Journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.

The main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.

Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, government publications, and online resources from the United States and Canada. Indexes publications from 1989-present, with coverage back to 1939 for some materials.

Identifies books, book chapters, and articles on all aspects of British and Irish history, including the British Empire and Commonwealth. Indexes publications from 1700-present.

Six databases: Africana Periodical Literature, African Women, Search Women Travelers to Africa, Islam in Africa, Kenya Coast, and Water in Africa. Files can be searched separately, or together through AfricaBib.

Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, and book chapters, principally in Western languages on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Indexes publications from 1971-present.

A federated collection of records from standard indexes and catalogues for researching nineteenth-century Anglo-American history and culture: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906; The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900; Stead's Index to Periodical Literature of the World, 1891-1903; Cotgreave's Contents-Subject Index to General and Periodical Literature, Periodicals Index Online, 1770-1919; Cumulative Index to Niles' Register, 1811–1849; An Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1791-1908; the Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue; and Palmer's index to the [London] Times Newspaper, 1790-1905

15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.

Books, pamphlets, periodicals documenting the economic history of the West, very broadly defined, including political writings, works on international relations, international trade and commerce, and slavery, travel narratives, legal cases, and government publications. Based on the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at Harvard University, The Making of the Modern World includes more than 60,000 books and 450 journals.

Sources documenting the emigration of people from Europe and Asia to the United States, Canada, and Australasia. Document types include letters, diaries, scrapbooks, artwork, photographs, maps oral histories, pamphlets, ship logbooks, realia, legal papers, and government documents, including all 195 volumes of the British National Archives Record Series CO 384 (War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Emigration Original Correspondence).

Manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, and maps. Emphasis on the Atlantic world, but includes coverage of Middle East, Asia, and the Pacific. Documents all aspects of slave trade and the slave experience.

Books, periodicals, manuscripts, court records, and reference works documenting world slavery and the slave trade from the 16th century through the 19th.

A variety of document types organized around the following thematic clusters: Ottoman and post-Ottoman Empires in the Eastern Mediterranean, 1860-2015; French Empire in North Africa, 1935-2005; Italians Consider the International problem of Trafficking in Women, 1928-1936; Indigenous Women and Anti-Imperialist Activism in South Africa, 1929-1960; Anti-Imperialist Activism of Indonesian Women, 1951-1965; Filipino Women and American Empire, 1904-2004; Anti-Imperialist Writings of Cuban Feminists, 1896-1985; Women Medical Missionaries in China, 1894-1991; United States Women in the Panama Canal Zone, 1907-1975; American Women missionaries in India, 1910-1953; African American Women Shape Political Culture in South Africa, 1928-1969; Native Women Oppose Colonialism in Guatemala, 1960-1996; Moravian Missionary Women Interact with Cherokee Women before Removal, 1805-1835; and Women’s Global Networks, 1883-2007.

1650-1920, with bulk of documents from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Emphasis is on British colonialism in North America, Africa, and Australasia. Hybrid collection of books, government documents, legal records, correspondence, business records, maps, diaries and memoirs, pamphlets, ephemera, realia, artwork, and more. Organized around fifteen broad themes: Travel and Exploration; Natural World; Land and Property; Government and Politics; Warfare and Military History; Law and Order; Business and Commerce; Industry and Technology; Agriculture; Art and Entertainment; Healthcare; Women’s History; Children and Family; Religion; and Indigenous Peoples. Collection can also be browsed by subjects (topics, people, and places).

Official Army war diaries for the North-West Indian Frontier. Diaries selected from British Library record series IOR/L/MIL/17/5/4066-4121. War diaries are an official category of British government document, and provide information on the activities of the Army for which each diary reports. These are not personal diaries of soldiers, officers, or other military personnel. Part of Archives Unbound.

46 periodicals, ca. 1968-2001. Part of EastView.

Sources documenting colonialism in Africa, primarily from a European perspective. Document types include diaries, journals, illustrated sketchbooks, correspondence, personal papers, government documents, photographs, printed books, reports, and films. Document creators include explorers, scientists, missionaries, travelers, military personnel, colonial administrators, diplomats, business people, journalists, and the British Foreign Office.

A catalog of open-access digitized primary sources from hundreds of libraries and historical societies. Use this resource to identify digitzed books, periodicals (including journals, magazines, gazetteers, and newsletters), government documents, maps, realia, photographs, and more. Includes records for documents from 1000 CE to the present.

Based on the Bassett and Scheven bibliography, Maps of Africa to 1900: A Checklist of Maps in Atlases and Geographical Journals in the Collections of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Over 2,400 maps.

Documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
Series I. v. 1. Conference at Potsdam, July-August 1945. v. 2. Conferences and conversations 1945, London, Washington, and Moscow. v. 3. Britain and America: Negotiation of the United States loan, 3 August-7 December 1945. v. 4. Britain and America: Atomic energy, bases and food, 12 December 1945-31 July 1946. v. 5. Germany and western Europe, 11 August-31 December 1945. v. 6. Eastern Europe 1945-1946. v. 7. United Nations: Iran, Cold War and world organisation, 2 January 1946-13 January 1947. v. 8. Britain and China 1945-1950. v. 9. The Nordic Countries : from war to Cold War, 1944-1951. v. 10 The Brussels and North Atlantic treaties, 1947-1949 -- v. 11. European recovery and the search for Western security, 1946-1948.
Series II. v. 1. The Schuman Plan, the Council of Europe and Western European integration, May 1950-December 1952. v. 2. The London Conferences, Anglo-American relations and Cold War strategy, January-June 1950. v. 3. German rearmament, September-December 1950. v. 4. Korea, June 1950-April 1951. Series III. v. 1. Britain and the Soviet Union, 1968-72. v. 2. The Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1972-75. v. 3. Détente in Europe, 1972-76. v. 4. The year of Europe: America, Europe and the energy crisis, 1972-1974. v. 5. The southern flank in crisis, 1973-1976. v. 6. Berlin in the Cold War, 1948-1990. v. 7. German unification, 1989-1990. v. 8. The invasion of Afghanistan and UK-Soviet Relations, 1979-1982. v. 9. The challenge of Apartheid : UK-South African relations, 1985-1986 -- v. 10. The Polish crisis and relations with Eastern Europe, 1979-1982 -- v. 11. The unwinding of apartheid : UK-South African relations, 1986-1990 -- v. 12. Britain and the revolutions in eastern Europe, 1989.

Complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, from 1919-1980.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

Drawn from the British National Archives record series FO 262 and FO 371.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

Documents drawn from British National Archives record series FO 371, DO 169, DO 187, FCO 15 and FCO 24. Emphasis on Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, and Philippines. Documents digitized in full color.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

When completed, it will include all files for the time period 1971-1981 from British National Archives Record Series FCO 8 (Foreign Office and Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Arabian Department and Middle East Department: Registered Files); FCO 9 (Foreign Office, Central Department and Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Southern European Department: Registered Files); FCO 17 (Foreign Office, Eastern Department and successors: Registered Files); FCO 39 (Foreign Office, North and East African Department and successors: Registered Files); FCO 67 (Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Commodities and Oil Department and successors: Registered Files); and FCO 93 (Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Near East and North Africa Department: Registered Files). Also includes selections from British National Archives Record Series PREM (Records of the Prime Minister's Office) and DEFE (Records of the Ministry of Defence).
Part of AM Archives Direct.

Complete minutes and memoranda of the cabinet of British Prime Minister Harold MacMillan, 1957-1963.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

The complete British National Archives record series FCO (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) 7 and 82 for the entire period 1969-1974.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

Covering African diasporic communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, Britain, and France from 1860 to the present, this collection contains both primary and secondary textual sources, as well as feature films and television programs. Primary sources include archival collections, composed principally of two major record series from the British National Archives (series CO, Records of the Colonial Office; and series FO, Records of the Foreign Office). You will also find periodicals, pamphlets, ephemera, speeches, correspondence, interviews, personal narratives, literary works, and photographs. Hundreds of websites are indexed as well.

Over 4,000 Luso-Brazilian pamphlets, mostly from the 19th century.

Digitized from the microfilm set, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944. Part of Archives Unbound.

Documents produced by and for the British Foreign Office, now part of UK National Archives record series FO 371 (FO 371/143956 through FO 371/80511). Collection presents a view of the regional conflicts from the perspective of the British government. Part of AM Archives Direct.