Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Latin American and Caribbean Feminist and Gender Studies: Media

This guide aims to provide organized access to the main research resources on Latin American and Caribbean Feminist and Gender Studies that are available to students, staff, faculty, and visiting scholars at the University of Illinois Library.

Media resources about Latin American feminism and gender

Mujer/Fempress: Publication of the women section of the Latin American Institute of Transnational Studies, ILET. The UIUC library has issues published between 1986 and 2000

Telenovelas are a characteristic cultural product made in Latin American television and as such, it is a rich material to explore gender representations in the region. The UoI holds a collection of 25 Brazilian telenovelas, such as Dancin' Days and Tieta, among others. Both telenovelas enjoyed enormous success not only in Brazil but in other Latin American countries, too. 

Media resources about Latin American feminism and gender

Resources at the library:

  • Periodicals

The History and Newspaper Library holds numerous feminist periodicals edited and published in Latin America in the late 19th and 20th centuries.

Voz de la Mujer: Periódico Comunista-Anárquico was published in Buenos Aires, Argentina, between 1896 and 1897. The History and Newspaper Library holds several issues in microfilm. 

Nuestra Tribuna: Quincenario Femenino de Ideas, Letras, Artes, Crítica y Literatura was published in Buenos Aires, Argentina, between 1922 and 1925. There are almost 40 issues available on microfilm.

Nueva Acción Femenina was a journal edited and published by the Uruguay-based feminist organization with the same name during the 1960s and the 1970s and the library has issues available on print and microfilm.

A Mensageira was a literary review dedicated to the Brazilian woman. A Mensageira was published in São Paulo between 1897 and 1900 and it is electronically available at the library for subscribers.

The U of I library holds other periodicals edited and published by Latin American and Caribbean feminist organizations during the 20 century, such as La Maga (Ecuador), Mujer/Fempress (Mexico); Brujas, published since the 1980s (Argentina); Noticiero, edited by the Inter American Commission of Women (Washington D.C.); ISIS International Revista de las Mujeres, edited in Italy but focused on Latin American feminism, and Cimarronas: boletín de la Red de Mujeres Afro-Latinoamericanas y Afro-Caribeñas (Costa Rica). There is also available a bibliography about Nuestra causa, a feminist magazine published in the early 1900s in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Finally, the UoI also holds issues of Mujeres y Deportes, a journal about women and sports published in Mexico in the 1930s, and Vida Femenina: La Revista de la Mujer Inteligente, a periodical edited by Socialist women in the 1930s in Argentina.

  • Film:

Kanopy Includes a variety of fictional films and documentaries available for streaming for University of Illinois instructors to stream in the classroom. It includes topics about women, feminism, and gender issues in Latin America and the Caribbean, such as migration, environmental conflicts, political rights, and violence against women in the region, among others. 

Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues. There are several titles regarding women issues. 

  • Brazilian telenovelas collection: 

The telenovela is a melodramatic genre produced in Latin American television. Brazil has been for decades the main producer and exporter of this type of productions all over the Americas and beyond. As a cultural product, telenovelas provide fundamental insights to explore gender in Brazil, across the time and regarding different contexts. The U of I holds a collection of 25 Brazilian telenovelas produced between 1970 and 2013. The material covers periods from colonial times to the present and most of it is in color, yet a few are in black and white. The majority are in Portuguese without subtitles, yet some have subtitles in Spanish, English, French, or Portuguese. 

Selection from the Library Media Collection

Assistant Professor and Librarian of Latin American and Caribbean Studies