Article Indexes
- Bibliography of British and Irish History OnlineIdentifies books, book chapters, and articles on all aspects of British and Irish history, including the British Empire and Commonwealth. Indexes publications from 1700-present.
- Historical AbstractsJournal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) IndexIdentifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues. Indexes publications from 1915-present.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsIdentifies articles from political science periodicals published around the world. Indexes publications from 1975-present.
Digital Collections of Primary Sources
- Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980Covers the years 1948-1980. Documents from the British National Archives. Records have been selected from the following record series FO 371; FCO 45; FCO 105; CO 1048; DO 35; DO 119; DO 157; DO 161; DO 165; DO 180; DO 193; DO 212; DO 216; FCO 13; FCO 29; FCO 38; FCO 58; FCO 61; FCO 65; FO 924; FO 953; FO 973; FO 1110; and FO 1117.
Keyword searchable, and browsable by National Archives record series numbers.
Includes a subject index that can be searched but not browsed.
Part of AM Archives Direct. - Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966British government documents, mostly from the Foreign Office, but also from the Colonial Office, the Dominions Office, and the War Office. "Confidential Prints" were diplomatic dispatches and related documents deemed sufficiently important to be printed and then circulated among government officials. The prints were grouped into series by geographical region, and then numbered consecutively, but after being transferred to the Public Records Office, the prints were organized according to the National Archives' system of provenance. Part of AM Archives Direct.
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980Record series DO (Dominions Office) 133, DO 134, FO (Foreign Office) 371, and FCO (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) 37 from the British National Archives.
Part of AM Archives Direct. - Macmillan Cabinet PapersComplete minutes and memoranda of the cabinet of British Prime Minister Harold MacMillan, 1957-1963.
Part of AM Archives Direct. - Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 13: Africa, 1941-1961Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. Part of ProQuest History Vault: Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsCovering the period September 4, 1941 through 1996. The FBIS is a branch of the United States government that has operated variously under the Federal Communications Commission, the War Department, and the Central Intelligence Agency. Its purpose is to produce “open source intelligence” reports for the U.S. government. The agency monitors radio broadcasts, newspapers, and other publicly available news sources from around the world, and then transcribes and translates this news so that it may be used to inform American foreign policy. Sometimes news is translated in its entirety; sometimes it is summarized. In addition to news, the FBIS staff translate speeches, interviews, and other types of information sources. n addition to keyword searching, the collection also supports browsing by major historical events.
Encyclopedias
- The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Imperialism and Anti-Imperialism byCall Number: JC359 .P335 2016ISBN: 9780230392779Publication Date: 20152 vols. Covers sixteenth century to the present. Most entries include excellent bibliographies, with primary and secondary sources.
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 byCall Number: 325.3 ONLINEISBN: 0028658434Publication Date: 2006Online version of the 3 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated. Includes thematic outline of contents, glossary, selection of primary sources, and a detailed index.
- Colonialism in Africa, 1870-1960 byCall Number: 960 G15c HPNLISBN: 0521073731Publication Date: 1969-1975v. 1. The history and politics of colonialism 1870-1914.--v. 2. The history and politics of colonialism 1914-1960.--v. 3. Profiles of change: African society of Colonial rule, ed by V. Turner.--v. 4. The economics of colonialism, edited by P. Duignan and L. H. Gann.--v. 5. A bibliographical guide to colonialism in sub-Saharan Africa, by P. Duignan and L. H. Gann
- Nations without States: A Historical Dictionary of Contemporary National Movements. byCall Number: 909.82903 M66nISBN: 9780313283543Publication Date: 1996
Bibliographies and Other Guides to Sources
- Africa: A Guide to Reference Material byCall Number: 016.96 M18a2007ISBN: 0954102932Publication Date: 20072nd ed.
- Botswana, Lesotho, and Swaziland: A Guide to Official Publications, 1868-1968 byCall Number: 015.681 UN34BISBN: 9780844400037Publication Date: 1971
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Records of the Colonial Office, Dominions Office, Commonwealth Relations Office and Commonwealth Office byCall Number: 016.325342 G79R1995ISBN: 0114402469Publication Date: 1995
- Colonialism and Postcolonialism (Oxford Bibliography of the Atlantic World) byCall Number: 325.3 ONLINEPublication Date: 2013, 2023
- French-Speaking Central Africa: A Guide to Official Publications in American Libraries byCall Number: 015.67 W774FISBN: 9780844400334Publication Date: 1973
- French-Speaking West Africa: A Guide to Official Publications byCall Number: 015.661 W77FPublication Date: 1967
- Ghana: A Guide to Official Publications, 1872-1968 byCall Number: 015.667 W77GPublication Date: 1969
- Globalization (Oxford Bibliography of Geography) byCall Number: 910 ONLINEPublication Date: 2013, 2016
- A Guide to Manuscripts and Documents in the British Isles Relating to Africa byCall Number: 016.967 P317GISBN: 0720121671Publication Date: 1993-2 vols.
- Kenya: Subject Guide to Official Publications byCall Number: 015.6762 H839KISBN: 9780844402628Publication Date: 1978
- Madagascar and Adjacent Islands: A Guide to Official Publications byCall Number: 015.69 UN3MPublication Date: 1965
- Official Publications of British East Africa byCall Number: 015.676 UN32OPublication Date: 1960-4 vols. vol. 1. The East Africa High Commission and other regional documents -- vol. 2. Tanganyika -- vol. 3. Kenya and Zanzibar -- vol. 4. Uganda.
- Official Publications of French Equatorial Africa, French Cameroons, and Togo, 1946-1958 byCall Number: 015.67 UN3OPublication Date: 1964
- Official Publications of Sierra Leone and Gambia byCall Number: 015.664 UN32OPublication Date: 1963
- Portuguese Africa: A Guide to Official Publications byCall Number: 015.469 UN34PPublication Date: 1967
- Records of the Cabinet, Foreign Office, Treasury and Other Records (Sources for Colonial Studies in the Public Record Office) byCall Number: 016.325342 G79r1998ISBN: 0114402477Publication Date: 19981 vol. Overview of Cabinet machinery and involvement in Colonial/Imperial affairs -- Cabinet committees 1925 to 1957 -- Summaries of relevant Cabinet office classes -- Prime Minister's office -- Foreign office -- The Treasury -- Major classes of Colonial/Imperial relevance in the records of other departments -- Interdepartmental committees -- International organizations -- International conferences concerned with Colonial affairs and the relevant records.
- The Rhodesias and Nyasaland: A Guide to Official Publications byCall Number: 015.689 Un3rPublication Date: 1965
- Spanish-Speaking Africa: A Guide to Official Publications byCall Number: Q. 015.6 R493SPISBN: 9780844401041Publication Date: 1973
- Uganda: Subject Guide to Official Publications byCall Number: 015.6761 G79UISBN: 0844402451Publication Date: 1977
Almanacs and Chronologies
- A Political Chronology of Africa byCall Number: 960.0202 P759ISBN: 1857431162Publication Date: 2001
- A Political History of The Gambia, 1816-1994 byCall Number: 966.5102 ONLINEISBN: 1580462308Publication Date: 2006
- African Political Facts since 1945 byCall Number: 320.96 C461A1991ISBN: 0816024189Publication Date: 1991
Atlases
- The New Atlas of African History byCall Number: Q. 911.6 F877NISBN: 0136121519Publication Date: 1991
- The Penguin Historical Atlas of the British Empire byCall Number: 911.171241 D179pISBN: 0141018445Publication Date: 2006
Example Subject Headings in the Library Catalog
- Decolonization -- History.
- Sudan -- History -- 1899-1956.
- Petroleum industry and trade -- Africa
- Nigeria --Economic conditions -- 1970-
- Nigeria -- Environmental conditions
- Nigeria -- Ethnic relations
- Nigeria -- History-- 1960-
- Nigeria -- History-- Civil War, 1967-1970
- Nigeria -- Politics and government-- 1960-
- Nigeria -- Politics and government-- 1984-1993
- Nigeria -- Politics and government-- 1993-
- Great Britain -- Colonies.
- Great Britain -- Colonies -- History -- 20th century.
Colonial Office Annual Reports on the Colonies
The British Empire produced an enormous number of documents. Listed here is a small selection of annual reports on Britain's African empire.
- Basutoland Annual Reports byCall Number: 316.861 G798a ONLINEPublication Date: 1890-1928-1938 available on microfiche in the HPNL.
- Annual Reports on the Colonies. Bechuanaland. byCall Number: 316.81 G7982a ONLINEPublication Date: 1890-1945-1965 available in print.
- Annual Reports on the Colonies. Gambia. byCall Number: 316.651 G798aPublication Date: 1890-1928-1938 available on microfiche (MFICHE 316.651 G798a), and 1966-1967 in print, 316.651 G1432.
- Annual Reports on the Colonies. Kenya byCall Number: 325.342 G792akPublication Date: 1904/1905-1938
- Annual Reports on the Colonies, Nigeria byCall Number: 325.342 G792ANPublication Date: 1897/1898-1938
- Annual Reports of Bende Division, South Eastern Nigeria, 1905-1912: With a Commentary byCall Number: 966.9403 AN78ISBN: 9780902993143Publication Date: 1986
- Annual Reports on the Colonies. Northern Rhodesia byCall Number: 325.342 G792ARPublication Date: 1924/1925Reports for the years 1924/1925-1938 have been digitized. 1946-1962 available in print at call number 316.894 G798A.
- Nyasaland: Report for... byCall Number: 354.689709 G798Publication Date: 1904/1905-Reports for 1928-1938 available on microfiche. Reports for 1946-1962 available in print at call number 316.897 G798A.
- Swaziland: Report for... byCall Number: 316.834 G7982aPublication Date: 1906/1907-Reports for 1929-1938 available on microfiche at call number MFICHE 316.834 G7982a. Reports for 1946-1966 available in print at call number 316.834 G7982A.
- Annual Reports on the Colonies. Uganda byCall Number: 316.761 G798aPublication Date: 1904/1905Reports for 1921-1938 (and other reports not viewable in HathiTrust) available on microfiche at call number MFICHE 316.761 G798a. Reports for 1946-1961 available in print at call number 316.761 G798A.
Additional reports were published in the British Parliamentary Papers and are listed in Serial Publications in the British Parliamentary Papers, 1900-1968, (pp.22-26).
- Serial Publications in the British Parliamentary Papers 1900-1968: A Bibliography byCall Number: 015.42 R69SISBN: 9780838900864Publication Date: 1980
- UK Parliamentary Papers
This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 UK Parliamentary papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. Includes: House of Commons papers, 1715-2010; Bills and Acts, 1695-2010; Command Papers, 1833-2010; House of Lords papers, 1714-1805; Debates (pre-Hansard), 1774-1805; Hansard (debates), 1803-2005; Journals, 1688-1834; and Histories and Proceedings, 1660-1743.
British and Foreign State Papers was a serial publication (1812-1968) produced for use by British diplomats, and is a compendium of treaties, diplomatic correspondence, and other information deemed useful to diplomats in conducting their work.:
- British and Foreign State Papers byCall Number: 327.42 ONLINEPublication Date: 1812-Part of Hein Online.
Hansards and Gazettes of Colonial Governments
Hansards and gazettes are frequently requested by scholars researching decolonization. A Hansard is a report (usually verbatim) of what was said, and what happened, in a session of Parliament. The name comes from the original publisher (Thomas Hansard) of these reports in Britain. A gazette is a type of official government publication that reports on the activities of government, publishing information like laws, regulations, appointments, proclamations, and so forth.
Gambia
Hansards not available.
- Government Gazette byCall Number: ILLPublication Date: 1903-1944A gazette is a type of official government publication that reports on the activities of government, publishing information like laws, regulations, appointments, proclamations, and so forth.
- The Gambia Gazette byCall Number: ILLPublication Date: 1945-1965A gazette is a type of official government publication that reports on the activities of government, publishing information like laws, regulations, appointments, proclamations, and so forth.
Sierra Leone
Nigeria
Debates of the House of Representatives, 1956-1966 and Debates of the Senate, 1960-1966 not available here.
Cameroon
Journal officiel des débats de l'Assemblée nationale = Official gazette of the debates of the National assembly not available.
- Journal officiel de la République fédérale du Cameroun = Official Gazette of the Federal Republic of Cameroon byCall Number: Q. 354.6711 C14JPublication Date: 1965-1966
Sudan
No known Hansard for Sudan.
Somalia (British Somaliland)
No known Hansard for Somalia.
Kenya
Tanzania (Tanganyika and Zanzibar)
- Debates of the Legislative Council: Official Report byCall Number: 328.678102 Z17dPublication Date: 1951-1959Hansard
- Council Debates (Hansard): Tanganyika Legislative Council Official Report byCall Number: 328.678 T15APublication Date: 1960-1961
- Majadiliano ya Bunge, taarifa rasmi (Hansard) byCall Number: 328.678 T152mPublication Date: 1964-1984
Malawi (Nyasaland)
- Hansard Official Verbatim Report of the Debates byCall Number: 328.68970205 MAPublication Date: 1989
Northern Rhodesia
- Official Verbatim Report of the Parliamentary Debates of the ... National Assembly. byCall Number: 328.6894 Z15OPublication Date: 1964-1982Hansard
Rhodesia (Zimbabwe)
- Parliamentary Debates - House of Assembly byCall Number: 328.6891 R34PPublication Date: 1965-1974Hansard
Mauritius
Lesotho (Basutoland)
Primary Source Collections in Print and Microform
- Africa Contemporary Record: Annual Survey and DocumentsCall Number: 916 AF836ISBN: 0065-3845Publication Date: 1968-2002
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Central Africa byCall Number: 967.031 C333ISBN: 0112905862Publication Date: 20052 vols. pt. 1. Closer association, 1945-1958 -- pt. 2. Crisis and dissolution, 1959-1965.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Ghana, 1941-1957 byCall Number: 966.703 G341ISBN: 0112905250Publication Date: 19922 vols. vol. 1941-1952 -- vol. 2. 1952-1957.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Imperial Policy and Colonial Practice, 1925-1945 byCall Number: 325.30941 Im7ISBN: 0112905447Publication Date: 19962 vols.: vol. 1. Metropolitan reorganisation, defence and international relations, political change and constitutional reform -- vol. 2. Economic policy, social policies and colonial research.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Malaya byCall Number: 959.504 M291ISBN: 0112905404Publication Date: 19953 vols.: vol. 1. The Malayan Union experiment, 1942-1948 -- vol. 2. The Communist insurrection, 1948-1953 -- vol. 3. The Alliance route to independence, 1953-1957.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Nigeria byCall Number: 966.903 N56lISBN: 0112905978Publication Date: 20012 vols. vol. 1. Managing political reform, 1943-1953 -- vol. 2. Moving to independence, 1953-1960.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Sri Lanka byCall Number: 954.9302 SR31ISBN: 0112905587Publication Date: 19972 vols. vol. 1. The Second World War and the Soulbury Commission, 1939-1945 -- vol. 2. Towards independence, 1945-1948.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Sudan byCall Number: 962.403 Su21ISBN: 0112905641Publication Date: 19982 vols. vol. 1. 1942-1950 -- vol. 2. 1951-1956.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: The Conservative Government and the End of Empire, 1951-1957 byCall Number: 325.3141 C765ISBN: 0112905358Publication Date: 19943 vols. vol.1. International relations -- vol. 2. Politics and administration -- vol.3. Economic and social policies. See also The Conservative Government and the End of Empire, 1957-1964.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: The Labour Government and the End of Empire, 1945-1951 byCall Number: 941.085 L114ISBN: 0112905218Publication Date: 19924 vols. vol. 1. High policy and administration -- vol. 2. Economics and international relations -- vol. 3. Strategy, politics and constitutional change -- vol. 4. Race relations and the Commonwealth. See also British Documents on the End of Empire: The Conservative Government and the End of Empire, 1951-1957.
- The Struggle for Independence: Documents on the Recent Development of Zimbabwe (1975-1980) byCall Number: Q. 968.9104 B327SISBN: 3922887376Publication Date: 19844 vols. v. 1. Table of contents. Introductory remarks. Footnotes. Index -- v. 2. Doc. 1-249 (December 1974-January 1977) -- v. 3. Doc. 250-476 (January 1977-March 1978) -- v. 4. Doc. 477-695 (March 1978-February 1979) -- v. 5. Doc. 696-899 (February-September 1979) -- v. 6. Doc. 900-1050 (September-December 1979) -- v. 7. Doc. 1051-1185 (December 1979-April 1980). "Consists primarily of newspaper articles and transcriptions of radio broadcasts.Chiefly in English, with some documents in French, Afrikaans or Portuguese"--[publisher's description].
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Ghana 1960-January 1963: Internal Affairs and Foreign AffairsCall Number: FILM 320.966709046 C76 HPNLISBN: 155655910012 reels. Accompanied by a printed guide compiled by Daniel Lewis, entitled: A guide to the microfilm edition of Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Ghana 1960-January 1963
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: British Africa, 1955-1959: Internal Affairs, Decimal Numbers 745, 745B-X, 845, 845B-X, 945, and 945B-X, and Foreign Affairs, Decimal Numbers 645, 645B-X, 611.45, and 611.45B-X byCall Number: FILM 960 C761ISBN: 1556554079Publication Date: 199139 reels + guide
- CIA Research Reports: Africa, 1946-1976 byCall Number: FILM 960.3 C48ISBN: 0890934231Publication Date: 19833 reels + guide
- Africa: Special Studies, 1962-1980 byCall Number: FILM 960 AF8322ISBN: 0890933820Publication Date: 19817 reels + guide. Reports by a variety of governmental and non-governmental organizations.
- Emerging Nationalism in Portuguese Africa: Documents byCall Number: 325.3469 C43EISBN: 0817919716Publication Date: 1972
- The John F. Kennedy National Security Files: Africa: National Security Files, 1961-1963 byCall Number: FILM 327.7306 J613Publication Date: 198812 reels + guide
- The John F. Kennedy National Security Files, 1961-1963. Africa, First Supplement byCall Number: FILM 327.7306 J613sup.1ISBN: 1556559054Publication Date: 200218 reels + guide
- Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files. Africa: National Security Files, 1963-1969 byCall Number: FILM 327.7306 L99AISBN: 9780890939956Publication Date: 198811 reels + guide
- The Richard M. Nixon National Security Files, 1969-1974. Africa byCall Number: FILM 327.7306 R385ISBN: 9781556559785Publication Date: 200311 reels + guide
- Selected Pamphlets, Handbooks, Congresses and Other Reports Relating to South AfricaCall Number: FILM 968 SE48Publication Date: 1936-19611 reel.
- The Struggle for Independence: Documents on the Recent Development of Zimbabwe (1975-1980) byCall Number: Q. 968.9104 B327SISBN: 3922887376Publication Date: 19844 vols. v. 1. Table of contents. Introductory remarks. Footnotes. Index -- v. 2. Doc. 1-249 (December 1974-January 1977) -- v. 3. Doc. 250-476 (January 1977-March 1978) -- v. 4. Doc. 477-695 (March 1978-February 1979) -- v. 5. Doc. 696-899 (February-September 1979) -- v. 6. Doc. 900-1050 (September-December 1979) -- v. 7. Doc. 1051-1185 (December 1979-April 1980). "Consists primarily of newspaper articles and transcriptions of radio broadcasts.Chiefly in English, with some documents in French, Afrikaans or Portuguese"--[publisher's description].
- Indian Political Intelligence (IPI) Files, 1912-1950 byCall Number: MFICHE 954.035 In255Publication Date: 2000324 fiche. "Archival collection of intelligence files concerning the monitoring of organisations and individuals considered a threat to British India. Included are surveillance reports and intercepts from MI6, MI5, and the Special Branch, as well as a large number of intelligence summaries and position papers"--[publisher's description]
- BBC Summary of World Broadcasts byCall Number: FILM 384.54 SW21939-1972. Since World War II, the BBC has been monitoring, selecting, and translating into English news broadcasts from around the world. This collection contains microfilmed copies of the reports, also called "open source intelligence". Collection organized by world region.
- Les constitutions et institutions administratives des états nouveaux = The Constitutions and Administrative Institutions of the New States ... byCall Number: K3161 .C66Publication Date: 1965