Skip to Main Content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Site Navigation Menu

Latin American and Caribbean Feminist and Gender Studies: Home

This guide aims to provide organized access to the main research resources on Latin American and Caribbean Feminist and Gender Studies that are available to students, staff, faculty, and visiting scholars at the University of Illinois Library.

In this Guide

In this guide, you will find research tools from various resources and subject areas related to feminist and gender studies in Latin America and the Caribbean. We have compiled just a fraction of the material available at the library. Please, do not hesitate to contact Dr. Antonio Sotomayor for more information:

  • General Sources: Bibliographies, books, and e-books, on various topics and authors related to feminism and gender issues in LA&C. There are items edited in Spanish, English, and Portuguese and a few have been published in French.
  • Rare Books and Manuscripts: There are a few items at Illinois' Rare Books and Manuscripts library from Latin American authors, writers, educators, and activists that have played a crucial role in the development of feminism, women rights, and political consciousness in the 19th and 20th centuries.
  • Art, Music & Literature: Subject-specific bibliographies and audiovisual material highlighting the work of outstanding women in Latin American and Caribbean arts and culture.  
  • Media: Audiovisual resources addressing gender and feminist studies, both open access and available by subscription.
  • Databases: Online databases for gender and feminist studies in the region, both open access and available by subscription through the University of Illinois Library.
  • Academic Journals about feminism and gender in LA&C: Journals available through the University of Illinois library and outside of it, too.  
  • Online Resources: Relevant and original research resources accessible online or digitized primary sources. It includes websites about gender and feminism in Latin America & Caribbean, as well as local, national, organizations and their online resources. 

Welcome/Bienvenid@s/Bem-vind@

Latin American women have played a crucial role in human rights activism across the continent, particularly during the dictatorships that have ruled the continent in the 1970s and 1980s. By Archivo Hasenberg-Quaretti - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0

Gabriela Mistral was the first Latin American woman writer in receiving a Nobel Prize in Literature. Originally a teacher in rural Chilean schools, she became a writer appreciated worldwide. She advocated for women rights to receive education, health, and civil rights. Memoria Chilena.

Women activists embody a crucial role in the interplay between feminism, ecology, and indigenous rights. Activists such as Berta Cáceres, killed in 2016 due to her role as the leader of the Civil Council of Popular Indigenous Organizations of Honduras, is one of several examples in Latin American history of women. Berta Cáceres on the banks of the Gualcarque River. Photo credit: Goldman Environmental Prize. 

Introduction

Welcome to the Research Guide to Latin American and Caribbean Feminist and Gender Studies. The purpose of this guide is to provide direction and access to resources on LA&C feminist and gender studies available to students, staff, faculty, and visiting scholars at the University of Illinois Library. In addition to highlighting print resources in the collection, the guide also provides information about e-resources across the region. Although most of the material presented here is available in our collection (physical and virtual), you will also find sources openly available in the internet.

The Latin American and Caribbean feminist and gender studies collection at Illinois includes books, e-books, edited collections, media resources, and journal databases among other formats, and published in Spanish, English, Portuguese, and French. There are also some special items from early Latin American feminists available in the Rare Book and Manuscript Library providing insights to exceptional women and thinkers. While this guide aims to be comprehensive, some researchers might need extra assistance with particular topics. We encourage you to contact Prof. Antonio Sotomayor, Librarian of Latin America and Caribbean Studies, for further assistance.

 

Guide Prepared by:

Claudia Lagos Lira  - Graduate Student

Dr. Antonio Sotomayor - Librarian of Latin American & Caribbean Studies 

Latin American and Caribbean Studies