Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Hazmat Resources: National Library of Medicine (NLM)

National Library of Medicine Overview

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides many articles in free, full-text form in order to disseminate health information. 

     The NLM is part of the National Institutes of Health and the US Department of Health and Human Services

This tool is part of the CAMEO software suite and CAMEO Chemicals is available as a website and as a downloadable desktop application that you can run on your own computer

Please view the Powerpoint for further instructions on using the NLM Databases.


NLM Instruction Powerpoint

Remember, you can click on the links in this slideshow (indicated in green and underlined).

Illinois Fire Service Institute Library

Profile Photo
Fire Service Institute
Contact:
11 Gerty Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 333-8925
Website

NLM: PubMed Central

PMC is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature that includes more than two million articles.  Each article is available free and full text.

NLM Searchable On-line Databases

While there are 270 different databases available through NLM (complete list here), not every database will be helpful for Hazmat personnel.

One way to whittle down the databases to a usable number is to narrow the subject terms to "Disasters," "Disaster Medicine," and "Toxicology." This leaves you with 30 databases.