9789004376304Publication Date: 2020-12-10Encyclopedia of Critical Whiteness Studies in Education offers readers a broad summary of the multifaceted and interdisciplinary field of critical whiteness studies, the study of white racial identities in the context of white supremacy, in education. Featuring scholars from across the Anglophone world, this volume seeks to offer both introductions and deep dives into the ever-shifting field of critical whiteness research in education.
Encyclopedia of Queer Studies in Education by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9789004506718Publication Date: 2021-12-02This volume focuses on education and educational research and examines and expounds upon queer studies particular to education fields. It works to examine concepts, theories, and methods related to queer studies across PK-12, higher education, adult education, and informal learning.
The Oxford Handbook of Latino Studies by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780190691202Publication Date: 2020-03-17The Oxford Handbook of Latino Studies reflects on these questions, offering a sweeping exploration of Latinas and Latinos' complex experiences in the United States.Edited by leading expert Ilan Stavans, the handbook traces the emergence of Latino studies as a vibrant and interdisciplinary field of research starting in the 1980s, assessing the current state of the discipline while suggesting new paths for exploration.
Routledge Handbook of Afro-Latin American Studies by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781003159247Publication Date: 2022-11-08This Handbook provides a comprehensive roadmap to the burgeoning area of Afro-Latin American Studies.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780684315904Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Atlas of Hispanic-American History by
This is an updated look at a vibrant culture and its peoples. Atlas of Hispanic-American History, Second Edition, chronicles the important cultural, historical, political, and social experiences of Hispanic Americans through the years. The coverage includes: The Roots of a People; Spain in the Americas; Independence in the New World; Manifest Destiny and Hispanic America; A Time of Transition; The Age of World Wars; The Hispanic American Civil Rights Era; and, Hispanic America Today.
Call Number: Main Stacks E184.S75 O287 2009ISBN: 9780816077366Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Great Lives from History: Latinos by
The stories of over 500 fascinating individuals of Latino heritage are told in this unique three-volume set. Coverage includes famous entertainers and sports figures, as well as leaders in the fields of business, science, and politics
Call Number: Main Stacks E184.S75 G75 2012ISBN: 9781587658136Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Online Reference Databases
Using reference databases, you can search for information on a specific person, place, or event.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the biographies of over 300,000 people. All time periods and nationalities are covered. Includes narrative biographies (2,000-3,000-word essays) from such titles as Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of American Biography, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Notable 20th Century Scientists, Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, and Contemporary Black Biography, and more than 200,000 "thumbnail" biographies from titles such as Who's Who Among African Americans, Directory of American Scholars, Writer's Directory and Almanac of Famous People. Also includes biographical articles from over 280 journals or magazines such as People Weekly, Interview, Variety, Newsweek, Time, Jet, New Statesman, Entertainment Weekly, Twentieth Century Literature, etc.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new windowProvides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowAccess to: over 75,000 articles from the Encyclopædia Britannica; headlines from the New York Times, the BBC, the SBS Australian News Service, and full-text articles from more than 700 magazines and periodicals provided by EBSCO and Proquest; World data; Gateway to the classics; 166,000 Web sites selected by Britannica editors; over 27,000 images and maps, plus 3,300 animations, videos, and audio files; and world atlas.
- International Studies Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowSubscription includes online access to: The International Studies Compendium Project. The International Studies Compendium Project, published in association with the International Studies Association, is available online (International studies online) or as a 12-volume set in print (The International Studies Encyclopedia). This resource is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. International studies online is updated twice annually and is enhanced by live links to archives, datasets, cases, pedagogical aids, and other relevant materials.
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World This link opens in a new windowGeographical encyclopedia of names, descriptions, and characteristics of places in the world. Entries include: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.