Identifies journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, encyclopedia articles, exhibition catalogs, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Middle Ages and Renaissance studies. Part of Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Indexes publications from 1784-present.

Journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.

Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, and book chapters, principally in Western languages on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Indexes publications from 1971-present.

Identifies books, book chapters, and articles on all aspects of British and Irish history, including the British Empire and Commonwealth. Indexes publications from 1700-present.

15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.

Books, pamphlets, periodicals documenting the economic history of the West, very broadly defined, including political writings, works on international relations, international trade and commerce, and slavery, travel narratives, legal cases, and government publications. Based on the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at Harvard University, The Making of the Modern World includes more than 60,000 books and 450 journals.

See especially the sub-collections Colonial Discourses: Series One: Women, Travel and Empire, 1660-1914 (which includes early travel accounts by women, and documents of women’s experiences in India, Africa, Australasia, and Canada; and documents on women and “The Orient”); and Women, Writing and Travel: Part 1: The Diaries of Stella Benson (documents her travels in the United States, Hong Kong, and China). Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.

Manuscripts, state papers, chronicles, accounts and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland and continental Europe. Covers Britain, 1100-1800.

Books, periodicals, manuscripts, court records, and reference works documenting world slavery and the slave trade from the 16th century through the 19th.

Manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, and maps. Emphasis on the Atlantic world, but includes coverage of Middle East, Asia, and the Pacific. Documents all aspects of slave trade and the slave experience.

20 record series from multiple repositories in Britain: Series 1, Records Relating to the Slave Trade at the Liverpool Record Office; Series 2, American Material in the Archives of the USPG (United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel); Series 3, Papers of William Davenport & Co., 1745-1797; Series 4, Jamaican Materials in the Slebech Papers; Series 5, Papers Relating to the Jamaican Estates of the Goulburn Family of Betchworth; Series 6, Papers of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies, 1694- ; Series 7, Journal, Annual Sermons and Reports of the SPG (Society for the Propagation of the Gospel), 1701-1870; Series 8, South American Missionary Society Records, 1844-1919; Series 9, Liverpool Street and Trade Directories, 1766-1900; Series 10, Early Colonial and Missionary Records for West Africa; Series 11, West Indies Material in the Archives of the USPG, 1710-1950; Series 12, Archives of the Associates of Dr. Bray to 1900; Series 13, Collected Papers of the Bolton Whitman Fellowship; Series 14, Canadian Papers of the 4th Earl of Minto; Series 15, American Material from the Tarleton Papers; Series 16, Liverpool Customs Bills of Entry, 1820-1900; Series 17, Tudway of Wells Antiguan Estate Papers, 1689-1907; Series 18, Bristol Presentments, 1770-1917; Series 19, Annual British Army Lists, 1740-1784; and Series 20, American Prisoners of War, 1812-1815.

The Ferrar Papers (Magdalene College, Cambridge), along with transcripts of select documents. Also includes the four volumes of The Records of the Virginia Company of London. Does not include items that were once part of the collection but are so no longer; nor does it record any of those volumes from the Ferrars' library which are to be found in the Old Library at Magdalene.

When complete, this digital collection will comprise all 1,450 volumes/bundles of the British National Archives Record Series CO 5 (Records of the Colonial Office: Board of Trade and Secretaries of State: America and West Indies, Original Correspondence). The collection will be released in modules, with the first three modules currently available: Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries; Module 2: Towards Revolution; and Module 3: The American Revolution.

1710-1937. Diaries, journals, official papers, letters, sketches, paintings, histories and literary works documenting the British presence in India. Emphasis on the role of the Scottish in India as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals. Documents drawn from the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland

Digitized from the following microfilm sets: Colonial Discourses, Series 3: Colonial fiction, 1650-1914, Parts 1-3; Curzon, India and Empire: The Papers of Lord Curzon from the British Library, London; The Empire Writes Back: Parts 1-3: Indian Views on Britain and Empire, 1810-1915, from the British Library, London; India During the Raj: Eyewitness Accounts: Diaries and Related Records Describing Life in India, 1712-1925; India in the Age of Empire
The Journals of Michael Pakenham Edgeworth (1812-1881) from the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and Indian Newspaper Reports, c. 1868-1942 (Part 1: Bengal, 1874-1903; Part 2: Bengal, 1904-1916; Part 3: Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana and Central Provinces, c. 1868-1896; Part 4: United Provinces, 1897-1937; Part 5: Madras, 1876-1921; Part 6: Bombay, 1874-1898; Part 7: Bombay, 1901-1921; and Part 8: Punjab 1896-1924, Sind 1936-1939, Burma 1938-1942, Bihar and Orissa 1920). Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.

1650-1920, with bulk of documents from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Emphasis is on British colonialism in North America, Africa, and Australasia. Hybrid collection of books, government documents, legal records, correspondence, business records, maps, diaries and memoirs, pamphlets, ephemera, realia, artwork, and more. Organized around fifteen broad themes: Travel and Exploration; Natural World; Land and Property; Government and Politics; Warfare and Military History; Law and Order; Business and Commerce; Industry and Technology; Agriculture; Art and Entertainment; Healthcare; Women’s History; Children and Family; Religion; and Indigenous Peoples. Collection can also be browsed by subjects (topics, people, and places).

Emphasis of the collection is on journals written by sailors on both merchant, naval, and pirate ships. Includes other records that document the daily lives of sailors, including correspondence, court martial records, logbooks, ship's musters, medical journals, memoirs, ship's papers, records of impressment, newspapers, artwork, orderbooks, regulations, and legal records.

A selection of primary and secondary sources culled from larger collections, and several digitized microfilm sets, some listed separately in this guide. Part of Gale Primary Sources.

1530-1824. Manuscripts from the British Library documenting Spanish occupation of Trinidad, Margarita, Guiana, Venezuela and neighboring territories. Included are Egerton MSS 771-3297, Sloane MSS 159-4028, Stowe MSS 168-921, Add. MSS 11410-35916, and Add. MSS 36314-73542 (with some exclusions). Part of Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century (formerly World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbea)n.

1624-1849 (will be extended to 1870 with future modules). Includes documents from the following National Archives record group CO (Colonial Office), with emphasis on the following record series: CO 7: Antigua and Montserrat; CO 8: Antigua; CO 23: Bahamas (includes Turks and Caicos Islands up to 1848); CO 28: Barbados; CO 37: Bermuda; CO 71: Dominica; CO 101: Grenada; CO 110: Guadeloupe; CO 111: British Guiana, formerly Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo; CO 116: British Guiana, formerly Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo; CO 123: British Honduras; CO 137: Jamaica; CO 152: Leeward Islands; CO 154: Leeward Islands; CO 166: Martinique; CO 175: Montserrat; CO 184: Nevis; CO 239: St Christopher (St. Kitts), Nevis and Anguilla; CO 245: Santo Domingo; CO 253: St. Lucia; CO 260: St. Vincent; CO 285: Tobago; CO 295: Trinidad; CO 301: Turks and Caicos; CO 314: Virgin Islands; and CO 318: West Indies. Collection also includes selections from the War Office (WO) record series 1: West Indies. Users can browse the collection by record series, by colony, and by governor. To further support document discovery, the collection has been organized around the following nine themes: Slavery and Emancipation; Crime and Punishment; Finance and Economy; Trade and Shipping; Law and Governance; War and Military; Religion; Plantations and Agriculture; and Piracy and Privateering.

Almost every book printed between 1473 and 1700 in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, regardless of language, and English-language books printed elsewhere in the same time period.

Based on the English Short Title Catalog, includes almost every book printed in England,Ireland, Scotland, and Wales during the 18th century, regardless of language, along with thousands of English-language books printed elsewhere in the same time period. Includes some serials.

Over 12,000 printed works, including books, pamphlets, and broadsides. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Based on Charles Evans's American Bibliography. Includes almost every book printed in the United States between 1639-1800. See also the two supplements: the Library Company of Philadelphia supplement, and the American Antiquarian Society supplement. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Adds 2,300 books to the original collection. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Adds 1,100 books to the original collection. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Based on Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana, this collection includes books, pamphlets, and periodicals about the Americas from 1492 to 1868. Includes publications both from the Americas and from elsewhere.