Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Health Law & Bioethics: Bio Sciences/ Bioethics Information

This guide is tailored to students seeking assistance with paper topic selection & related research for Prof. Wilson's Health Law & Bioethics seminar. Other researchers may find this guide useful for finding resources related to health law & bioethics.

Welcome!

This page contains links to bioethical information.  Here you can find links to many websites concerned with healthcare and related topics, though not necessary from a legal perspective. In an interdiciplinary area like Health Law it is important to investigate resources from acroos related diciplines.

Another great resource on campus is the Funk Library.  

Other UIUC research guides for Bioethics and Health Information

Tips for locating bioscience/ bioethics resources

Locating medical information will require the use of university library resources (e.g. Main Library.) You can search through the library catalog or by looking directly at collections of articles and databases.

Catlogs:

There are three different library catalogs to search, try them in this order:

  • The UIUC catalog includes only the holdings at the University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign.
  • The I-Share catalog searches the catalogs of 85 Illinois academic libraries.
  • WorldCat searches a worldwide network of libraries. (netID and password will be needed to access off campus)

If you want a specific item search by title or author.  If your not sure what you want try a keyword search.  Both the UIUC catalog and I-Share use the same interface.  For those, on the right side of the results page there will be column you can use to narrow your search results.  For example if you go under the 'location' heading and select 'law' you will limit the search results to only those items in the law library.

If you can't find what you need in the UIUC or I-Share catalogs, try WorldCat.

For more information on how to use the library catalog ask at the law library reference desk or if you're shy try this LibGuide.

Journals & Databases:

One can also search for onine for journls, articles, & databases through the university library. The links below are great starting points.

If you are searching within a resource and only find and title entry or abstract look to see is there is a "Discover: UIUC full text linking" box next to your entry. This icon will connect you to those UIUC databases which have a full text of the article or a link to the catalog if it is available in print.

                    The "discover" icon looks like this 

Bioethics Journals

Below is a non-exhaustive list of Bio Sciences and Bioethics journals

The Hastings Center Report

  • Published by the Hastings Center, a nonpartisan research institution dedicated to bioethics and the public interest.  This publication explores the ethical, legal, and social issues in medicine, health care, public health, and the life sciences.

IRB: Ethics & Human Research

  • Also published by the Hastings Center, this publication explores issues in research with human subjects, including findings and analyses of empirical studies.

Bioethics

  • A journal published in association with the International Association of Bioethics.

Penn Bioethics Journal

  • An undergraduate peer reviewed journal which addresses debates in medicine, technology, philosophy, public policy, law, theology, and ethics, among other disciplines.

American Journal of Bioethics

  • This journal provides a rapid, peer-reviewed collection of scholarship about emerging issues in bioethics and is available both in print and online.

Bioethics Books

Bioethics Science Blogs

Just as health law blawgs can be useful for tracking current issues and topic selection, bioethic blogs from the science prospective can offer the same value.