LibGuides: Empires in World History: 500 CE to 1400 CE

Librarians

Celestina Savonius-Wroth,Ph.D.
History Librarian
cswroth@illinois.edu

Elias Petrou, Ph.D.
Medieval Studies Librarian
epetrou@illinois.edu

Paula Carns, Ph.D.
Medieval Studies Librarian
pcarns@illinois.edu

Bing Wang
Chinese Studies
bingw@illinois.edu

Atoma Batoma
African Studies
batoma@illinois.edu

Laila Hussein Moustafa
Middle East and North African Studies
lhoussei@illinois.edu

Article Indexes

For finding secondary sources: journal articles, scholarly monographs, conference proceedings, and dissertations.

Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies
Identifies articles (over 4,000 journals covered) and books on the Medieval period in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. Indexes publications from 1958-present. Comprises three separate files: International Medieval Bibliography, the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale = Bibliography of Medieval Civilisation (bibliographies published in the Cahiers de Civilisation Médiévale from 1958-2003), and Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance = International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.
more...less...
Formerly "International Medieval Bibliography".
Iter Bibliography: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Identifies journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, encyclopedia articles, exhibition catalogs, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Middle Ages and Renaissance studies. Part of Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Indexes publications from 1784-present.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles, books, and book chapters about women, sexuality, and gender during the Medieval period. Indexes publications from 1990-2007.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, and book chapters, principally in Western languages on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Indexes publications from 1971-present.

Digital Collections of Primary Sources

Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
Identifies modern editions of Medieval primary sources.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
No longer updated, but remains a useful bibliography of online resources for Medieval studies, with emphasis on digitized primary sources.
Mirabile: Digital Archive for Medieval Latin Culture
Online content aggregator.
Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker = Deutscher Klassiker Verlag = Digitale Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker im WWW
Focus on the nineteenth-century, but covers all periods. Includes historical, philosophical, theological, political, and art history texts as well as essays, speeches and other non-literary material.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
Manuscripts, state papers, chronicles, accounts and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland and continental Europe. Covers Britain, 1100-1800.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Over 1,400 edited texts originally published in 33 series that document the history of Germany from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500 CE.
Medieval and Early Modern Studies Collections (Adam Matthew Research Source)
Includes sub-collections Manuscript Records of Voyages of Discovery, 1450-1750; and Spanish Historical Writing About the New World, 1493-1700 from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.
Medieval Travel Writing
Manuscripts that document journeys by European travelers to the Holy Land, India, and China during the 13th through the 16th centuries.

Encyclopedias

Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia by John Block Friedman (Editor); Kristen Mossler Figg (Editor); Gregory G. Guzman (Editor)
Call Number: Q. 909.0703 T675
ISBN: 0815320035
Publication Date: 2000
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer
Call Number: 909.07 D561
ISBN: 0684190737
See also the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages from Oxford University Press.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert E. Bjork (Editor)
Call Number: 940.1 ONLINE
ISBN: 0198662629
Publication Date: 2010
Online version of the 4 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies.

Bibliographies and Other Guides to Sources

Guide to the Sources of Medieval History by R. C. Van Caenegem
Call Number: 016.8 C11EE
ISBN: 0720407435
Publication Date: 1978
Charlemagne (Oxford Bibliography of Medieval Studies) by Richard Ring
Call Number: 940.01 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016
Carolingian Era (Oxford Bibliography of Medieval Studies) by Thomas F.X. Noble
Call Number: 940.01 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2010, 2016
Syria and Palestine in the Byzantine Empire (Oxford Bibliography of Medieval Studies) by Emma Loosley Leeming
Call Number: 949.502 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2024
Persianate Dynastic Period/Later Caliphate, ca. 800–1000 (Oxford Bibliography of Medieval Studies) by A.C.S. Peacock
Call Number: 955.02 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2023
Genghis Khan (Oxford Bibliography of Military History) by David Curtis Wright
Call Number: 950
Publication Date: 2016, 2023
War in Imperial China (Oxford Bibliography of Military History) by Peter Lorge
Call Number: 951 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2014, 2023
Yuan Dynasty (Oxford Bibliography of Chinese Studies) by David Robinson
Call Number: 951.025 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2013, 2017
Preconquest Incas (Oxford Bibliography of Latin American Studies) by Gary Urton
Call Number: 985.09 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2013, 2021
Abbasid Caliphate (Oxford Bibliography of Islamic Studies) by Letizia Osti
Call Number: 909.0982201 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2012
Almohads (Oxford Bibliography of Islamic Studies) by Maribel Fierro
Call Number: 961.02 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016
Ayyubids (Oxford Bibliography of Islamic Studies) by Stephen R. Humphreys
Call Number: 956.9102 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2013
The Umayyads (Oxford Bibliography of Islamic Studies) by Abdulhadi Alajmi
Call Number: 279.09021 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2011, 2019

Examples of Subject Headings in the Library Catalog

China -- History -- Yuan dynasty, 1260-1368.
Charlemagne, Emperor, 742-814.
Islamic Empire -- History -- 661-750.
Islamic Empire -- History -- 750-1258.
Abbasids -- History.

Primary Source Collections in Print and Microform

Approaching Ottoman History: An Introduction to the Sources by Suraiya Faroqhi
Call Number: DR486 .F36 1999
ISBN: 9780052166480
Publication Date: 1999
Islamic Central Asia: An Anthology of Historical Sources by Scott C. Levi (Editor); Ron Sela (Editor)
Call Number: DS327.3 .I75 2010
ISBN: 9780253013590
Publication Date: 2009