Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Resources for the Study of the Macedonian Language: Popular Literature & Newspapers

Supporting materials for students in their first year of studying Macedonian

Utrinski Vesnik

Loading ...

Looking for Macedonian Newspapers

If you don't have a specific title in mind and would like to get an idea of which papers are available electronically, try some of the following sites.  All have links to Macedonian papers, some are updated regularly, others, not so much.

Macedonian Literature Online

DLIB.mk

Digital Library of Macedonia

http://www.dlib.mk:8080/jspui/

For many looking for rare texts and manuscripts this is a wonderful resource. The full text of many of the most important texts for the country are freely available here. The number of texts is limited but the quality is excellent. 

 

   уметноста е внатре. од 1998

 

 

 

 

Blesok. - Macedonian website with full texts of poetry, prose, criticism, drama and more.

Home - Blesok

 This is a full text website for contemporary literature.  Full texts for all the works listed are available as are brief author biographies. To access the biographies you must first click on the title of a work.  Once accessed there is a link to a brief biography of the author.  The full text for dramatic works are available with titles that date back to the 1990s. 

 

 
Македонска академија на науките и уметностите.  Истражувачки центар за ареална лингвистика

http://damj.manu.edu.mk/materijali.html

PDF files of books on the macedonian language.  Included in these texts is Horace Lunts Grammar of the Macedonian Literary Language.   Within this 300 page grammar is a lengthy glossary that can serve as a basic dictionary.  This is a classic work as are the other works available here.

 

Free e-books from the Skopje Public Library

http://www.gbiblsk.edu.mk/index.asp?kat=1&det=5 

A brief but varied selection of Macedonian materials, freely available from the library.  The titles listed here are only available as downloads but are in pdf format and of very high quality.  The selection of titles included political science, poetry, information science among other disciplines.  There are links to two other full text sites on this page.  However, gutenberg.org is one of the sites and while it is possible to find Serbian and Croatian titles there, no Macedonian titles are returned on a language search.

 


Scribd.com

http://tinyurl.com/scribdmakedonski

Scribd is an excellent site with full text materials of all kinds.  The service is $8.99 per month on any device but your first month is free. There were a range of Macedonian materials available here. The site is described:

Scribd is the world’s largest social reading and publishing company. We've made it easy to share and discover entertaining, informative and original written content across the web and mobile devices. Our vision is to liberate the written word, to connect people with the information and ideas that matter most to them.

The compilers are very sensitive to the need for foreign language materials and the resources for some of the "Less Commonly Taught Languages" are sometimes more plentiful here than anywhere else on the web.  There are a number of language resources here including a Macedonian dictionary of idioms. 

 

Macedonian authors

Some of the well known Macedonian authors that contributed in the development of the Macedonian literature are:

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website