• Title: Bibliografía Boliviana

This online resource provides easy access to catalogs of materials published in Bolivia from 2006 to 2012, downloadable as PDF files. In Spanish. 

• Title: Bolivian National Library and Archive

This online library offers open access to materials searchable by keyword(s) or by subject. In Spanish with English and Portuguese site translations. 

• Title: Virtual Library Miguel Cervantes

This online library offers open access to nearly 200 thousand bibliographies and many items that are now in the public domain.

 (Click on images to view expanded version)

Title: Bibliografia de Bibliografias Bolivianas
Author: Siles Guevara, Juan
Published: La Paz: Miniserio de Cultura, Informacion, y Turismo, Impr. del Estado 1969.
UIUC Call Number: 015.84 SI33B
Location: Main Stacks

Published by the Ministry of Culture, Information, and Tourism, this is a collection of 103 bibliographies by foreign authors pertaining to Bolivia and Bolivians. The catalog contains an introduction and additional notes about some of the items in the book. The items are arranged by three different forms of bibliographies - general, subject, and biographic - and are alphabetically ordered by the author’s last name. This book covers over 15 subject categories such as Public Administration, Agriculture, Arts, Library Science, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Law, Ethnology, Folklore, Geography, Geology, History, Literature, etc. The bibliographies span from 1872 to 1968 and also include succinct annotations for each of the items. Towards the end of the text, there is an Index of the authors by last name and a table of contents.

(Click on images to view expanded version)

Title: Ensayo de una Bibliografia General de los Periodicos de Bolivia: 1825-1905
Author: Moreno, Gabriel Rene
Published: Buenos Aires, Editorial Monserrat, 1974.
UIUC call number: 015.84 M81B1974
Location: Main Stacks

The book begins with notes about the edition, a prologue, and additional comments about the catalog. There are a total of 1352 items in Spanish from 1825-1901. Of those 1352 items, 1264 are of Bolivian periodicals and the other 88 items are of Peruvian and Argentine periodicals also in Spanish. The Bibliographic Supplement of 1905-1907 has a total of 83 Bolivian periodicals. The catalog provides the title of the periodical, place of publication, the number of issues published and the frequency of the publications, dimensions of the paper, page numbers and a brief annotation. Periodicals are arranged in order by year, numerical and in alphabetical arrangement of title. There is also an index of 181 volumes of publications in order by volume number followed by a description of the item and year/s of publication. The last section is a bibliographic supplement of periodicals in order by year, alphabetical and numerical order beginning at 1353 and ending at 1435. Towards the end of that section is a small list of Bolivian documents published by 1905-1907 and in order by volume number beginning at 182 and ending at 200. In total, there are 1435 periodicals in the catalog.

(Click on images to view expanded version)

Title: Bibliografia De Revistas Bolivianas: 1962-1991
Author: Guttentag Tichauer, Werner
Published: La Paz, Bolivia: Los Amigos del Libro, 1992
UIUC Call Number: 016.050984 G986b
Location: Main Stacks

This bibliographic text has a total 449 items of newspapers, magazines, gazettes, bulletins and more, majority in Spanish, published from 1962-1991. The book begins with a short introduction followed by Partial Analysis which documents the number of items published from the total between 1962-1991. This section also has the number of times a specific subject, academic publisher, and place of publication is mentioned throughout the text. The items in the Bibliography of Periodicals are arranged in numerical and alphabetical order by title. Each item has a title, place of publication, name of publisher, publishing company, dimensions, number of pages, number of edition, while some also have the frequency of publication, and or a short annotation. The book also includes an Index of Publishing Companies, Index of Places of Publication, Abbreviations, and a Table of Contents.

(Click on images to view expanded version)

Title: Bibliografia Boliviana, 2007
Author: Archivo y Biblioteca Nacionales de Bolivia
Published: Cochamba, Bolivia, Los Amigos del Libro
UIUC Call Number: 015.84 B471
ISSN: 1814-9464
Location: Oak Street Facility

This catalog has a total of 1558 items published in Bolivia. The book is organized as such: Monographs 2007, Supplement 2006, Supplement 2005, Supplement 2004, Supplement 2003, Supplement 2002. Each section has Bolivian Publications, Foreign Publications, and Textbooks. The items are arranged by number and alphabetical order of author’s name. The items also have a call number specific to the National Archives and Library of Bolivia (ABNB), title of publication, place of publication, publisher, page numbers, physical description, a legal deposit number, an ISBN, and a list of contents and scope of each item. There is also a section on Special Collections that contains Audio Recordings, Graphic Materials, Electronic Resources, and Maps. Similar to the Monographs and Supplements, the items within each category are also arranged by number, ABNB call number, name of author or title of item, place of publication, publisher, format of item, and physical description. Other items also contain a description of the item, a legal deposit number, and a list of contents and scope of each item. Towards the end of the text, you will find an Authors Index, Subject Index, Title Index, and a Series Index.

(Click on images to view expanded version)

Title: Catalogo de la Bibliografia Boliviana: Libros y Folletos 1900 - 1963, Tomo 1
Author: Costa De La Torre, Arturo
Published: La Paz, 1966 [i.e. 1968 -
UIUC Call Number: 015.84 C82C
Location: Main Stacks

This catalog is a comprehensive collection of Bolivian bibliographies focusing specifically on books and pamphlets printed from 1900-1963. The opening is lengthy, but important because it provides information about the organization of the books and pamphlets, including the history of Bolivian bibliography and of other authors beginning with the with the rise of the Viceroyalty of Peru in 1542 until 1776 with the Viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata and continuing with the beginning of the Republic of Bolivia in 1825. The catalog also highlights the importance of and lists foreign bibliographers during the Republic of Bolivia, in addition to the national bibliographers beginning in 1908. There are two sections in which the author lists the names of bibliographers and historians of Bolivian literature as well as bibliographers, anthologists, critics, commentators and others of the national bibliography, followed by a brief list of their published materials. Finally, there is a section dedicated to catalogs, archives of periodicals from the Ministry of Foreign Relations, magazines, dictionaries, repertoires, and Bolivian bibliographic indexes in which each form of publication is categorized and arranged in chronological order from as early as the 1820s to 1960s.

The main part of the catalog contains books and pamphlets by Bolivian writers from 1908-1963. There are a total of 8711 items which are in alphabetical order by author’s last and first name followed by a short biographical paragraph and a list of their published works. The titles of each work begin with the year of publication, while others will include the year and a number that helps to distinguish the books and pamphlets published from 1900-1963. Works that are not ordered by numerical order are a representation of items published in the previous century until 1907. For additional information regarding the sources of these items, you may consult the sections “National Bibliography and Sources Consulted” and “Foreign Bibliography and Sources Consulted.” The book also includes final notes and names mentioned throughout the chapters in order of last name. Finally, there is an index of national authors and books in alphabetical order, an index of writers and family members in alphabetical and numerical order that corresponded to a questionnaire regarding the catalog, and a table of contents.

(Click on images to view expanded version)

Title: Catalogo De La Bibliografia Boliviana: Libros y Folletos, Tomo Segundo
Author: Costa De La Torre, Arturo
Published: La Paz, 1966 [i.e. 1968 -
UIUC Call Number: 015.84 C82C
Location: Main Stacks

This text is the second volume to Catalogo de la Bibliografia Boliviana: Libros y Folletos: 1908-1963 by Arturo Costa De La Torre. It is a comprehensive collection of books and pamphlets published from 1900-1963 by foreign and national authors, which is also modeled after the work of Gabriel Rene Moreno. The first section of the bibliography consists of an alphabetical and numerical order of omissions - 2958 books, pamphlets, and other items - not included in a previous bibliography by Gabriel Rene Moreno. The second part of the book is a collection of 13,308 various works -synopsis, history, biography, statistics, bank statements, magazines, etc. -in chronological order by year and title of publication. The following two chapters have a total of 13,712 additional items that correspond accordingly to the previous chapters in alphabetical and numerical arrangement. The next two chapters-Sources and National Bibliography Consulted and Sources and Foreign Bibliography Consulted-are arranged in alphabetical order. Towards the end of the book, there is an index of authors by last name, final notes which briefly mentions the contents within the book, works by the author in order of year published, and a general index.