Welcome!
This page contains information about health law and bioethics legal periodicals. It is important to remember to search in multiple places to locate journal articles because no one resource is complete.
The information boxes on this page will link to various resources and provide some guidence on how and when to use them for locating articles.
Bar Journals & Newsletters
- Westlaw NextWestlaw Next use the source field searching segment (SO) to find bar journals. After selecting your search terms add this to your query: & SO(bar)
Bar Journals and newsletters can also be a useful research tool. These articles are often less scholarly and more practice-oriented, but can still provide a lot of information on current and emerging issues in the law. These maerials might be especially useful during the topic selection phase of your research.
- ABA Law Practice DivisionABA publications by the Law Practice Division. Includes practice oriented journals and newsletters. Some materials openly available online/ Some materials require membership.
How to Search For Articles
- Easy SearchThis is the U of I Library's search tool. The advanced search features aren't very advanced. However, it makes up for this because it performs basic search across nearly all library holdings and databases.
Below is a list of resources which you can search to locate articles and abstracts on health law and bioethical topics. In addition to popular commercial legal research tools such as Westlaw Next & Lexis Advance, you should also search within the library catalog and other journal-specific collections.
If you are searching within a resource and only find and title entry or abstract look to see is there is a "Discover: UIUC full text linking" box next to your entry. This icon will connect you to those UIUC databases which have a full text of the article or a link to the catalog if it is available in print.
The "discover" icon looks like this 
- LegalTracProvides basic indexing information for law journal, bar journal and legal newspaper articles, including title and the legal subjects that the article is about. Coverage begins with 1980 and continues to current (with a few months' delay after publication
- HeinOnlineProvides law reviews and journal articles prior to the dates traditionally covered by Lexis and Westlaw. Provides full text search capabilities.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a free resource primarily used to find academic writings. If used via a campus account it automatically link to full text versions of available resources.
Journals and Legal Periodicals
This is a non-exhaustive list of health law and bioethics related journals and legal periodicals.
Health Affairs
- This journal explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres. Its mission is to serve as a high-level, nonpartisan forum to promote analysis and discussion on improving health and health care, and to address such issues as cost, quality, and access.
Health Matrix
- A premier journal of legal scholarship focusing on the intersection of law, ethics, medicine, and policy.
Annals of Health Law
- A student-edited, student-managed national law journal and website, published by the Loyola University of Chicago School of Law Beazley Institute of Health Law and Policy.
Yale Journal of Health Policy, Law, and Ethics
- A forum for interdisciplinary discussion on topics in health policy, health law, and biomedical ethics which targets a broad and diverse readership of academicians, professionals, and students in medicine, law, and public health, as well as policy makers and legislators in health care.
Saint Louis University Journal of Health Law & Policy
- This journal features articles that provide in-depth analysis of topical and developing issues in health law and policy.
The Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics
- A leading peer-reviewed journal for research at the intersection of law, health policy, ethics, and medicine.
BioTech Watch
- A weekly BNA publication which provides up to date news in the area of biotechnology.
Links to journals & periodicals.
- Bloomberg LawBloomberg Law contains similar content to Westlaw Next and Lexis Advance, including caselaw and analytical material. It also contains Pacer dockets. See also Loislaw.
These services can be used to access law journals and other legal periodicals.
- HeinOnlineProvides law reviews and journal articles prior to the dates traditionally covered by Lexis and Westlaw. Provides full text search capabilities.
- LegalTracProvides basic indexing information for law journal, bar journal and legal newspaper articles, including title and the legal subjects that the article is about. Coverage begins with 1980 and continues to current (with a few months' delay after publication
- Lexis AdvanceNew interface for LexisNexis. Lexis Advance contains primary Law for all U.S. jurisdiction plus secondary sources and analytical material. See also Westlaw Next, Lois Law and Bloomberg Law.
- University Library CatalogThe online library catalog of the UofI. Find journals both in print and online.
- Westlaw NextWestlaw Next contains primary Law for all U.S. jurisdiction plus secondary sources and analytical material. See also Lexis Advance, Lois Law and Bloomberg Law.