Ask a Librarian
Communications Library Contact Information
Search for Latinx Literature
To find Books pertaining to Latinx Literature search the Library catalog using some of the terms below:
Remember to narrow your search by viewing options on the left-hand menu pane of the results page.
Finding Latinx Literature: Databases
- Latino Literature This link opens in a new windowLatino Literature (LALI) brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. The vast majority of works are from the period spanning the Chicano Renaissance to the present day. Roughly 30% of the database is made up of previously unpublished or rare materials.
Finding Latinx Literature: Bibliographies, Anthologies, and Reference Works
Ethnic American Literature by
Unlike any other book of its kind, this volume celebrates published works from a broad range of American ethnic groups not often featured in the typical canon of literature. This culturally rich encyclopedia contains 160 alphabetically arranged entries on African American, Asian American, Latino/a, and Native American literary traditions, among others.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781610698818Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Bibliographic Guide to Chicana and Latina Narrative by
There has been a dramatic increase in the amount of narrative work published by Chicana and Latina authors in the past 5 to 10 years. Nonetheless, there has been little attempt to catalog this material. This reference provides convenient access to all forms of narrative written by Chicana and Latina authors from the early 1940s through 2002. In doing so, it helps users locate these works and surveys the growth of this vast body of literature. The volume cites more than 2,750 short stories, novels, novel excerpts, and autobiographies written by some 600 Mexican American, Puerto Rican, Cuban American, Dominican American, and Nuyorican women authors. These citations are grouped in five indexes: an author/title index, title/author index, anthology index, novel index, and autobiography index. Short annotations are provided for the anthologies, novels, and autobiographies. Thus the user who knows the title of a work can discover the author, the other works the author has written, and the anthologies in which the author's shorter pieces have been reprinted, along with information about particular works.
Call Number: Main Stacks Reference Non-circulating 016.8109 L552bISBN: 0313319871Publication Date: 2003-08-30
Latino Boom: An Anthology of U.S. Latino Literature by
Latino Boom: An Anthology of U.S. Latino Literature combines an engaging and diverse selection of Latino/a authors with tools for students to read, think, and write critically about these works. The first anthology of Latino literature to offer teachers and students a wide array of scholarly and pedagogical resources for class discussion and analysis, this thematically organized collection of fiction, poetry, drama, and essay presents a rich spectrum of literary styles.
Call Number: 810.8 L3494 (Temporary Online Access HathiTrust)ISBN: 0321093836Publication Date: 2005-08-04
Hispanic-American Writers by
This new edition of "Hispanic-American Writers" offers critical perspectives on the many Hispanic authors who have staked out a vibrant and burgeoning presence on the American literary scene. This addition to the "Bloom's Modern Critical Views" series is enhanced by a chronology, bibliography, notes on the contributors, and a introductory essay by noted literary professor Harold Bloom.
Call Number: Oak Street Library Vaults Request Online 810.9 H6252ISBN: 9780791096239Publication Date: 2008-11-01
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature by
From East L.A. to the barrios of New York City and the Cuban neighborhoods of Miami, Latino literature, or literature written by Hispanic peoples of the United States, is the written word of North America's vibrant Latino communities. Emerging from the fusion of Spanish, North American, and African cultures, it has always been part of the American mosaic. Written for students and general readers, this encyclopedia surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain. Included are more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries written by roughly 60 expert contributors. While most of the entries are on writers, such as Julia Alvarez, Sandra Cisneros, Lorna Dee Cervantes, Oscar Hijuelos, and Piri Thomas, others cover genres, ethnic and national literatures, movements, historical topics and events, themes, concepts, associations and organizations, and publishers and magazines. Special attention is given to the cultural, political, social, and historical contexts in which Latino literature has developed. Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. The encyclopedia gives special attention to the social, cultural, historical, and political contexts of Latino literature, thus making it an ideal tool to help students use literature to learn about history and cultural diversity. Included are more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries written by roughly 60 expert contributors. While most of the entries are on individual writers, others cover themes, concepts, genres, historical events and topics, movements, associations and organizations, ethnic and national literatures, and publishers and magazines.
Call Number: Main Stacks Reference Non-circulating 810.9 G8562ISBN: 9780313339707Publication Date: 2008-08-30
Latino and Latina Writers by
A two-volume bio-bibliographical and critical examination of numerous Cuban, Dominican, Chicano and Puerto Rican writers. Includes only authors who have published since 1960.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780684312934Publication Date: 2003-11-03
Latino Writers and Journalists by
This exciting volume profiles the valor and tenacity of the Latino experience - from daily life to fighting prejudice and small-mindedness, teaching children pride in La Raza, and the need for assimilation. Filled with emotion and intelligence, the stories of Latino writers and journalists speak of courage and a love of life as they claim their rightful place in literature and journalism. Entries in this biographical volume focus on poets, playwrights, screenwriters, children's book authors, journalists, editors, publishers, and others who have worked to advance the role of Latinos in this field.
Call Number: Communications Library Reference Non-circulating 810.9 M3667lISBN: 0816064229Publication Date: 2007-05-01
