Finding Biographies: Books and Reference Anthologies
To find biographies for Latinx writers and public figures, you can search a reference database or the library catalog.
You can search the catalog using subject terms like Hispanic American--Biography. You can also try searching by the writer or person's name.
Latino and Latina Writers by
In addition to addressing the lives and careers of important writers, the articles discuss the themes and a styles of major works and place them in pertinent historical, social and political concerns for today's readers. Novelists, playwrights, essayists, poets, short story writers, and more recently, genre writers in science fiction and mystery, are all expertly discussed in the more than 17 sets comprising this series.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780684312934Publication Date: 2003-11-03
Hispanic Americans in Congress, 1822-2012 by
Updated through 2012, Hispanic Americans in Congress 1822-2012 is written for a general audience and researched using primary and secondary sources, this book contains a profile of every Hispanic American who has served in Congress. Former Member profiles are introduced by contextual essays that present major events in congressional and U.S. history. Additional artifacts, lesson plans, and interactive features are available on the book's companion online exhibition located on the History, Art & Archives website for the U.S. House of Representatives at http://history.house.gov. Hispanic Americans in Congress also includes: Pictures--including rarely seen historical images--of each Hispanic American who has served in Congress Bibliographies and references to manuscript collections for each Member Statistical graphs and charts Appendices with Hispanic Members' committee assignments; committee and subcommittee chairmen and chairwomen; Hispanic Americans in Congress by state and territory; and Congressional Hispanic Caucus and Congressional Hispanic Conference chairmen and chairwomen A comprehensive index
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780160920684Publication Date: 2014-04-09
Great Lives from History: Latinos by
A fascinating perspective on Latino history in the United States, with coverage of 518 influential figures from the 19th century through today.
Call Number: Main Stacks E184.S75 G75 2012ISBN: 9781587658105Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Latina Icons: Iconos Femeninos Latinos e Hispanoamericanos by
Language: Spanish. This book brings the most prominent Latina icons, popular female figures, and offers the most important clear description of the process of iconization of famous cherished Latin American women. It attempts to define and provide meaning to these notable women within the context of popular symbols and the function these women played in the construction of their individual and collective Latina identity. La Malinche, the movie actress Mara Flix, Sor Juana Ins de la Cruz, Mara Ilonza, Frida Khalo, Selena, Yemay, Carmen Miranda, and Malena, the woman object of a most notable Tango, are among the figures discussed in this highly recommended book. Esta coleccin de ensayos explora los procesos de representacin y de iconizacin de algunas de las figuras femeninas ms prominentes de Amrica Latina.
Call Number: 920.7208968 L3492ISBN: 0915745852Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Latinos in Science, Math, and Professions by
In 1991, 4.5 percent of all bachelor's degrees in science and engineering were earned by Hispanics. In 2003, that percentage increased to 7.2, a percentage that exceeds the growth in the Latino population itself. As this population continues to grow in the United States, the influence and contributions of Latinos in science, mathematics, and other professions increases as well, despite such barriers as prejudice while pursuing education and career goals. ""Latinos in Science, Math, and Professions"" covers 177 Hispanic-American physical and social scientists, mathematicians, and inventors. From the early disease research of Carlos Juan Finlay to the current economic theories of Barbara J. Robles, Latinos have made many significant scientific and mathematical contributions to the world. This illuminating volume includes profiles of Latino economists, chemists, pharmacologists, doctors, biologists, astronauts, sociologists, engineers, and individuals in numerous other fields, whether they were born in the United States or emigrated from such countries as Argentina, Costa Rica, or Mexico. A bibliography directs the reader to sources for further information about Latino Americans in general, as well as those in the fields of science, math, and other professions. One subject index divides entries by area of expertise such as biotechnology and statistics, and additional indexes organize subjects by their year of birth and by their ethnicity or country of origin. This volume is enhanced throughout with many black-and-white photographs of the individuals profiled.
Call Number: Main Stacks 509.2273 N482lISBN: 9780816063857Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Latinas in the United States by
Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia records the contribution of women of Latin American birth or heritage to the economic and cultural development of the United States.
Call Number: History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library Reference Non-circulating Q. 920.7208968073 L349ISBN: 0253346800Publication Date: 2006-05-03
Hispanic American Biography by
Hispanic American Almanac provides an overview of Hispanic culture in 14 subject-arranged chapters. Biography profiles the lives of 100 famous Hispanic Americans. Chronology provides information on significant milestones in Hispanic American history. Voices presents full or excerpted speeches and other notable spoken words of Hispanic Americans.
Call Number: Main Stacks 920.009268 H6251ISBN: 0810398281Publication Date: 1995-02-01
The Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Americans by
Midwest Book Review: This extensive biographical dictionary includes more than 250 entries profiling Hispanic men and women whose achievements have made a lasting impact on American society. Arranged in an easy-to-use A-to-Z format
Call Number: Oak Street Library Vaults Request Online 920.009268 M575b2001ISBN: 0816043302Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Liberators, patriots, and leaders of Latin America 32 biographies by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9786612542534Publication Date: 2010This book features biographies of 32 of the most notable figures in Latin American history. To the 23 individuals from the first edition, consisting mostly of revolutionary, political, and military figures of the past, are added nine new biographies of contemporary Latin American presidents, providing an updated view of the region's leadership. Several patterns run through the individual biographies. The concept of native identity is an important aspect in the stories of Malinche, Juarez, Sandino, and Zapata--profoundly affecting the politics of modern Brazil, Mexico, and Nicaragua.- Testimonios : stories of Latinx and Hispanic mathematiciansCall Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781470467159Publication Date: 2021Testimonios brings together first-person narratives from the vibrant, diverse, and complex Latinx and Hispanic mathematical community. Starting with childhood and family, the authors recount their own individual stories, highlighting their upbringing, education, and career paths.
Finding Biographical Information: Reference Databases
You can search these biographical reference databases by the writer or person's name, or using other keywords and terms.
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the biographies of over 300,000 people. All time periods and nationalities are covered. Includes narrative biographies (2,000-3,000-word essays) from such titles as Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of American Biography, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Notable 20th Century Scientists, Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, and Contemporary Black Biography, and more than 200,000 "thumbnail" biographies from titles such as Who's Who Among African Americans, Directory of American Scholars, Writer's Directory and Almanac of Famous People. Also includes biographical articles from over 280 journals or magazines such as People Weekly, Interview, Variety, Newsweek, Time, Jet, New Statesman, Entertainment Weekly, Twentieth Century Literature, etc.
- Current Biography Illustrated This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Current Biography Illustrated in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Current Biography Illustrated (TM) contains more than 15,000 full text biographies and more than 9,400 obituaries, with photographs, from all of the volumes of Current Biography Yearbook, from 1940 to the present.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new windowProvides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- Biography Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Biography Index Retrospective in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Covers biographical content about people from antiquity to 1983 appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases from 1946 to 1983. The database includes articles and book citations as well as interviews and profiles of history-makers. It covers asked-about public figures, including writers, artists, statesmen, sports figures, politicians, religious leaders, scientists, educators, military leaders, teachers, actors, business people, and more. Searchable by personal name and profession.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 13.6 million biographical sketches indexed, obtained from approximately 100-150 volumes and editions of 60-90 biographical dictionaries, including new titles as well as new editions of previously indexed sources.
Ask a Librarian
Librarian Contact Information
Please direct comments, or requests to Lisa Romero, Liaison to Latina/o Studies.
Lisa Romero can be reached at, L-Romero@illinois.edu.
