Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Bolivia: Databases

Databases & Indexes for Latin America & the Caribbean A-Z

Most Popular:

CLASE Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades CLASE it is a bibliographic database offering about 350,000 articles, essays, biographies, interviews, statistics, and other documents published in about 1,500 journals edited in Latin America and the Caribbean. This database is maintained by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) and covers journals focused on disciplines such as management, anthropology, arts, library and information sciences, political science, communication, education, demography, and economics, religion, and sociology, to mention some. It is available in Spanish.

CLACSO Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales CLACSO maintains a network of digital libraries offering access to over 80,000 thesis, working papers, conference presentations, and multimedia material, published by CLACSO and its academic partners. It also provides free access to more than 700 Iberoamerican academic journals in social sciences and humanities, which includes free access over 250,000 single articles. The digital repository registers more than 4 millions of downloads per month. The website and the searching options are available only in Spanish.

Dialnet Portal for the dissemination of Spanish scientific production specializing in the humanities and social sciences. Developed at the University of La Rioja (Spain) and supported by a net of Spanish and Latin American institutions, it provides access to more than 10,000 journals, over 5 millions of documents, and more around 110,000 dissertations published in Spain, Portugal, and Latin America. Full text is available for many of the documents. The search tool is available in Spanish, Portuguese, English, and French, among other languages.

DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals The DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to open access and peer-reviewed journals. It includes more than 2 million of articles published in more than 10,000 journals edited in more than 100 countries. The advanced search option allows filtering the search by language, discipline, and specific countries, among other features. 

HLAS Handbook of Latin American Studies This multidisciplinary handbook is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly books, journal articles, conference papers, maps and atlases, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America. Edited and compiled by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress of the United States, it covers disciplines like anthropology, arts, geography, government and politics, history, international relations, philosophy, political economy, and sociology related to the Caribbean, Latin America, and Iberia; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania. The digital database includes items from the 1970s to the present, although all HLAS' volumes can be searched online in English, Spanish, or Portuguese, too. The Division offers basic research assistance by phone, regular mail, or through an online form. The illustrated guide of the collections is also a helpful resource.

HAPI Hispanic American Periodical Index [fa icon="lock"] Source for more than 300,000 journal article citations about Latin America and the Caribbean and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Currently, HAPI provides access to over 150,000 full texts of articles from more than 700 key social science and humanities journals. There are helpful video tutorials and the database can be accessed in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. The database is developed by the Latin American Institute, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).

LAPTOC Latin American Periodical Tables of Content It is a searchable Web database providing access to the tables of contents of almost 1,000 journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published between 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC is part of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP), a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords, and country, among other characteristics. The user can save citations, create bibliographies, and share or download results of searches. The search engine is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Latindex It is an academic network and a database including academic and research journals edited in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal. Although it is administered by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), there are more than 20 national institutions supporting the network and the database. The website is available in Spanish and partialy in Portuguese, French, and English. It is also possible to searching journals and articles in more than 15 languages, including some indigenous ones. Latindex provides access to more than 25,000 journals, 7,000 of them fully digitized. 

MLA International Bibliography - Latin America [fa icon = "lock"] Compiled by the staff of the MLA Office of Bibliographic Information Services, provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistic.

Online Bibliography of Latin American Environmental History A bibliography hosted by RefWorks and published as part of a long term research project at California State University at Long Beach about the emerging field of environmental history, making connections across disciplines. The search tool is available in English, Spanish, and French, among other languages.

REDALYC Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal It includes journals from 15 Iberoamerican countries, with over 1,200 journals and 550,000 articles available online, along with abstracts in Spanish and English, reference information. and other metadata. It includes an app to download for free on mobile devices. Both the website and the searching is available in Spanish and English. The searching options include title, journals, and country, among others. 

SciELO Scientific Electronic Library Online It is a bibliographic database of open access journals and a model for cooperative electronic publishing originally developed in Brazil, but now including a dozen of Latin American countries, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa. There are available almost 1,500 journals and over 700,000 articles in disciplines such as agriculture, biology, engineer, humanities, and social sciences. SciELO also includes a specific database in public health and an e-book section that provides free access to over 500 full books and more than  7,000 books' chapters in Portuguese. The site registers over 70 millions of downloads. The blog SciELO in perspective is available in Spanish, Portuguese, and English, and maintain an updated news feed.

 

For Primary Sources: See this link