It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Latin American and Caribbean Feminist and Gender Studies: Art, Music & Literature
This guide aims to provide organized access to the main research resources on Latin American and Caribbean Feminist and Gender Studies that are available to students, staff, faculty, and visiting scholars at the University of Illinois Library.
Chavela, an awarded documentary produced and directed by Catherine Gund and Daresha Kyi (2017). The film is available in the Undergraduate Media Collection. It was also exhibited in the Latin American Film Festival organized by the Center for Latin American & Caribbean Studies (CLACS) of the U of I in 2017.
The University of Illinois Library has a rich collection of audiovisual, digital, and print material about Latin American & Caribbean women that have played a crucial role in art and culture in the continent, in very diverse contexts and historical moments. Here, we present just a fraction of what is available, such as documentaries portraying powerful Latin American & Caribbean women in arts and culture, as well as the work of outstanding women writers and intellectuals. We recommend searching by keywords such as "Caribbean women writers", "Latin American women writers", "Latin American women artists". Please, do not hesitate to contact Dr. Antonio Sotomayor for more information and assistance.
Documentary "Mercedes Sosa: The voice of Latin America", directed by Rodrigo Vila (2013).
"Krudas" (2006) is a documentary directed by Opie Boero. It explores the lives and work of a Cuban lesbian couple who are hip hop singers and performers. The duo Krudas addresses issues such as women's liberation, lesbian rights, female solidarity and racism. Their work is deeply engaged with feminism and strong ties to their African roots.
"This collection is painful, disturbing, and rewarding. Freeman and three other translators transform Storni's razor-sharp poetry into English versions that invite constant rereading. This is a poetry of fatal beauty that leads toward unavoidable death, but not before freeing the poet to leave everything she can behind."--Ray Gonzalez,Bloomsbury Review
This well-known novel from the Brazilian writer, Clarice Lispector, depicts a disoriented and confused young woman in her journey exploring her self-consciousness, looking back on her own life, and exploring her place in the world.
Here, in an astonishing debut by a gifted storyteller, is the magnificent saga of proud and passionate men and women and the turbulent times through which they suffer and triumph. They are the Truebas. And theirs is a world you will not want to leave, and one you will not forget. Esteban -- The patriarch, a volatile and proud man whose lust for land is legendary and who is haunted by his tyrannical passion for the wife he can never completely possess. Clara -- The matriarch, elusive and mysterious, who foretells family tragedy and shapes the fortunes of the house of the Truebas. Blanca -- Their daughter, soft-spoken yet rebellious, whose shocking love for the son of her father's foreman fuels Esteban's everlasting contempt... even as it produces the grandchild he adores. Alba -- The fruit of Blanca's forbidden love, a luminous bearty, a fiery and willful woman... the family's break with the past and link to the future.
Publication Date: [Bogotá, D.C.] : Libros de Colombia, 2002.
This title comprises three volumes, including Colombian women authors, arranged alphabetically, throughout the nineteenth and twenty-first centuries (until 2002), and covering multiple disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, and the physical sciences. It also includes an index by author.
As the Left reawakens in Latin America following widespread disillusionment with neoliberal efforts to apply "shock therapy" to local economies, this story of the exemplary life of a major Peruvian activist and literary figure of an earlier era is particularly timely. Magda Portal (1900-1989) played a historic role in the American Popular Revolutionary Alliance (APRA), which began as a Marxist-inspired but non-Communist radical movement with cells based in both Europe and Latin America in the 1920s before it became a full-fledged political party in Peru in 1931. Often in exile abroad, in prison, or in hiding in Peru to escape arrest, Portal was the leading female organizer for the Apristas until her break with the increasingly Right-leaning party after World War II. As APRA's national secretary for women's affairs, Portal worked tirelessly for women's rights within the framework of a broader fight for social justice. A close colleague of revolutionary leaders Jose; Carlos Marategui and Victor Haya de la Torre, she sided with the latter in the schism that erupted between the two in 1928, but ended up denouncing Haya de la Torre in 1950, accusing him of compromised relationships with the powers of neocolonial capitalism. Already an acclaimed poet by the age of twenty-three, Portal struggled throughout her life to balance her artistic with her political ambitions, at times abandoning her literary pursuits. This conflict is itself a fascinating part of this biography of a woman now regarded as one of the pioneer feminists of Latin America. A substantial selection of Portal's poetry is offered, with accompanying translations.
This volume studies several Hispanic women writing poetry. This work explores the interplays between authors' work and production, their lives and trajectories, and the specific cultural times in during which they developed their intellectual work.
This bibliography was developed as a reference material rather than a canon of theater works. It includes works that were not necessarily influential in Colombia's theater scene, but are relevant to study different factors concerning the production, circulation and impact of theater in the country. This book compiles unpublished manuscripts, original Colombian plays, and adaptations from other plays. Materials where collected from archives, two previous bibliographic compilations, and serial publications. The book includes 3363 works, covering a time period from the earliest plays ever documented in Colombia (early 1800s) to 1999. Works included come from different genres and creation forms. Each item listed includes a biographical note on the author, the play's title, edition information, information about the play's premiere when applicable, location of the script, and additional comments. This book is arranged alphabetically by author's last name. It includes indexes by pseudonym and by play's title.
Winner, Best Book Translation Prize, New England Council of Latin American Studies, 2005 Gabriela Mistral and Victoria Ocampo were the two most influential and respected women writers of twentieth-century Latin America. Mistral, a plain, self-educated Chilean woman of the mountains who was a poet, journalist, and educator, became Latin America's first Nobel Laureate in 1945. Ocampo, a stunning Argentine woman of wealth, wrote hundreds of essays and founded the first-rate literary journal Sur. Though of very different backgrounds, their deep commitment to what they felt was "their" America forged a unique intellectual and emotional bond between them. This collection of the previously unpublished correspondence between Mistral and Ocampo reveals the private side of two very public women. In these letters (as well as in essays that are included in an appendix), we see what Mistral and Ocampo thought about each other and about the intellectual and political atmosphere of their time (including the Spanish Civil War, World War II, and the dictatorships of Latin America) and particularly how they negotiated the complex issues of identity, nationality, and gender within their wide-ranging cultural connections to both the Americas and Europe.
"The past few decades have seen an explosion of writing by women from the Caribbean. From Antigua, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Trinidad - women of African, European, and mixed ancestry have explored and manipulated their complex matrix: of languages and subtle linguistic codes; of folk traditions and formal English schooling; of vital politics and tormented histories; of intoxicating natural beauty and devastating poverty. They have written of mothertongues and motherlands, of exile, of the boundaries of bodies, of the politics of owning and not owning themselves. Though worlds apart, writings as diverse as Jean Rhys's Wide Sargasso Sea, published in 1966, and Jamaica Kincaid's Autobiography of My Mother, published 30 years later, nevertheless share a setting of shocking yet sinister beauty; a sense of the loss of a mother and the implications of this loss upon one's self; and a deeply resonant literary heritage. From Guyana's Beryl Gilroy to Haiti's Edwidge Danticat, Caribbean women are mingling the political with the lyrical in a quickly deepening new body of literature."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
This analysis considers the remarkable literary output of Caribbean women writers in the 1980s and 1990s, particularly the fiction of Jamaica Kincaid, Erna Brodber, Marlene Philips and Merle Hodge. It assesses two issues in depth: the question of the possibilities of a postcolonial literature that seeks its ownership in the language of the former colonizer; and the relationship of the postcolonial and postmodern world to the female consciousness, which also seeks its origins and identity and is expressed most significantly in the relationship of mother and daughter. A critique of Toni Morrison's novel Beloved adds to the discussion.
Space has become a fundamental category for understanding the world and the contemporary processes of identity formation. This is true also in the configuration of the literary field and in its analysis. In Brazilian narratives, where dislocations, disputes, and blunders of identities traditionally placed in their "proper places" can be perceived and now no longer fit, as is the case with women, attention to space is crucial. "Women" understood, of course, as a heterogeneous and complex group, formed by multiple and contradictory identities, which are not exhausted in biological sex or gender, but which, to a great extent, share the pressures and expectations imposed by a society that continues marked by male domination. Thus, all the articles that make up this volume deal with writers who problematize the question of space and gender. Not coincidentally, the book brings together works of researchers involved in discussions on gender identities, but with a cross-cutting concern, taking into account their intersection with social class, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, among others. And all emphasize the importance of the place of speaking. After all, knowing who constructs alternative representations to dominant and stereotyped visions is central to both the sphere of literary production and its criticism.
In this edited volume, the authors provide an insider's look Professor Ruth Amarilis Cottó provides both outsider's and insider's analysis of Puerto Rican society. In this last Spanish colony and first American colony, the complex current status of Puerto Rico triggers several conflicts regarding immigration, ethnicity, linguistic and cultural struggles, economic dependence, and a lack of political power. In that path, the Puerto Rican women's role has a key role to better understand Puerto Rican contemporary history.
Indeed, authors from Puerto Rico, the United States, and Spain discuss the Puerto Rican woman place in diverse dimensions, such as the literary's, the society's, the political, and the sports' one.
Selections of poetry, fiction, and essays by the Mexican poet, novelist, journalist, philosopher and diplomat (1925-1974). Edited, translated, and introduce d by Myralyn F. Allgood. Annotation(c) 2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Assistant Professor and Librarian of Latin American and Caribbean Studies