Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Guides and Art Databases
#FromMarginToCenter: Contemporary Latin American Art
This guide provides information on contemporary artists from Latin America and links to resources such as books, websites, and videos. All artists included in this LibGuide are of Latin American origin or descent. For this LibGuide, Latin America refers to Mexico, most of Central and South America, the Caribbean, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Haiti, and Puerto Rico.
Books on Latinx Artists
Latinos in the Arts by From the beginnings of the colonization of the United States, Latino art - including theater, film, music, dance, painting, sculpture, and other modes of artistic expression - has been a creative and physical presence in the Southwest, southern Florida, and much of California - a presence that now reaches every part of the United States. Despite this, Latino artists have often fought against negative stereotypes and discrimination, from the silver screen to the art studio, sometimes opting to change their names so as not to draw attention to their Latino roots. However, numerous Latino artists - such as actress and producer Salma Hayek and singer Gloria Estefan - have been able to use their talents and prestige in order to promote projects that focus on and promote Latino culture, concerns, and history. ""Latinos in the Arts"" traces the accomplishments of 178 performing and visual artists. Whether an individual was born in the United States or emigrated from such countries as Mexico, Cuba, Spain, or numerous other Central and South American nations, each Latino profiled has made significant contributions to art in the United States. Although the geographical diversity among Latino artists is great, certain themes, such as religious imagery and the struggle for social justice, often appear and reappear in these artists' creative works. A bibliography directs the reader to sources for further information about Latino Americans and the arts. One subject index divides entries by area of expertise, such as cartoonist and printmaker. Additional indexes also organize subjects by the decade of their birth and by their ethnicity or country of origin. Many black-and-white photographs of the artists, often in the midst of their craft, enhance the text throughout this insightful volume.
Call Number: Main Stacks 700.8968073 Ot2l
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Artists from Latin American Cultures by Latin Americans have long been relegated to the cultural background, obscured by the dominant European culture. This biographical dictionary profiles 75 artists from the United States and 13 nations of Central and South America and the Caribbean, including painters, sculptors, photographers, muralists, printmakers, installation artists, and performance artists. Some of their works recall pre-Columbian times; others confront the cultural imperialism of the U.S. over Latin America; and many explore how the dominant elements of culture can affect identities of class, gender, and sexuality. Profiled artists range from the renowned to the little-known: Frida Kahlo; Tina Modotti; Diego Rivera; Myrna Baez; Raquel Forner; Patrocino Barela; and many more. Color photographs are provided for many of the works. Each entry includes information about the artist's childhood, schooling, creative growth, and artistic styles and themes. Exemplary artworks and influences are described, along with a look at popular and critical responses. Supplemental features include artist cross references, a glossary of essential terms from the art world, and a number of vivid photos portraying the artists in their creative environments.
Call Number: 709.2368 C76a (Temporary Online Access HathiTrust)
Publication Date: 2002-10-30
Latinx Art Collections
Latinx Art and Artists
The Smithsonian American Art Museum's growing Latinx art collection represents the rich contributions of Latinxs to our country from the colonial period to the present with artworks that range from colonial religious works and woven textiles to abstract expressionist paintings and contemporary installations. Artists featured in the collection reflect the diversity of Latinx communities in the United States, including artists of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, and Dominican descent, as well as other Latin American groups with deep roots in the United States.
Museum of Latin American Art
The Museum of Latin American Art (MOLAA) was founded in 1996 in Long Beach, California and serves the greater Los Angeles area. MOLAA is the only museum in the United States dedicated to modern and contemporary Latin American and Latino art. Its permanent collection now numbers over 1,300 works of art.
Latin American Art Collections at The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
The Latin American Art Department has built a core collection of modern and contemporary art with more than 550 emblematic works in all media, from Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean, as well as by Latino artists in the United States. These objects complement existing holdings in photography, works on paper, decorative arts, painting, and sculpture, some of which entered the Museum as early as the 1930s. The total number of works of art by Latin Americans and Latinos at the MFAH surpasses 2,000.
El Museo del Bario
El Museo del Barrio is the preeminent forum and resource in the U.S. dedicated to Caribbean, Latino, and Latin American art. The museum cares for a diverse, 8,000+-object Permanent Collection of Caribbean, Latino and Latin American art, unique in the United States.
The Hispanic Museum and Library
The Museum Department of the Hispanic Society contains more than 18,000 works in almost every medium, including paintings, drawings, sculptures, decorative arts, and the useful arts dating from the Paleolithic to the 20th century. Objects from prehistoric, ancient, and medieval Iberia; Spain and Portugal; Spanish- and Portuguese-speaking Latin America; Portuguese Goa in India; and the Philippines all figure notably in the collection.
LA/Latinx Digital Resources: Digital Humanities/Digital Art History Projects
The resources and projects listed here are alphabetized and organized by general time period.
Librarian Contact Information
Please direct comments, or requests to Lisa Romero, Liaison to Latina/o Studies.
Lisa Romero can be reached at, L-Romero@illinois.edu.
Communications Library Contact Information