Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Illinois' STEM Entrepreneurship & Business program has a wealth of information available for locating company information.
Finding NAICS codes
To locate NAICS information for individual companies, search using company research databases. Use the links below to locate NAICS information for specific industry sectors or subsectors.
These tables provide detailed descriptions of the direct relationships between NAICS and SIC classification systems, as well as the relationships between different versions of NAICS.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. This official U.S. Government Web site provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools.
Enforcement and Compliance History Online (ECHO)
ECHO includes NAICS information for companies listed in the database.
Company research databases
Company research databases comparison chart
A guide from the STEM & Entrepreneurship program. Includes a comparison of the content of different databases that contain company information as well as help with searching specific databases.
Frequently used for locating companies by industry sector
Hoover's Academic Pro This link opens in a new window
Delivers company, executive officer, and industry information in a searchable database. Includes parent, subsidiary, branch and competitor information.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. company data: An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings; U.S. Annual Reports: Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports on 10,000 U.S. public companies, all in PDF image format that provides faster download and allows viewing the document; International company data: More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases; International Annual Reports: Hard-to-get, timely annual reports on all companies in our International Company Data database, available in PDF image formats; Corporate Visibility: Expanded, in-depth, and detailed descriptions of public companies as they appear in the Mergent Manuals (fka Moody's Manuals), which were first published in 1918.
Companies and environmental justice communities
The U.S. EPA tools below will help you identify companies that are in or adjacent to underserved communities.
EJScreen is an environmental justice mapping and screening tool that provides EPA with a nationally consistent dataset and approach for combining environmental and demographic indicators. EJScreen users choose a geographic area; the tool then provides demographic and environmental information for that area. All of the EJScreen indicators are publicly-available data. EJScreen simply provides a way to display this information and includes a method for combining environmental and demographic indicators into EJ indexes.
P2 EJ Facility Mapping Tool
The P2 EJ Facility Mapping Tool helps prospective P2 grant applicants, grantees and interested stakeholders geographically target facilities in or adjacent to underserved communities within the framework of the P2 program’s five industrial sector-based National Emphasis Areas (NEAs). The tool allows users to identify industrial facilities that may be contributing to pollution levels in a selected area, including communities with environmental justice (EJ) concerns.