American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide by
The new edition of the ADA's flagship food and nutrition guide--updated based on the very latest Dietary Guidelines for Americans With over 200,000 copies sold in all editions, this award-winning resource from the world's leading authority on food and nutrition is packed with the latest healthy eating advice for those at every age and stage of life. In this completely revised and updated new edition, you'll find up-to-date, evidence-based, practical answers for your many food and nutrition questions. This cornerstone guide from the American Dietetic Association, written by nationally recognized food and nutrition expert and registered dietitian Roberta Duyff, covers the basics on nutrition, managing weight, and healthy eating. It also provides easy steps and how-tos for selecting, preparing, and storing foods safely to get the most nutrition and flavor for your dollar, and more. Comprehensive, accessible, and easy-to-use, this valuable reference shows how to make healthy food choices to fit any lifestyle. How to put the the very latest Dietary Guidelines for Americans on food choices and physical activity into action Latest guidance to prevent and manage today's health concerns, such as heart disease, diabetes, cancer, food allergies, gluten intolerance, lactose intolerance, and many others Simple, practical tips and flexible food and nutrition skills that suit your needs and lifestyle with ways to apply advice from USDA's MyPlate Advice for healthy nutrition, eating, and cooking across the lifespan Covers vegetarian eating, healthy restaurant options, culinary nutrition and skills, healthy weight, nutrition supplements, and more Interactive self-checks and websites to help you assess your own food choices and take steps to healthy eating
Betty Crocker Diabetes Cookbook by
An updated new edition of the bestselling diabetes cookbook from Betty Crocker and the International Diabetes Center Here's a fresh new edition of the cookbook that proves that people who have diabetes don't have to give up the foods they love and, in fact, can eat incredibly satisfying food every day, for every meal. TheBetty Crocker Diabetes Cookbook delivers delicious and healthful recipes for diabetics, along with the latest medical and nutrition information from the International Diabetes Center. This new edition includes brand-new recipes and photos, along with tips and menus that focus on using carbohydrate choices. Plus, an easy-to-understand introductory section provides helpful insight and vital guidance for those with diabetes. Features 140 quick, easy-to-make, and delicious recipes for breakfasts, lunches, dinners, desserts, and more Includes 40 recipes and full-color photos all new to this edition, including gluten-free dishes and fun items like mini cupcakes Includes menus for a variety of special occasions plus a sampling of everyday menus with carbohydrate counts included With theBetty Crocker Diabetes Cookbook, great-tasting meals are never off-limits for people with diabetes.
The Complete Month of Meals Collection by
Collected together for the first time in the popular, classic format, theComplete Month of Meals Collection is the ultimate cookbook, meal planner, and nutrition guide for people with diabetes, containing hundreds of recipes and meal planning tips from the American Diabetes Association bestselling series of meal planners. Using a unique three-part, split-page design, this interactive book allows readers to create meal plans instantly by mixing and matching breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, all designed to meet the American Diabetes Association's updated nutrition guidelines. By offering nearly endless meal options&e—not just a month of meals, but years of meals&e—this unique book takes the work, time, and confusion out of meal planning for people with diabetes.Packed into this one-of-a-kind book, readers will find: Hundreds of recipes, including classics and new twists on old favorites Hundreds of thousands of menu options Innovative three-part, split-page design, that makes building meals a snap Carb counts listed prominently on each recipes&e—a carb counter's dream! Full nutrition counts for each recipe Meal planning tips, nutrition advice, and much more!Packed with recipes, photos, and a one-of-kind meal planning design, this is the only meal planning book designed specifically to meet the challenges and needs of those with diabetes, from the leader in diabetes education and self-care.
Diet and Disease by
Can food really take the place of medicine? While modern medicine certainly has its place and does more than its fair share of good, there is no denying that many of societya (TM)s most perilous chronic diseases are exacerbated by poor diets. Whereas infectious diseases used to cause the most number of deaths, the impact of chronic diseases now far overshadows that of infectious diseases. Diet plays a significant role in the development of a number of types of chronic disease, such as heart disease, diabetes, and certain types of cancer. This title explores the impact of dietary choices on the prevention, management, and treatment of a number of medical conditions and disease states including cardiovascular disease, diabetes and metabolic stress, critical illness, cancer, and HIV/AIDS. Conditions of the gastrointestinal tract, musculoskeletal disorders, rheumatic disease, anemia, hepatobiliary, gallbladder, pancreatic, and kidney diseases are covered in the subsequent title Diet and Disease II.
Everyday DASH Diet Cookbook HB by
New York Times bestselling author Marla Heller, in collaboration with bestselling cookbook writer Rick Rodgers, provides simple, home-cooked, DASH-approved meals to help promote weight loss and increased health benefits. A healthy diet is only as good as the food it provides in its plan. Now in THE EVERYDAY DASH DIET COOKBOOK, bestselling author and foremost DASH expert Marla Heller, together with bestselling cookbook writer Rick Rodgers, makes it easy to prepare home-cooked meals that are fresh, fabulous, and DASH-approved. The DASH diet is a required medical recommendation for patients diagnosed with hypertension or pre-hypertension, a group of almost 130 million people, and this ultimate guide to cooking the DASH way serves up everything necessary to maintain a healthy lifestyle. With recipes such as Cinnamon French Toast with Raspberry Sauce, Filet Mignon au Poivre, Yankee Clam Chowder, and Chocolate Fondue with Strawberries, eating health has never been so easy and delicious.
The Family Classics Diabetes Cookbook by
The best dishes from Diabetes Forecast magazine in one beautiful collection!The Family Classics Diabetes Cookbook is a collection of the best 150 recipes from the American Diabetes Association's Diabetes Forecast magazine, now collected into one convenient, gorgeous edition.The recipes are simple, quick, and filled with fresh ingredients. Many have been developed by Robyn Webb, a well-known and award-winning nutritionist who has written many other American Diabetes Association cookbooks, including the bestselling Diabetic Meals in 30 Minutes-Or Less! and American Diabetes Association The Diabetes Comfort Food Cookbook. All of the recipes meet the American Diabetes Association's nutrition guidelines, ensuring that they're a perfect match for nearly any diabetes meal plan. In addition, every recipe has complete nutrition information and diabetic exchanges.Also included is a "How To" section that teaches some of the basics of cooking. Recipes contain "Simple Tips," whichgive readers ideas about how to keep things easy in the kitchen while still bringing exceptional taste to the table.Recipes include: Cajun Spiced Pork Tenderloin, Filet Mignon with Red Wine, Roast Beef with Horseradish Sauce, Pappardelle with Pesto, Pasta with Roasted Asparagus, Stir-Fried Shrimp with Snow Peas, Chicken Pot Pie with Phyllo, Biscuit and Hamburger Pie, and more.
The Joy of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free Baking by
"The first gluten-free baking book from legendary bread maker and James Beard Award-winning author Peter Reinhart, with 80 world-class recipes suitable for wheat sensitive, diabetic, and low-carb/low-sugar dieters.Bestselling author and beloved baking instructor Peter Reinhart turns his attention to healthful breads, pastries, cookies, cakes, and more in The Joy of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free Baking, crafting baked goods that are suitable for special diets and taste just as good as the originals. The Joy of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free Bakingis a comprehensive and long-term lifestyle prescription for the millions of Americans who are sensitive to gluten, diabetic, orneed to reduce carbs to prevent illness. Reinhart and Wallace teach readers how to make their own seed and nut flours; stock their pantries; make a gluten-free, low-carb sugar substitute; and more. By using nut and seed flours instead of starches, Reinhart and Wallace have crafted no-sacrifice, easy-to-bake recipes that revolutionize baking for special diets and satisfy anyone s craving for warm bread or decadent cake."
The Prediabetes Diet Plan by
A practical, empowering guide to managing and reversing prediabetes through diet and exercise, from a registered dietitian. Affecting 79 million Americans, prediabetes often develops into full-blown type 2 diabetes, one of the leading causes of death in the United States. Increasingly diagnosed by doctors, prediabetes is a condition in which blood sugar levels are elevated, but not yet high enough to be labeled diabetes. While diabetes cannot be cured, prediabetes can be reversed, so it is critical to take action at an early stage. In straightforward, jargon-free language, The Prediabetes Diet Plan explains insulin resistance (the underlying cause of prediabetes and type 2 diabetes) and offers a comprehensive strategy of diet and lifestyle change, which has been proven more effective than medication. With sections on meal planning, grocery shopping, dining out, supplements, and exercise, this book empowers you to make healthier everyday choices that can effect real change on your insulin levels and overall well-being.
The Type 2 Diabetes Diet Book by
Lose weight safely and quickly by converting fat into fuel! "The diet itself is remarkably simple. The entire regimen has been scientifically designed to provide good nutrition in a way that will put you on track for the rest of your life." -- The Diabetic Reader "The diet designed to decrease insulin production and facilitate conversion of stored fat into burnable energy." -- Nutrition Today The Type 2 Diabetes Diet Book has helped millions decrease insulin production, lose weight, and conquer their "diabesity"--and this new edition has been updated to reflect the latest advances in diabetes care. Using this guide, you can design a low-carb, low-calorie diet that helps you shed weight while controlling your diabetes. New to this edition: Recipes and meal plans that reflect current nutrition research and appeal to any palate Updated ADA recommendations Detailed examination of the link between good sleep and weight loss The revolutionary new medication for treating obesity With quick-reference tables presenting the caloric, carbohydrate, fat, and protein content of common food and drinks, The Type 2 Diabetes Diet Book, Fourth Edition is the only guide you need to shed pounds safely and effectively.
The Ultimate Diabetes Cookbook by
Here at last is a diabetes cookbook with a difference: delicious recipes designed for people with diabetes as well as additional health complications. Award-winning cookbook author Carol Gelles, herself a Type II/Adult -Onset diabetic, has written the first cookbook to address the full range of dietary needs of people with diabetes. The Ultimate Diabetes Cookbookfeatures recipes tailored for diabetic diets and the additional dietary restrictions for people with complications from diabetes. For example, someone with heart disease as well as diabetes can use the book to turn a basic recipe into one that is also low-fat/low-cholesteral. People with high blood pressure and diabetes will find low-sodium versions of most recipes. For kidney patients, there are numerous low-protein variations of basic recipes. All the recipes are suitable for the simple diabetic diet. And best of all, they are delicious enough to oplease everyone in the family, making meal preparation easy for everyday breakfasts, lunches, and dinners or for special occasions. Each recipe is accompanied by a helpfull nutritional summary box, with indications of which nutrients (such as protein, cholestoral, and carbohydrates) and minerals (such as sodium, magnesium, and phosphorus) are high or low in that recipe. In addition, the American Diabetic Association exchanges for all the recipes are listed at the bottom of each recipe, and there are extensive charts giving all of the nutritional values at the back of the book. Drawing on her background as a trained nutritionist and cookbook author, Gelles has developed more than 250 enticing recipes. There are appetizers (Cucumber Feta Dip, Curried Shrimp), soups (Creamy Portobello Mushroom Soup, Mango Gazpacho), entrees (Chicken Gumbo, Roasted Cod with Moroccan Flavors, Mediterranean Beef Stew), side dishes (Broccoli Souffle, Sauteed Zucchini with Tomatoes and Raisins), salads (Marinated Tomato Salad, Oriental Chicken Salad), and breakfast and brunch dishes (Western Omelet for Two, Blueberry Bran Muffins). Desserts are included, too, to be eaten rarely and in moderation, but fully enjoyed. There are no artificial ingredients in them, such as nonsugar sweeteners, and these occasional indulgences include the likes of Brownie Bites and Ginger Bread Pudding. Throughout the book there are menu suggesions for balanced and flavorful meals. However, Gelles also realizes that each person's health plan is unique and that her recipes and menus should be used in conjunction with (rather than in place of) a doctor's advice. Now, with the help ofThe Ultimate Diabetes Cookbook, people with diabetes can enjoy a wide variety of memorable meals specifically tailored to their health needs.
Welcome Home Diabetic Cookbook by
Meal planning can be tough when you or someone in your family has diabetes. Welcome Home Diabetic Cookbook is here to help! Here are 450 easy-to-prepare recipes that you can mix and match to make your breakfasts, lunches, dinners, snacks, and desserts a snap! You want to put a delicious meal on the table for your family without worrying whether it's going to fit your dietary needs--and certainly without spending hours in the kitchen--or in the grocery store searching for exotic ingredients. Complete with nutrition information for each recipe, Welcome Home Diabetic Cookbook is filled with comfort food that you can pull together in a hurry when unexpected company arrives, when you're going to a potluck, or anytime you're busy (which is pretty much every day, am I right?). In these pages you'll find recipes that-- are delicious and a snap to prepare include dietary information so you can eat with confidence offer step-by-step instructions that virtually anyone can follow Each recipe includes prep time and cooking time, so you know exactly what to expect. Collected from home cooks across the country and carefully selected and tested, these recipes are sure to take some pressure off of you and give joy to everyone in your home. With full-color photos throughout and a ring binding that allows the book to lay flat on your kitchen counter, this is the everyday cookbook you will return to again and again.
The following links are for informational purposes only and are not endorsements of any of these products.
