LibGuides: Empires in World History: Pre-500 CE

Librarians

Celestina Savonius-Wroth,Ph.D.
History Librarian
cswroth@illinois.edu

Elias Petrou, Ph.D.
Classics Librarian (Ancient History)
epetrou@illinois.edu

Bing Wang
Chinese Studies
bingw@illinois.edu

Atoma Batoma
African Studies
batoma@illinois.edu

Laila Hussein Moustafa
Middle East and North African Studies
lhoussei@illinois.edu

Cindy Ingold
American Indian Studies
cingold@illinois.edu

Article Indexes

For finding secondary sources: journal articles, scholarly monographs, conference proceedings, and dissertations.

L'Année Philologique
Covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. Indexes publications from 1928-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, and book chapters, principally in Western languages on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Indexes publications from 1971-present.

Primary Source Collections

Bibliotheca Latina IntraText (IntraText Digital Library)
Latin texts.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
Ancient, medieval, and modern Latin texts.
Codices Vossiani Latini
363 codices form the Latin portion of the Vossius manuscript collection at Leiden University Library. Includes a large number of early medieval manuscripts (76 Carolingian manuscripts dating from before 900), along with sources of many classic texts. Collection comprises 363 codices.
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL)
Ancient Latin inscriptions from across the Roman Empire.
The Latin Library
Latin texts from all periods; emphasis on ancient and medieval texts.
Library of Latin Texts
Latin texts from 240 B.C.E. to 1965 C.E., with emphasis on ancient and medieval Latin texts.
Loeb Classical Library
Digital editions of the volumes in the Loeb Classical Library.
Papyri.info
Ancient papyrological documents.
Perseus Digital Library
Ancient Greek and Roman texts, with some English translations.
Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations
Integrates GIS technologies to support spatial and temporal analyses of the Roman and medieval world.
The Squeeze Collection
Close to 25,000 paper impressions of Greek inscriptions from across the ancient Greek world.
Duke Papyrus Archive
Almost 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. Browse by subject, language, provenance, and bibliographic features.
Trismegistos
"An interdisciplinary portal of the ancient world"--[publisher's description". Browse by author, time period, personal names, place names, and provenance.

Bibliographies and Other Guides to Sources

Alexander the Great (Oxford Bibliography of Medieval Studies) by Charles Russell Stone
Call Number: 938.07 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2021
Roman Imperialism (Oxford Bibliography of the Classical World) by Craige Champion, Charles Goldberg
Call Number: 937.06 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2014
Roman Empire (Oxford Bibliography of Military History) by David Potter
Call Number: 937.06 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2014, 2023
Attila And The Huns (Oxford Bibliography of Medieval Studies) by Ralph W. Mathisen
Call Number: 937.08 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016
War in Imperial China (Oxford Bibliography of Military History) by Peter Lorge
Call Number: 951 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2014, 2023
Early Imperial China (Oxford Bibliography of Chinese Studies) by Wicky W. K. Tse
Call Number: 931.04 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2021
Han Expansion to the South (Oxford Bibliography of Chinese Studies) by John E. Herman
Call Number: 931.04 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2019

Subject Headings in the Catalog

Rome (Empire).
Rome (Empire) -- Sources.
Rome -- History -- Empire, 30 B.C.-284 A.D.
Rome -- History -- Empire, 30 B.C.-284 A.D -- Sources.
China -- History -- Han dynasty, 202 B.C.-220 A.D.
China -- History -- Han dynasty, 202 B.C.-220 A.D. -- Sources.